We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer in Basel”
Review of Hotel Munchnerhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Munchnerhof
Ranked #45 of 52 Hotels in Basel
Reviewed 14 October 2017

overall the experience I had in this hotel was comfortable and perfect.
-location wise...very good! you just have to cross the street and trams anywhere in Basel can be found :)
-cost: not so expensive! affordable!
-safety: in general, Basel is a very safe city though :)
-comfort: the bed was very comfortable and cozy. very clean too! :)
-staff: very friendly and tries their very best to communicate with you!

overall---VERY GOOD! TWO THUMBS UP!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Frances T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2017

Excellent connection in terms of public transportation, both to the city center and to the central train station; the booking served as transportation ticket from the airport to the hotel (bus 50 and then tram 2 to Messeplatz) and, for the rest of the days we stayed there, the hotel offered a card for free-of-charge public transport, including back to the airport; internet was good; complimentary water and coffee for the first day of staying.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdrianaGGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

When my family of five arrived by train to the hotel, we had to check in at their sister hotel, the Alexander Hotel located a few meters away. The receptionist greeted us well and checked us in. The Basel transport card and the city map given to us were very useful to get around.
The hotel rooms were basic but very comfortable. There was a coffee machine and water bottles were replaced daily. As we were the street side, the nights were noisy so you had to close the windows for a good rest. However, hotel location is very convenient and near to restaurants and supermarkets (COOP and Lidl). Walking further to Clarasstrasse, you'll get Starbucks, Migros and Denner. Tram stops are plenty which helps you to get to several different locations.
Overall, it was a good 4 days visit to Basel for us.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that are not on the street side facing the convention center
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ESalvador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

This hotel is right across from the "Messe" halls and near the Badischer Bahnhof (the "German" train station), so it is bang in the middle of things. It is unpretentious -- not terribly fancy, you may say -- but there is everything there you need. My room was meticulously clean, with a comfy bed, a desk big enough to get some work done (and with reliable free wifi), and it was reasonably quiet by the standards of any city centre hotel. And there were the nice touches like the sweet and the bottle of mineral water in the room that was replaced every day. True, the furniture and fittings are not the most recent, and there is nobody at the reception in the evenings and over the weekend, but in exchange you get a room in the middle of Basel for a price that is not up to the Swiss standard either -- I had no idea that hotels is Switzerland could be this reasonably priced. For my next stay in Basel, if I need to be near the Messe again, I will definitely book here again!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ThisChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017

We booked this hotel for one night since we were travellng out of Switzerland thru Basel. I think this hotel was acquired by the nearby hotel, Alexandra (?) so we had to check-in there and get a key to enter Muncherhof Hotel since it was locked and there was no one in the lobby. We hardly saw any other guests during our short stay there. But the room was clean and spacious, although visibly dated.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rickydmd888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
St. Alban
ibis budget Basel City
ibis budget Basel City
#32 of 52 in Basel
448 reviews
Vorstädte
Hotel City Inn
Hotel City Inn
#33 of 52 in Basel
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alexander Hotel
#40 of 52 in Basel
148 reviews
Hotel Balegra
#44 of 52 in Basel
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Munchnerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Munchnerhof

Address: Riehenring 75, Basel 4058, Switzerland (Formerly Munchnerhof Swiss Q Hotel)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 52 Hotels in Basel
Price Range: RM 315 - RM 648 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Munchnerhof 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Munchnerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Munchnerhof Swiss q Basel
Hotel Munchnerhof Swiss q

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing