We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$611
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$333
US$312
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$289
US$281
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Airport Hotel Basel(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$272
US$249
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$392
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Spalentor Basel(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$264
US$231
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$349
US$337
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
GAIA Hotel(Basel)
US$358
US$337
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Victoria(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$321
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Basel Backpack(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
5
22
18
9
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
22
18
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister hotelcoffee machinetransport cardone nighttrain stationsmall roomother hotelsfree wifiswissswitzerlandmesseplatzcoopcentrecitycorridorgermanreceptionist
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 55 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Excellent connection in terms of public transportation, both to the city center and to the central train station; the booking served as transportation ticket from the airport to the hotel (bus 50 and then tram 2 to Messeplatz) and, for the rest of the days we stayed there, the hotel offered a card for free-of-charge public transport, including back to the airport; internet was good; complimentary water and coffee for the first day of staying.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdrianaGGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

When my family of five arrived by train to the hotel, we had to check in at their sister hotel, the Alexander Hotel located a few meters away. The receptionist greeted us well and checked us in. The Basel transport card and the city map given to us were very useful to get around.
The hotel rooms were basic but very comfortable. There was a coffee machine and water bottles were replaced daily. As we were the street side, the nights were noisy so you had to close the windows for a good rest. However, hotel location is very convenient and near to restaurants and supermarkets (COOP and Lidl). Walking further to Clarasstrasse, you'll get Starbucks, Migros and Denner. Tram stops are plenty which helps you to get to several different locations.
Overall, it was a good 4 days visit to Basel for us.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that are not on the street side facing the convention center
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ESalvador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

This hotel is right across from the "Messe" halls and near the Badischer Bahnhof (the "German" train station), so it is bang in the middle of things. It is unpretentious -- not terribly fancy, you may say -- but there is everything there you need. My room was meticulously clean, with a comfy bed, a desk big enough to get some work done (and with reliable free wifi), and it was reasonably quiet by the standards of any city centre hotel. And there were the nice touches like the sweet and the bottle of mineral water in the room that was replaced every day. True, the furniture and fittings are not the most recent, and there is nobody at the reception in the evenings and over the weekend, but in exchange you get a room in the middle of Basel for a price that is not up to the Swiss standard either -- I had no idea that hotels is Switzerland could be this reasonably priced. For my next stay in Basel, if I need to be near the Messe again, I will definitely book here again!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ThisChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017

We booked this hotel for one night since we were travellng out of Switzerland thru Basel. I think this hotel was acquired by the nearby hotel, Alexandra (?) so we had to check-in there and get a key to enter Muncherhof Hotel since it was locked and there was no one in the lobby. We hardly saw any other guests during our short stay there. But the room was clean and spacious, although visibly dated.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rickydmd888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

Good ratio paid and earned.
Basel has a free shuttle service to tourists (you get a ticket in the hotel), the station is right across the street from the hotel and you can easily and quickly reach wherever you want.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kanaokakaraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews