We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre cruise stopover night in Basel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bildungszentrum 21
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2017

I chose this hotel purely on price and reviews. It is a grand old property and rooms are spacious and meticulously clean. It is just 5-10 minutes walk to Basel city centre. Plenty of selection at breakfast each day but the only thing that lets it down is the state of the gardens. I would envision these being spectacular once but they seem a bit over-run with weeds. Its a shame as everything else was great.

Room Tip: Ask for level four where the coffee room is located
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CakesBy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadja P, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Bildungszentrum 21, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear CakesBy J
We hope you are enjoying your cruise. Thank you very much for your good review and for sharing your experience with us on tripadvisor. We will forward your feedback to our colleagues in charge and hope to welcome you as our guest again soon.

Best wishes from the
hotel bildungszentrum 21

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2017

I got a wonderful room in the attic. If I ever get back to Basel, this hotel will be my first choice.

Having a salon with samovar (well, not really) and the ability to make your own coffee or tea was just the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IXP42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadja P, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Bildungszentrum 21, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear IXP42
Thank you very much for your excellent rating. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked our "tea room".
We hope to welcome you as our guest again soon

Bets wishes from the
hotel bildungszentrum 21

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

We had a nice room, very clean. The breakfast was tasty, but not so varied. The location is very good, not far from the old city and close to bus stations (including bus 50 that connects the city with Euro-airport).

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Dana_Pas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadja P, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Bildungszentrum 21, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Dana_Pas
Thank you for your rating and for sharing your experience with us on tripadvisor.com.
We are glad to hear you liked our location and that you noticed our cleanliness on which we put great value. We will forward your feedback to our colleagues and thank you for helping us to improve our services in future.
We hope to welcome you as our guest again soon.

Sunny greetings from the
hotel bildungszentrum 21

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Unfortunately we did not enjoy our experience at this location. We were placed in a room without air conditioning, so after some coordination we were placed in one of the few rooms that have it. Our room was essentially in the attic- it had a nice tub but the ceilings were so slanted it made it almost impossible to stand in both the bedroom and the bathroom.

We did not see other hotel guests throughout our 8 day stay here. There was a mission archive in the building, as well as a few other businesses that rent out the space. Although the hotel boasts of amenities such as coffee, water, room service, gym, etc., it is severely lacking in all categories. You have to pay for coffee, room service just offers wine and you have to go to the lobby yourself to retrieve your items, and the gym is a room in the dimly lit basement with a treadmill in it.

The features of this hotel would have been tolerable; however, the service we received from the staff was less than optimal. When we asked for directions they were vague and uninterested. We needed some special accommodations because of a medical condition and they were unable to provide us with a cot or roll away bed, despite guaranteeing us on the phone and in person on check in day. When we checked out they were not helpful in helping us to arrange transportation to the airport, and did not even say goodbye or hope you had a nice stay. The customer service was sub par, and is the reasoning for my below average rating. We will not be staying here again on our next trip to Basel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Santina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadja P, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Bildungszentrum 21, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear Santina M
Thank you for your review and the time you spent on it. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our hotel had an average occupancy rate of about 75% in the past two weeks, so we are not quite sure what you would like to tell us when saying that you have not seen any other guests. You are right the hotel bildungszentrum 21 is sharing the building with the non-profit organization "mission21" (including its famous archives) and the Swiss Tropical and Public Health Institute aswell has an office in the building.
We are sorry that our colleagues did not inform you well and that guarantees made, were not kept. Your feedback has been forwarded to the management and all persons in charge. We thank you for your feedback and for helping us to improve our services in future.

Best wishes from the
hotel bildungszentrum 21

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

Hotel is in a historical building, sharing the house with the missionary archive, which is unusual but makes for a very interesting theme and a lot of additional decoration and details. Location is a few (2?) min walk from the city centre and is easily accessible with car and public transport - it is possible to park on the hotels premisses for 12F per day. Room was impeccably clean and well furnished and the breakfast had a good and tasty selection of different options. The only thing which is missing from the usual service is a bar/cafe, because the restaurant is not open on evenings without prior arrangement. The replacement for that is a cosy "samowar room" for making coffee and/or tea by yourself, on the 4th floor. Recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anehom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadja P, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Bildungszentrum 21, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dear anehom
Thank you so much for your excellent rating and for sharing your experience with us on tripadvisor.com. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We will forward your feedback and your praises to our colleagues and hope to welcome you back again soon!

Best wishes from the
hotel bildungszentrum 21

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#9 of 52 in Basel
613 reviews
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#6 of 52 in Basel
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Hotel Stuecki Basel
#8 of 52 in Basel
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bildungszentrum 21? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bildungszentrum 21

Address: Missionsstrasse 21, Basel 4055, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Basel
Price Range: RM535 - RM1,054 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bildungszentrum 21 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1890s could be a strict era for children, and this is when a certain missionary family child, the future writer and Nobel laureate, Hermann Hesse, roamed our park. We imagine it was prohibited for young children to snack on the grapes and berries in the park at the time. But it seems equally likely that young Hermann ignored the restrictions. He already had a well-earned reputation as a rebel. So, if during autumn in our park a red-cheeked apple smiles at you, give in to its innocent seduction, just as Hermann would! And during the rest of the year we will lead you into further modest temptations because we are enthusiastic about our park and want to share this with all our guests. During the warm seasons we invite the ice cream man into our park, and when it is cold the roast chestnut vendor, so you can indulge in these little treats too. And if, as has happened with many other guests, attending one of our events gives you food or refreshment ideas for your next reception or barbecue, please come see us. In our park, a thousand and one such dreams can come true. PS: Throughout our park, no chemical insecticides or herbicides are used. Instead, all the fruit is grown using only certified organic cultivation methods and substances. And if you rest for a while on one of our cosy park benches, you will share your time with many birds and butterflies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Bildungszentrum 21 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing