We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$144
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$154/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Victoria(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$115
US$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 05/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Stuecki Basel(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Airport Hotel Basel(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$127
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Aparthotel Adagio Basel City(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
GAIA Hotel(Basel)
US$164
US$157
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$184/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$144
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 05/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$601
US$564
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
22
56
63
14
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
56
63
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstram stopthe congressrooms are nicemin walkhotel reservationfree travelfree public transportwould definitely stay here againcoffee machineshort staytrams and busesold townconventioncentrestationcerealsbb
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 164 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2017

At first sight Alexander hotel is not very appealing. The rooms are nice though! Modern, clean, nice bathroom.
Breakfast is good. It is served in the restaurant downstairs, which is decorated in characteristic (i.e. old-fashioned) style.
Friendly and accomodating staff. The receptionist was even so nice to print train tickets for us. (Tip: book your train tickets online through the sbb.ch website, that is much cheaper than buying them at the train station!)
We stayed here in May 2016. Reasonable room rates.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017 via mobile

Originally booked a double room in the hotel Münchnerhof nearby, 30 mtr away, but got upgrade in the hotel Alexander. For the same price. Asked why, and apparently if they don't have much guests in Münchnerhof, they take the guests over to the hotel Alexander. Additionally we got free public transport ticket for the time of our stay there, and 4 CHF discount each for the restaurant on ground floor. The room is clear, not too big, with tv and internet, coffee machine. The breakfast costs 15 CHF per person. Quite good, with cheese, nice rolls, incl. whole grain rolls, cereals, eggs, ham, fruits. To be honest I think the breakfast is too expensive. Probably the most expensive breakfast which I ever paid in hotels during my trips. But it is facultatively though. Up to you. The location of the hotel is central. We walked to the center and didn't use our free tickets at all.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Olesya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

Arrived at the hotel at 11pm, good friend staff the give you free tram and bus tickets for your stay, also vouchers (money off) for attaching restaurant.
went straight to the room and the first thing that hit me was the heat! The hotel was sooooo hot, the room was sooooo hot, there was no AC! But then after my stay in Basel I have come to the conclusion that no where in Basel has AC! The Windows where open but as it was hot outside it didn't really help! It was 30 degrees outside! The room was nice, double bed, fridge, tv and dressing unit and hair dryer in the bathroom! And free wifi! Everything you need for a short stay when your our most of the day!
I took with me ear plugs and eye mask to be on the safe side! Ear plugs are 100% must! Shutters can be put down on the Windows electronically so light isn't an issue, but noise is! The cleaners start sooooo early and the hotel walls are sooo thin, I think aprox 6 am on going till 11am ish, if you are a light sleeper take ear plugs! Cleaners are very good! The hotel is clean and the staff are great!mthe hotel is in a great spot! Trams to right outside the hotel, 5 mins into the centre by tram or 10 min walk! Close to one of the main stations that you can travel into Germany from. Is on a street with plenty of bars and restaurants and round the corner from a shop! 5 mins from a McDonald's if that's your thing! Would stay again in winter! The heat was a killer!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KayleyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

I found this hotel for a meeting in the Congress Hall. Less expensive than other hotels suggested by the conference. Short, two-block walk to the Congress Hall and the Messe.
Weather in Basel was unusually warm and sunny, so the west-facing room was hot most of the day until evening (no air conditioning)
Several restaurants on the same street.
Hotel gives a transit pass valid for the duration of the visit. Upon arrival in Basel, a printed copy of hotel reservation allows one to use the transit to reach the hotel. Transit is very easy.
From Basel SBB Bahnhof (trains from France or Switzerland), take the 2 tram to Messeplatz.
From Badischer Bahnhoff (trains from Germany), the Alexander is about 5 blocks away (several trams will take you to Messeplatz.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017 via mobile

I just don't understand how in 2017 you can still have hotels like this one.
First of all the room: keys, already sets the tone. The door is like thin paper, no isolation whatsoever. I initially thought the windows were open, but no, that's how bad the isolation is. If you are a light sleeper with no earplugs get ready to be woken up in the morning. There are shades not blocking any light, so in the early morning you will have the light in your room. Bathroom was clean, I found some hair in the room.
Secondly, breakfast is a joke. Dry croissants, dry bread, no fresh juice, first time I arrived, I thought the breakfast was finished. Just really a joke. Just like the price (170chf a night) - my colleague paid less than I did for similar room (-15chf/night)... never again.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank djillll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews