We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Stuecki Basel(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$236
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$262
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$392
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Spalentor Basel(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$336
US$293
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
GAIA Hotel(Basel)
US$358
US$339
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Airport Hotel Basel(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$261
US$244
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Victoria(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$320
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Basel Backpack(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$276
Otel.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$1,082
US$611
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveller rating
59
79
19
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
79
19
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswalk across the bridgebasel munsternearest tram stationmini barstreet sidestaff on receptionclean hotelnice breakfastheat wavegreat hotelcomfortable bedvisit baselfourth floorair conditioningrhine riverfree waterwalking distance
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 170 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2017

Having traveled extensively, my wife and I have had mostly positive experiences when selecting and then staying at properties in Europe. The purpose for our stay in Basel was to take a river cruise to Amsterdam. Because we made our own travel arrangement pre and post cruise, we first did online research (including Google Earth) of properties and quickly found that the Hotel Wettstein met all our requirements for cost, amenities, and location. Our trip to Basel was via DB (Deutsch Bahn) to Basel Bad Bf (train station). From the Basel Bad Bf to the Hotel Wettstein is an easy less than one mile walk or #2 tram ride. The hotel is approximately 100 feet from the Wettsteinplatz tram and bus stop, and approximately 100 yards from the Wettsteinbrucke (bridge).

Hotel Wettstein’s public areas and guest rooms are both modern, clean, and quiet. The hotel staff was very professional in every way, taking time to answer questions, make dining suggestions, and ensuring our every need was met. The breakfast buffet is well worth the nominal cost.

A less than 10 minute walk past the tram/bus stop is Lindenberg St which offers a number of eateries. We enjoyed a wonderful dinner at the Sonne Restaurant (4103 Bottmingen St). The food was tasty, plentiful, and reasonably priced.

Our stay at the Hotel Wettstein was such that we would definitely stay there again and would have no reservation recommending the property to others.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank retiredtraveler20764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel F, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Wettstein, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Dear Hotel Wettstein-Guest
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind words. We are proud of our employees who every day make a great job. We hope to welcome you back again to the Hotel Wettstein. In the meantime we wish you all the very best.
Kind regards
Daniel Fankhauser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Nice, very comfortable hotel. Very quiet room to the back, but warm in the summer, the fan provided in the room definitely help to cool down a little bit but open the window is a must have more cool air coming in. Free water, coke and beer from the mini bar. The staff nice and polite, the free mobility card was provided and very much useful to travel around the city.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank guanhwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel F, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Wettstein, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Dear Hotel Wettstein Guest
Thank you very much for your positive review. We are pleased you had an enjoable stay.
Kind regards
Daniel Fankhauser, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

We were travelling with family, and had been on Europe tour including Basel. The location is good, walk away from a tram station. Reception is good. The points that take away ratings are:

1. No air conditioning, and extreme heat inside,
2. The behaviour of steward in the restaurant during breakfast.

Would never want to stay in these kind of hotels ever.

Room Tip: If you need comfortable sleep, don't go!
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gurvender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel F, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Wettstein, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Dear Hotel Wettstein -Guest
Thank you for describing your inconvenience in our house. I’m very sorry that the service did not meet your expectations. It is extremely important for me and my team to offer all guests a perfect stay. Through constructive criticism we can guide improvements in this area immediately in the way.
Therefore, please let us know what exactly happened!
Kind regards
Daniel Fankhauser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Nice, very comfortable hotel. Very quiet room to the back, with the most comfortable bed I have ever had in a hotel. Free water coke and beer from the fridge in hotel room. Probably because it was very hot and no real air conditioning in the room. My on,y reason for not rating it excellent. The staff was very proficient and nice. Free travel card within Basel and surrounding provided for my stay. Wifi also excellent.
Basel is a great town with excellent galleries and museums.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patnbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel F, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Wettstein, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Dear Hotel Wettstein Guest
Thank you very much for your positive review. We are pleased you had an enjoable stay.
Regarding room temperature. We give the best to keep room space as pleasant as possible.
Kind regards
Daniel Fankhauser, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying in a room on the 5th floor of this incredible hotel! Because of the design of the room it had a skylight as the window, from which I had beautiful views of KleinBasel! Walking distance to the Rhine and necessary attractions - although I was at a workshop for the three days I was there it was easy to walk to the venue of the University of Basel where our workshop was taking place. The breakfast was exquisite-the variety, the freshness of all the ingredients and everything tasted delicious! The staff are professional, caring, helpful and have an eye for detail! I hope to visit this beautiful little hotel again!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank Rose-Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel F, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Wettstein, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Dear Hotel Wettstein-Guest,
Thank you very much for your positive review. We are proud of our employees who every day make a great job.
Kind regards, Daniel Fankhauser, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews