We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Der Teufelhof Basel
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Location was convenient to walking in the old city. Our lovely room was very comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was very good. Eggs were prepared according to request. Unfortunately, we could not have dinner in the restaurant because it was booked for a function. The service was excellent.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank L37nang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 504 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

Its a great boutique 3-star hotel greatly located. The Art rooms are spacious and greatly decorated. The breackfast which is included is rich and the building an old greatly refurbished one. The negative part is that the reception is understaffed and that its very difficult to load and unload your luggages if you are with a car. Also there is no elevator if you got a room in the Art Building. Otherwise the best 3-star hotel in town. I had Art room 8 which was gorgeous

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Marios T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

I found this hotel in a list with the best hotels to stay in Switzerland and i stayed there for a night and the main reason i booked this hotel was the restaurants in there. Both restaurants of this hotel are 2 of the best in Basel.
Location: downtown just next to everything you can visit as a tourist, just park the car and relax - parking not free
The room was perfect and very well organized.
The service was excellent and the staff helpful in everything
The breakfast was also perfect, very poor but everything so yummy

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giannis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

What a delightful hotel. The moment we arrived we were treated like VIP’s. Eilena at the front reception was so friendly and helpful checking us in. She made sure all accommodations were perfect! We stayed in Zimmer 1, one of the art rooms, and it was perfect. There was a beautiful view from the window looking out towards the Basler Münster, a comfy bed, clean bathroom, robes, slippers and coffee machine. The room did not have A/C, but we did have a fan and were fortunate that it was not too warm during our stay. We left the window open. Only downside to this room is that it is over the courtyard to the restaurant so it can be a bit noisy until dinner is over in the evening, but after that very peaceful. The hotel is perfectly situated to access the tram system which can take you all over the city. They definitely have the trams worked out to get you around town. Magnificent! You can also walk out from the back entrance of the hotel and just meander down to Old Town. I recommend walking through the alley ways to Old Town to see all of the amazing 16th century architecture of the village. It’s magical. Our dinner at the Atelier restaurant, which is located at the hotel, was delicious. We missed out dining at Restaurant Bel Etage because they were closed. This was disappointing since this is a Michelin restaurant, we will have to make sure they are open the next time we stay here.

All in all this hotel was such a treat to stay at. I would highly recommend if you are planning on staying in Basel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hickory_052015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

This is a lovely little hotel in the old part of town very central to walking around. It has what I think is perhaps the best included hotel breakfast I've ever had. Not only was there a large variety of pastries cheeses and meats, muesli, fresh juices etc. but they also offered cooked eggs in almost any style as well as ham and bacon. Having this breakfast be so hard he allowed us to stick with only two meals in super expensive Basel.

We stayed in one of the rooms that is not decorated with art just plain white everywhere. The room was small and pretty basic, but the bed was comfortable and everything worked well. Most of the historic building is an old town do not have air conditioning, but even though we were here in August they provided a large floor fan and with the window fully open at night it was fine.

The staff was extremely helpful friendly and pleasant. Every person I encountered he worked here was smiling pleasant and helpful. Very nice place to stay I would definitely stay again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#8 of 52 in Basel
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Basel
#7 of 52 in Basel
1,061 reviews
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#5 of 52 in Basel
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Teufelhof Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Teufelhof Basel

Address: Leonhardsgraben 49, Basel 4051, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel > Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Basel
#6 Romantic Hotel in Basel
Price Range: RM 696 - RM 1,195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Der Teufelhof Basel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Teufelhof Basel is a unique world, where dining, hotel and culture form a single entity. The hotel thrills guests with diverse aspects in the areas of dining, hotel, culture and unique events. Thus the hotel also runs its own theatre as well as two restaurants, the «Bel Etage» gourmet restaurant and the «Atelier» restaurant. The hotel is rounded off with the «Bar & Kaffee Zum Teufel» and the wine shop «falstaff», embedded in Basel's historic city walls from the 11th and 13th centuries with a small museum on the city’s history. The Teufelhof stands in the middle of Basel’s Old Town, surrounded by sights and unique cultural buildings, and is under absolutely individual ownership - simply put «Basel under one roof». The hotel and cultural house combines two historic houses in the Old Town. This fact, together with the modern interior, gives the Teufelhof its special, timeless charm - a truly fantastic combination of historical and modern. This unique hotel world has 33 rooms and offers two hotel concepts. The Gallery Hotel: modern, stylish, with a painting gallery for an artistic impact. The Art Hotel: art to live in, historical and individual. The latest addition to the Teufelhof Group: the unique restaurant concept of the «1777 Kaffee-Restaurant-Bar» managed by Fabio Gemperli, also in the heart of Basel’s Old Town.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Der Teufelhof Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Der Teufelhof Basel Hotel Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing