We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Victoria(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$92
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$111/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$141
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$150/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Stuecki Basel(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$123/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Aparthotel Adagio Basel City(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Krafft Basel(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$152
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$196/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$116
US$110
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Airport Hotel Basel(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$126
US$113
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$598
US$560
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveller rating
97
145
30
15
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
145
30
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseparate buildingroad scholarold townadequate bathroomtea and coffeeshort walkhistorical buildingentire citymain buildingfree transportation passlovely bathroombusiness tripthere is no air conditioningcity gatebasel cardhotel is situatedpublic transport
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 293 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2017

I got a wonderful room in the attic. If I ever get back to Basel, this hotel will be my first choice.

Having a salon with samovar (well, not really) and the ability to make your own coffee or tea was just the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IXP42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadja P, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Bildungszentrum 21, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear IXP42
Thank you very much for your excellent rating. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked our "tea room".
We hope to welcome you as our guest again soon

Bets wishes from the
hotel bildungszentrum 21

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

We had a nice room, very clean. The breakfast was tasty, but not so varied. The location is very good, not far from the old city and close to bus stations (including bus 50 that connects the city with Euro-airport).

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Dana_Pas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadja P, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Bildungszentrum 21, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Dana_Pas
Thank you for your rating and for sharing your experience with us on tripadvisor.com.
We are glad to hear you liked our location and that you noticed our cleanliness on which we put great value. We will forward your feedback to our colleagues and thank you for helping us to improve our services in future.
We hope to welcome you as our guest again soon.

Sunny greetings from the
hotel bildungszentrum 21

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Unfortunately we did not enjoy our experience at this location. We were placed in a room without air conditioning, so after some coordination we were placed in one of the few rooms that have it. Our room was essentially in the attic- it had a nice tub but the ceilings were so slanted it made it almost impossible to stand in both the bedroom and the bathroom.

We did not see other hotel guests throughout our 8 day stay here. There was a mission archive in the building, as well as a few other businesses that rent out the space. Although the hotel boasts of amenities such as coffee, water, room service, gym, etc., it is severely lacking in all categories. You have to pay for coffee, room service just offers wine and you have to go to the lobby yourself to retrieve your items, and the gym is a room in the dimly lit basement with a treadmill in it.

The features of this hotel would have been tolerable; however, the service we received from the staff was less than optimal. When we asked for directions they were vague and uninterested. We needed some special accommodations because of a medical condition and they were unable to provide us with a cot or roll away bed, despite guaranteeing us on the phone and in person on check in day. When we checked out they were not helpful in helping us to arrange transportation to the airport, and did not even say goodbye or hope you had a nice stay. The customer service was sub par, and is the reasoning for my below average rating. We will not be staying here again on our next trip to Basel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Santina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadja P, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Bildungszentrum 21, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear Santina M
Thank you for your review and the time you spent on it. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our hotel had an average occupancy rate of about 75% in the past two weeks, so we are not quite sure what you would like to tell us when saying that you have not seen any other guests. You are right the hotel bildungszentrum 21 is sharing the building with the non-profit organization "mission21" (including its famous archives) and the Swiss Tropical and Public Health Institute aswell has an office in the building.
We are sorry that our colleagues did not inform you well and that guarantees made, were not kept. Your feedback has been forwarded to the management and all persons in charge. We thank you for your feedback and for helping us to improve our services in future.

Best wishes from the
hotel bildungszentrum 21

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

Hotel is in a historical building, sharing the house with the missionary archive, which is unusual but makes for a very interesting theme and a lot of additional decoration and details. Location is a few (2?) min walk from the city centre and is easily accessible with car and public transport - it is possible to park on the hotels premisses for 12F per day. Room was impeccably clean and well furnished and the breakfast had a good and tasty selection of different options. The only thing which is missing from the usual service is a bar/cafe, because the restaurant is not open on evenings without prior arrangement. The replacement for that is a cosy "samowar room" for making coffee and/or tea by yourself, on the 4th floor. Recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anehom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadja P, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Bildungszentrum 21, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dear anehom
Thank you so much for your excellent rating and for sharing your experience with us on tripadvisor.com. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We will forward your feedback and your praises to our colleagues and hope to welcome you back again soon!

Best wishes from the
hotel bildungszentrum 21

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Good hotel, with a great garden, walking distance to the centre of Basel.
Very good breakfast, enough choice.
Nice to have parking at the hotel.
Room we had was not airconditioned, and it was therefore a bit warm.
The building is also in use for education, which is funny, but also a bit confusing.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lynnterieur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadja P, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Bildungszentrum 21, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dear lynnterieur
Thank you for your good rating and your feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that liked our breakfast buffet. We are sorry for confusing you. As we have 18 conference rooms a big part of our guests are staying with us because of company meetings, company events or because of further education courses.
We hope to have you as our guests again soon.

Best wishes from the
hotel bildungszentrum 21

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews