We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Spalentor Basel
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Just off the town centre.Rooms very comfortable with good facilities.
Parking some distance from the hotel.
No restaurant facility which means a walk into town where there is a good selection.
Breakfast good.
Staff very friendly and competent.

Room Tip: Main road side may be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear Roger,
thank you very much for your stay and your review on tripadvisor.
We are delighted that you were satisfied with your room as well as the breakfast and service of our team.
We wish yo all the best and look very much forward to welcoming you again.
Warm regards,
Julia Breisacher and the whole team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 62 of 1,428 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2017

We loved our stay at this Basel Hotel. The Hotel is located steps outside of the old city walls. The room we stayed in was very spacious for two adults and two children. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The included breakfast was delicious and a nice start to the day. The included transportation voucher was very helpful as well. Definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Dear Jenn,
thank you very much for your stay with us and your fantastic review on tripadvisor - it was really a pleasure to read it.
Awesome that you were totally satisfied with the location, your room as well as the breakfast and mobility ticket for public transport free of charge.
We wish you all the best and look very much forward to welcoming you again.
With warm regards from Basel,
Julia Breisacher and the whole team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

Nice hotel, close to town...would of liked the hotel to be a little more relaxed in its cancelation policy. Breakfast was good. People were friendly. Price was a little high for overall lodging.................................................

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Myron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

Right beside the old gate and old town.
Hotel staff very helpful & friendly directing you with maps, transport and restaurant tips
We where there as end point to a family alps holiday. The room ( junior suite) was the same size as our 3bed eurocamp home! Ideal for our family with 2 kids aged 7&9 yrs.
Breakfast good, free wifi, good bed and shower.
Highly recommend.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear guest,
thank you very much for choosing our Hotel Spalentor for your stay in lovely Basel, your fantastic review and recommendation of our house.
Awesome that you were totally satisfied!
We wish you all the best and look very much forward to welcoming you again.
With warm regards,
Julia Breisacher and the whole team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

Premium location close to shopping and downtown Basel sights. Easy to find from the Basel SBB train station, quick ride on bus 30. Room is huge and has all the comforts that a traveler needs. You receive passes to travel the town transportation for free as well. Another plus is a plethora of English channels.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank flmom11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your stay and your fantastic review on tripadvisor.
We are delighted thatyou were satisfied with the location, your room, mobility tickes as well as the choice of English TV channels.
We wish you a wonderful summer and look very much forward to welcoming you again.
Warm regards,
Julia Breisacher and the whole team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Hotel Basel
#7 of 51 in Basel
1,002 reviews
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#5 of 51 in Basel
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#8 of 51 in Basel
575 reviews
Altstadt
Der Teufelhof Basel
Der Teufelhof Basel
#4 of 51 in Basel
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spalentor Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spalentor Basel

Address: Schoenbeinstrasse 1, Basel 4056, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Basel
#2 Luxury Hotel in Basel
#4 Family Hotel in Basel
#4 Romantic Hotel in Basel
Price Range: RM500 - RM1,155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Spalentor Basel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Spalentor Basel is a centrally located hotel in Basel Old Town. Renovated in 2012, this friendly city hotel offers extremely spacious, comfortable rooms, with free Wi-Fi, and a generous breakfast buffet. Welcome drinks, fresh fruit, mobility ticket and bicycle hire are all included in the price. The four-star Hotel Spalentor Basel in the centre of Basel is waiting to welcome you with its warm hospitality and impeccable service. You will stay in stylish, modern rooms with a large desk, comfortable rocking chair or sofa, flat-screen TV, DVD player, Smartphone docking station, mini bar and coffee machine.Throughout the day and during the evening, you can relax in the garden or hotel bar. You also have free access to the fitness centre and games room with billiards, darts and table football. A mobility ticket is included in the room rate for the use of buses and trams throughout Basel during your stay. You therefore have quick and easy access to Basel-Mulhouse (BSL) airport, the SBB and Badischer train stations, as well as the exhibition and conference centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Spalentor Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spalentor Hotel Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing