We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Wettstein
Ranked #28 of 52 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2017

The hotel is scores high in practically every aspect; comfort, ambience and being close to public transport. The staff at the hotel are quite receptive and they're ready to go the extra mile to make your stay a pleasant one. Unfortunately, I happened to visit Basel during a heat wave (between 28 and 33 degrees) and despite the fan in the room, it surely wasn't enough to fend off the heat. The staff at the hotel offered chilled sheets but I'm afraid it wasn't enough either.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Korgan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel F, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Wettstein, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Dear Hotel Wettstein-Guest
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased you had at the end an enjoable stay.
Kind regards.
Daniel Fankhauser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2017

Having traveled extensively, my wife and I have had mostly positive experiences when selecting and then staying at properties in Europe. The purpose for our stay in Basel was to take a river cruise to Amsterdam. Because we made our own travel arrangement pre and post cruise, we first did online research (including Google Earth) of properties and quickly found that the Hotel Wettstein met all our requirements for cost, amenities, and location. Our trip to Basel was via DB (Deutsch Bahn) to Basel Bad Bf (train station). From the Basel Bad Bf to the Hotel Wettstein is an easy less than one mile walk or #2 tram ride. The hotel is approximately 100 feet from the Wettsteinplatz tram and bus stop, and approximately 100 yards from the Wettsteinbrucke (bridge).

Hotel Wettstein’s public areas and guest rooms are both modern, clean, and quiet. The hotel staff was very professional in every way, taking time to answer questions, make dining suggestions, and ensuring our every need was met. The breakfast buffet is well worth the nominal cost.

A less than 10 minute walk past the tram/bus stop is Lindenberg St which offers a number of eateries. We enjoyed a wonderful dinner at the Sonne Restaurant (4103 Bottmingen St). The food was tasty, plentiful, and reasonably priced.

Our stay at the Hotel Wettstein was such that we would definitely stay there again and would have no reservation recommending the property to others.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank retiredtraveler20764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel F, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Wettstein, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Dear Hotel Wettstein-Guest
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind words. We are proud of our employees who every day make a great job. We hope to welcome you back again to the Hotel Wettstein. In the meantime we wish you all the very best.
Kind regards
Daniel Fankhauser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Nice, very comfortable hotel. Very quiet room to the back, but warm in the summer, the fan provided in the room definitely help to cool down a little bit but open the window is a must have more cool air coming in. Free water, coke and beer from the mini bar. The staff nice and polite, the free mobility card was provided and very much useful to travel around the city.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank guanhwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel F, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Wettstein, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Dear Hotel Wettstein Guest
Thank you very much for your positive review. We are pleased you had an enjoable stay.
Kind regards
Daniel Fankhauser, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

We were travelling with family, and had been on Europe tour including Basel. The location is good, walk away from a tram station. Reception is good. The points that take away ratings are:

1. No air conditioning, and extreme heat inside,
2. The behaviour of steward in the restaurant during breakfast.

Would never want to stay in these kind of hotels ever.

Room Tip: If you need comfortable sleep, don't go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gurvender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel F, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Wettstein, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Dear Hotel Wettstein -Guest
Thank you for describing your inconvenience in our house. I’m very sorry that the service did not meet your expectations. It is extremely important for me and my team to offer all guests a perfect stay. Through constructive criticism we can guide improvements in this area immediately in the way.
Therefore, please let us know what exactly happened!
Kind regards
Daniel Fankhauser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Nice, very comfortable hotel. Very quiet room to the back, with the most comfortable bed I have ever had in a hotel. Free water coke and beer from the fridge in hotel room. Probably because it was very hot and no real air conditioning in the room. My on,y reason for not rating it excellent. The staff was very proficient and nice. Free travel card within Basel and surrounding provided for my stay. Wifi also excellent.
Basel is a great town with excellent galleries and museums.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patnbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel F, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Wettstein, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Dear Hotel Wettstein Guest
Thank you very much for your positive review. We are pleased you had an enjoable stay.
Regarding room temperature. We give the best to keep room space as pleasant as possible.
Kind regards
Daniel Fankhauser, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
DASBREITEHOTEL
#4 of 52 in Basel
322 reviews
St. Alban
Ibis Styles Basel City
Ibis Styles Basel City
#30 of 52 in Basel
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Vorstädte
Hotel City Inn
Hotel City Inn
#29 of 52 in Basel
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wettstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wettstein

Address: Grenzacherstrasse 8, Basel 4058, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 52 Hotels in Basel
Price Range: RM447 - RM932 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Wettstein 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! Are you looking for a hotel with a friendly atmosphere in a central location in the middle of a beautiful residential district? Then the Hotel Wettstein is the right place for you. In the heart of the Kleinbasel district, in the immediate vicinity of the Rhine and the old town, our hotel and its idyllic garden will ensure you have a pleasant stay. The exhibition and conference centre or art museum are just a few minutes away on foot. Whether you're here on business or pleasure, the Hotel Wettstein is perfect for every occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Wettstein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing