We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$185
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/10/21
Hotels.com
US$162
View deal
Trip.com
US$143
View deal
PricelineUS$184
Expedia.comUS$162
eDreamsUS$185
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (873)
Filter reviews
873 results
Traveller rating
598
224
37
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
598
224
37
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews art hotel old town decorated rooms wine cellar bar cafe lovely hotel highly recommend this hotel top floor breakfast was excellent would definitely stay here again the heart of the city perfect location one night stay christmas market public transport atelier bel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 873 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2021

This is a nice place extremely well located in a charming neighborhood and minutes from the center. Staff is nice and efficient and general hotel amenities are good. Rooms (at least first price ones) are however tiny and too expensive for the equipment and the surface offered. This is ok for an overnight but wouldn't recommend to stay longer.

Date of stay: May 2021
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 May 2021

Der Teufelhof is a great place to stay in. Despite being in the centre and convenient location to all that Basel has to offer, it is very quiet and welcoming place with special atmosphere. The garden and restaurant outside of the hotel is very pleasant place for quiet evening dinner and discussion with partner or friends.

Date of stay: May 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank B5552VHjanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raphael Wyniger, Owner at Der Teufelhof Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2021

Dear B5552VHjanh

Thank you very much for your positive feedback here on TripAdvisor. We appreciate a lot your time you have taken to write us, thank you very much.

It was a pleasure having you as a guest in our house. I want to thank you that you have chosen us!
I am happy to read, that you liked your stay and you enjoyed everything.

I hope to welcome you soon another time at the Teufelhof or in our garden, restaurant, and wish you all the best!

Kind regards,
Raphael Wyniger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2021 via mobile

We live in Basel which is running a "support your local hotel" initiative. We took advantage of it to spontaneously book for the same day, a Saturday evening. What a great decision, beautiful, welcoming hotel that we would normally never stay in as we live a 10 minute drive away. They put us with our 9 year old son in a wonderful suite, all as part of the offer. We ate at the hotel's informal Taverna Johannes which was delicious and friendly. Great breakfast followed by a visit to the hotel's own archaeology cellar which features part of the city wall. Then a gentle stroll in a part of Basel's oldtown that we would not normally visit. The hotel charged a very reasonable amount extra for our son, we subsequently found other Basel hotels running this offer but asking chf50 or even 70 for our son... Thanks Teufelhof team for giving us a great time at home!

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raphael Wyniger, Owner at Der Teufelhof Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2021

Dear Tim W

Wow, what a nice feedback, lovely! We appreciate a lot your time you have taken to write us. A joy to read all this!

We want to thank you for your description you wrote here on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your kind words, thank you very much!
It is always a pleasure for us, when people let us be a part of some impressions of their stay.

We are very happy, that we could host you in our hotel, that you and your family passed a good stay here with us and could profit of the "support your local" offer.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the culinary visit at the restaurant Taverne Johann and also the visit to our own archaeology cellar.

Your feedback I will pass on to all my staff, thank you very much again for those gracious words.

We hope to welcome you another day again, and wish you all the best,

Kind regards,
Raphael Wyniger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2021

The Teufelhof is an ideal location for guests who appreciate personal service, fine cuisine and a stylish environment in a set of beautifully restored and artfully furbished old town houses. A perfect spot from which to explore Basel by foot and / or public transport. The crew is doing its utmost to keep customers safe. Strict Covid security measures are implemented. Thank you to the host and team for their much appreciated engagement.

Date of stay: March 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lmalen886268
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raphael Wyniger, Owner at Der Teufelhof Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2021

Dear Imalen886268

What a nice feedback here on TripAdvisor, thank you very much. We appreciate your time you have taken to write us.

We are happy to read, that you had a nice stay here and you felt safe with us.
It is a joy to read your feedback you did about our hotel, thank you for this precise description!
To hear that we are a perfect spot here in basel, thank you for your kind words.

It was a pleasure, to host you in our house! Thank you for choosing us.
We hope to welcome you another time here in Basel in our hotel and wish you all the best,

Kind regards,
Raphael Wyniger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2021

Great references to arts, amazing location right at the heart of the city, very welcoming and friendly staff, very good quality of food. The hotel has a lot of authentic charm and you feel at home from the minute you walk in.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Henridevos
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raphael Wyniger, Owner at Der Teufelhof Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2021

Dear Henridevos

Thank you very much for your nice feedback. We appreciate a lot your time you have taken to write us.

We are happy to read, that you had a nice stay here in Basel with us and that you were happy with all.
Your kind words motivates us a lot, thank you for that.
With pleasure I will pass on your compliment to all my staff, thank you.

We hope to welcome you soon again and wish you all the best.

Kind regards,
Raphael Wyniger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews