We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
28
71
14
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
71
14
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe red light areanice hotelthe riverhotel is locatedstay there againold citytram stopprostitutesreceptionapartmentswitzerlandrhine
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2015 via mobile

Very nice hotel close to Reno and the center of Basel .. I stayed just two days but they were enough for me to understand how "balade's crew" is : so polite, so kind (specially the blonde girl that I met during my breakfast ) the room and the bathroom were very cleaned up .. Thanks so much, see u soon !

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Federico F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Balade, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2015

Dear guest, we thank you so much for the time you have taken to rate us. It is absolutely great that you had such a wonderful stay here at Basel. We will surely forward your compliments! It would be a pleasure to welcome you soon again! Best regards, your Hotel Balade Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2015 via mobile

In the heart of the Basel city and only a couple of minutes from the tram station is Balade hotel. A little difficult to find it in the first place as it was not on a Main Street. Upon reaching the hotel had a smooth check in. The staff at the hotel I have to say are very very good. The rooms are nice when you compare to other similar hotels in town. Breakfast is decent and not extravagant. The only downfall is the extra attention you get on the streets leading to it if you know what I mean. Overall a decent place.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
1  Thank FoodiePhili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Balade, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2015

Dear guest, thank you very much for your honest feedback. Unfortunately we cannot change our location, but luckily the red light district begins behind the hotel. During the day it is quite and usually you don’t realize it. Besides, the majority of our guests appreciates our central location close to shopping facilities, bars and restaurants. However, we do hope you are considering to visit us again in the future. Kind regards, your Hotel Balade Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2015 via mobile

First I would like to send my appreciation to the Balade staff. They are really nice, welcoming and doing great effort to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable.

The hotel itself is modern and clean and have everything (but precondition) to make the stay comfortable. The breakfast has nice variety and is fresh and tastey buffet.
The hotel is 3min walk from public transportation, which makes it accessible from many parts of the city.

The only real downside is the fact that the hotel is located in the heart of the Basel Red Light district, which makes it a little uncomfortable when walking to/from the hotel. By no mean it seem intimidating, but a bit annoying.
All in all, very positive and value for money in the center of Basel.
Amir

Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
Thank Amir C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Balade, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2015

Dear guest, we'd like to thank you so much for the time you have taken to rate us. It is so great to read that you were satisfied with your stay. We will forward your compliments to our whole team. Thank you very much for your honest feedback. Unfortunately we cannot change our location, but luckily the red light district begins behind the hotel. During the day it is quite and usually you don’t realize it. Besides, the majority of our guests appreciates our central location close to shopping facilities, bars and restaurants. However, we do hope you are considering to visit us again in the future. We hope to welcome you soon again here in Basel! Kind regards, your Hotel Balade Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2015

Nice hotel with great breakfast and clean, functional, newly furnished rooms. But the hotel is located in a poor district--there are prostitutes around in the early evening before it gets dark and there are striptease clubs just around the corner from the hotel. For that reason I wouldn't recommend it to families. Although I will point out that the police presence was very high in the area so I never felt insecure about walking around at night.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Balade, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2015

Dear Gerry, thank you very much for your honest feedback. Unfortunately we cannot change our location, but luckily the red light district begins behind the hotel. During the day it is quite and usually you don’t realize it. Besides, the majority of our guests appreciates our central location close to shopping facilities, bars and restaurants. Anyway, we hope to welcome you soon again! Kind regards, your Hotel Balade Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2015

Very cute hotel in a great location. Easy walking distance to restaurants and shopping. The room was nice, clean, and the bed was very comfortable. Very friendly staff and we were able to check in early. I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Balade, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2015

Dear Suzanne, we'd like to thank you so much for you nice feedback! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and benefit from our location. It would be a pleasure to welcome you soon again in Basel! Kind regards, your Hotel Balade Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews