We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Stuecki Basel(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$141/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Airport Hotel Basel(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$115
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$157/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$151
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Aparthotel Adagio Basel City(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Hotel Victoria(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$169
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$136/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$145/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$122
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$134/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Spalentor Basel(Basel)
US$188
US$182
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Basel Backpack(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$1,729
US$481
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (329)
Filter reviews
329 results
Traveller rating
150
119
39
15
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
119
39
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverannex buildingnice wine barbalcony viewtea stationgrand staircaseherbal teacharming boutique hotelsparkling watersingle roomboiled eggswood floorsthe main hotelstreet sidestreet noisehotel bar isthe hotel sits
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 329 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights for business. It's a nice boutique hotel with friendly staff. The rooms are nice however to the smaller size, so don't expect a lot of space if you need to do some work. The rooms at the street side are a bit noisy so try to book a room with river view. Breakfast is OK, a bit expensive I would say. Did not had the opportunity to have dinner but I noticed restaurant was full so asume this must be a good place to a have dinner too. Nice bar opposite of the hotel. Place to come back to!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
Thank Rob d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Krafft_Basel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Krafft Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2017

Dear "Rob d"

Thank your for your time.
We hope that it will be possible on your next stay to book a table in our Restaurant.

Have a great day.
Madeline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017

Basic hotel, amazing atmosphere. Excellent service. Smiling people are soooo important and they are indeed smiling! Food was great, room cleaned tidely (albeit basic appliances). Overall very positive experience.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Krafft_Basel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Krafft Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2017

Dear "Danny B",
Thanks for sharing! Have a wonderful day!
Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2017

I took a spontanious trip to downtown basel. my wife an i were amazed by the charme of this historic but also very modern hotel! excellent staff at the reception, breath-taking views over the river and a delicious cuisine! whether you travel for business or leasure, hotel krafft truly is worth a visit, we highly recommend it!

thank you guys!!!

Room Tip: junior suite with river view
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank fabiankoehli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Krafft_Basel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Krafft Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2017

Dear Fabian,
We feel flattered! Thank you for sharing!
Have a wonderful day.
Best regards,
Barbara


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017

Smaller type hotel in the heart of Basel. The service was friendly but what i found odd about this hotel was that the bar in the actual hotel was a smoking room. This limited the hotel bar use to only people who smoked. There was another bar across the street for people not smoking and we went across the road in -9 degree weather to find that you could not get a table and there were no actual tables reserved for hotel guests. The food in the hotel was amazing and the service at Dinner was great. The room was nice but very small and the breakfast very expensive for bread and fruit 25CHF. Over all a nice hotel to have dinner and would recommend this place for a birthday or date but the bar and the breakfast let the hotel down.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brett H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Krafft_Basel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Krafft Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2017


Dear „Brett H“
Thank you for taking time to rate us on tripadvisor. Only with feedback like yours we can improve in what we do. We are sorry our wine bar consum was fully booked. As soon as it gets warmer we have a second bar - our summer bar on the terrace - a wonderful view on the river Rhine and Basel! Definitely worth a visit.
We love to pass your kind words about the dinner to our restaurant and kitchen team.
Regarding breakfast; we also have a "small breakfast" option - CHF 7.00; it contains a croissant and a coffee.
We would love to have you back. Have a wonderful day.

Kind regards,
Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017

This hotel on the banks of the Rhine is situated in an attractive environment and centrally placed for exploring Basel's many attractions. The hotel is comfortable, with excellent service. There's one downside though - cigarette smoke. Smoking, as in a number of Swiss hotels, is still permitted in designated areas. In the Krafft it is inadequately contained and pollutes lower-level bedrooms.

Room Tip: If you're a non-smoker, seek a room as far away from the designated smoking room as possible.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TimBley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Krafft_Basel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Krafft Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2017


Dear „TimBley“,
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us a feedback. We feel very honored that you enjoyed our service. We will pass your kind words to our whole team.
You are right we have a fumoir - many guests enjoy the fact that we have one. It is new to us that it effects lower-level bedrooms though. We will definitely check on that - thank you for mentioning it and we are sorry you were bothered by it. Have a great day.
Best regards,
Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews