We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very close to the Convention Centre”
Review of Alexander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alexander Hotel
Ranked #40 of 52 Hotels in Basel
Reviewed 28 August 2017

The hotel is different from what it looks like in the above photograph. Friendly staff. Acceptable breakfast. Rooms are very small but clean. Stuff to make coffee is provided only on the first day. Rest of the days you have to purchase it from the reception. Very close to the convention centre. Stayed for four nights, had to endure the same breakfast everyday. Very good restaurants closeby to dine and extremely good tram service. Hotel gives a mobility pass which saves you a ton of money on travel.

Room Tip: only 2 rooms in the entire hotel have a balcony. San Fransisco is certainly one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rameendra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2017

At first sight Alexander hotel is not very appealing. The rooms are nice though! Modern, clean, nice bathroom.
Breakfast is good. It is served in the restaurant downstairs, which is decorated in characteristic (i.e. old-fashioned) style.
Friendly and accomodating staff. The receptionist was even so nice to print train tickets for us. (Tip: book your train tickets online through the sbb.ch website, that is much cheaper than buying them at the train station!)
We stayed here in May 2016. Reasonable room rates.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017 via mobile

Originally booked a double room in the hotel Münchnerhof nearby, 30 mtr away, but got upgrade in the hotel Alexander. For the same price. Asked why, and apparently if they don't have much guests in Münchnerhof, they take the guests over to the hotel Alexander. Additionally we got free public transport ticket for the time of our stay there, and 4 CHF discount each for the restaurant on ground floor. The room is clear, not too big, with tv and internet, coffee machine. The breakfast costs 15 CHF per person. Quite good, with cheese, nice rolls, incl. whole grain rolls, cereals, eggs, ham, fruits. To be honest I think the breakfast is too expensive. Probably the most expensive breakfast which I ever paid in hotels during my trips. But it is facultatively though. Up to you. The location of the hotel is central. We walked to the center and didn't use our free tickets at all.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Olesya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

Arrived at the hotel at 11pm, good friend staff the give you free tram and bus tickets for your stay, also vouchers (money off) for attaching restaurant.
went straight to the room and the first thing that hit me was the heat! The hotel was sooooo hot, the room was sooooo hot, there was no AC! But then after my stay in Basel I have come to the conclusion that no where in Basel has AC! The Windows where open but as it was hot outside it didn't really help! It was 30 degrees outside! The room was nice, double bed, fridge, tv and dressing unit and hair dryer in the bathroom! And free wifi! Everything you need for a short stay when your our most of the day!
I took with me ear plugs and eye mask to be on the safe side! Ear plugs are 100% must! Shutters can be put down on the Windows electronically so light isn't an issue, but noise is! The cleaners start sooooo early and the hotel walls are sooo thin, I think aprox 6 am on going till 11am ish, if you are a light sleeper take ear plugs! Cleaners are very good! The hotel is clean and the staff are great!mthe hotel is in a great spot! Trams to right outside the hotel, 5 mins into the centre by tram or 10 min walk! Close to one of the main stations that you can travel into Germany from. Is on a street with plenty of bars and restaurants and round the corner from a shop! 5 mins from a McDonald's if that's your thing! Would stay again in winter! The heat was a killer!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KayleyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

I found this hotel for a meeting in the Congress Hall. Less expensive than other hotels suggested by the conference. Short, two-block walk to the Congress Hall and the Messe.
Weather in Basel was unusually warm and sunny, so the west-facing room was hot most of the day until evening (no air conditioning)
Several restaurants on the same street.
Hotel gives a transit pass valid for the duration of the visit. Upon arrival in Basel, a printed copy of hotel reservation allows one to use the transit to reach the hotel. Transit is very easy.
From Basel SBB Bahnhof (trains from France or Switzerland), take the 2 tram to Messeplatz.
From Badischer Bahnhoff (trains from Germany), the Alexander is about 5 blocks away (several trams will take you to Messeplatz.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
Hotel Munchnerhof
#43 of 52 in Basel
50 reviews
Hotel du Commerce
#42 of 52 in Basel
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Basilisk Hotel
#48 of 52 in Basel
72 reviews
St. Alban
ibis budget Basel City
ibis budget Basel City
#33 of 52 in Basel
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Hotel

Address: Riehenring 83/85, Basel 4058, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 52 Hotels in Basel
Price Range: RM 404 - RM 917 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing