We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Stuecki Basel(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Airport Hotel Basel(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$115
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$141/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$150
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Aparthotel Adagio Basel City(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Hotel Victoria(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$168
US$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$139/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$199/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$122
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$144/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Spalentor Basel(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$1,053
US$226
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Basel Backpack(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$1,710
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (548)
Filter reviews
548 results
Traveller rating
354
157
25
10
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
354
157
25
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsart roomsold townunique hotelno elevatorcd playerfloor fangourmet restauranthotel is locatedincluded breakfastfamily roomquiet streetroom was clean and comfortableno air conditioningtop floorspent one nighttram linefew minutes walk
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 548 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

Its a great boutique 3-star hotel greatly located. The Art rooms are spacious and greatly decorated. The breackfast which is included is rich and the building an old greatly refurbished one. The negative part is that the reception is understaffed and that its very difficult to load and unload your luggages if you are with a car. Also there is no elevator if you got a room in the Art Building. Otherwise the best 3-star hotel in town. I had Art room 8 which was gorgeous

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Marios T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

I found this hotel in a list with the best hotels to stay in Switzerland and i stayed there for a night and the main reason i booked this hotel was the restaurants in there. Both restaurants of this hotel are 2 of the best in Basel.
Location: downtown just next to everything you can visit as a tourist, just park the car and relax - parking not free
The room was perfect and very well organized.
The service was excellent and the staff helpful in everything
The breakfast was also perfect, very poor but everything so yummy

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Giannis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

What a delightful hotel. The moment we arrived we were treated like VIP’s. Eilena at the front reception was so friendly and helpful checking us in. She made sure all accommodations were perfect! We stayed in Zimmer 1, one of the art rooms, and it was perfect. There was a beautiful view from the window looking out towards the Basler Münster, a comfy bed, clean bathroom, robes, slippers and coffee machine. The room did not have A/C, but we did have a fan and were fortunate that it was not too warm during our stay. We left the window open. Only downside to this room is that it is over the courtyard to the restaurant so it can be a bit noisy until dinner is over in the evening, but after that very peaceful. The hotel is perfectly situated to access the tram system which can take you all over the city. They definitely have the trams worked out to get you around town. Magnificent! You can also walk out from the back entrance of the hotel and just meander down to Old Town. I recommend walking through the alley ways to Old Town to see all of the amazing 16th century architecture of the village. It’s magical. Our dinner at the Atelier restaurant, which is located at the hotel, was delicious. We missed out dining at Restaurant Bel Etage because they were closed. This was disappointing since this is a Michelin restaurant, we will have to make sure they are open the next time we stay here.

All in all this hotel was such a treat to stay at. I would highly recommend if you are planning on staying in Basel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Hickory_052015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

This is a lovely little hotel in the old part of town very central to walking around. It has what I think is perhaps the best included hotel breakfast I've ever had. Not only was there a large variety of pastries cheeses and meats, muesli, fresh juices etc. but they also offered cooked eggs in almost any style as well as ham and bacon. Having this breakfast be so hard he allowed us to stick with only two meals in super expensive Basel.

We stayed in one of the rooms that is not decorated with art just plain white everywhere. The room was small and pretty basic, but the bed was comfortable and everything worked well. Most of the historic building is an old town do not have air conditioning, but even though we were here in August they provided a large floor fan and with the window fully open at night it was fine.

The staff was extremely helpful friendly and pleasant. Every person I encountered he worked here was smiling pleasant and helpful. Very nice place to stay I would definitely stay again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

This is a nice hotel just a little removed from the busy center to be quiet but still within a short walk. The reception staff, as mentioned in previous posts, is one of the highlights of the hotel. Very courteous, welcoming and helpful.

My daughter had been excited to have one of the art rooms. Unfortunately, the one we were placed in had a glow-in-the-dark picture. Nice once you turn the lights off in the evening but if you fall asleep within 5 minutes you don't have very long to enjoy it. Therefore, the art rooms seem to be hit or miss unless you can choose in advance, which I'm not aware of.

If I returned to Basel in the summer time I would strongly consider not stating here. While the hotel is lovely, not having air conditioning made it very hard to sleep at night and a hot room would not be welcoming after a long day sightseeing. Any other time of year I'd say yes.

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank John a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews