We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (951)
Filter reviews
951 results
Traveller rating
269
438
177
49
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
269
438
177
49
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews royal manotel tram stop executive room train noise rue de lausanne old town hotel restaurant double bed public transport the main train station free travel card nespresso machine gare cornavin lake geneva comfortable rooms convenient location mini bar
Filter
Updating list...
586 - 591 of 951 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2010

We had two days in Geneva after a skiing trip in Morzine and I chose the Royal Hotel as it had very good reviews but was also very reasonably priced. The hotel lobby is very attractive and stylish. The reception staff were very helpful and the room was spacious and well furnished. It had the usual large continental double bed with individual mattresses and quilts, and a double sofa bed for our son. The bathroom was also a good size and had nice toiletries. We ate in the hotel restaurant the first night and it was excellent - expenisve of course but where in Genva isn't! The l,ocation of the hotel is excellent. There is a tram stop just outside and it is only a short walk from Cornavin station. There are also a lot of restaurants near by. We were given travel passes for our stay which enabled us to use all public transport within a certain area. This was a fantastic bonus as it enabled us to start sight seeing straight away. We were also given a map of all the tram routes which was really useful. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: December 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2010

Our stay at the Manotel Royal Hotel at 41 rue de Lausanne was lovely. I had booked a Superior Room for 4 days over Christmas at an exceptional rate negotiated directly with the hotel via email. This hotel was chosen specifically because they offered Christmas Eve Dinner and Christmas Lunch in their restaurant.

The room looked exactly like the internet photos but they can’t display the size of the room – large by other hotel standards. And the bathroom was also large, well stocked, with white tiling and spotlessly clean. Unfortunately the “double” bed was the usual 2 singles zipped together with 2 single duvets. The furnishings were elegant and comfortable. The room was well appointed although there is no iron in the room (there was an ironing room beside the lifts).

We didn’t avail ourselves of the hotel’s breakfast at 30Fr and chose instead to utilise the café just down the block. However, Christmas Eve Dinner was thoroughly enjoyable, the food well presented, and wait staff were efficient without being officious. The highlight of our stay was the fun we had each night with the Cocktail Bar Manager with whom we struck a rapport.

Check-in was smooth and the hotel supplied us with a free travel pass for public transport for the duration of our stay. There is a tram stop directly out the front of the hotel although we enjoyed walking everywhere. The hotel is on a very busy thoroughfare, however, we didn’t hear any traffic noise once inside. We didn’t see any of the red light district activity mentioned by previous trip advisors, but we mainly stayed on the major streets between the lake and hotel. Next time we would utilise the free train ticket from the Airport (the ticket vending machine is by the exit of the baggage claim area) as Cornavin Train Station is less than 10 mins walk away along rue de Lausanne and it cost us 40Fr by taxi . Check-out had a minor hiccup/delay when we used a Visa Debit card rather than a Credit card.

Overall: a very enjoyable experience staying at the Manotel Royal Hotel.

Date of stay: December 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McGAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2009

Wow we were really fortunate to choose the Manotel Royal. Great central location near Cornavin. We had an 'executive suite' ... during the easter weeks (10 nights total). Our hotel room had large windows overlooking an internal courtyard. We were able to leave the windows open, as the weather was 21-23 C (70-74 F), even in April! We were not bothered by the railyard adjacent to the hotel, nor by the street traffic of Rue Lausanne. The hotel also gave us a free TPG bus/tram/train tickets for the duration of our stay - much more convenient and inexpensive than a car. There is a 5-10 minute walk to the lake and centrally located to everywhere in Geneva. The Room itself was very clean and quiet, and being a suite there was room to spread out on a sofa and table. I was also pleased because of the rate that I got from Orbitz. While rates fluctuate between peak seasons, our stay in Geneva was half or a third of comparable hotel prices that I have paid in London or New York

Date of stay: April 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlasdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2009

Superb room- complete luxury for 3 adults at Ch 200 per night. Food in the bar and the restaurant was excellent. A wonderful hotel.

Date of stay: October 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Froggetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2009

We (three friends) stayed in the Manotel for a weekend and found it to be great value (€150 for an executive room). The service was excellent and when we asked for a campbed rather than a sofabed it was rectified in no time. It is very central, just a short walk from the central train station, with a tram stop outside the door. We found it to be a great location for restaurants and a great flea market close by on Sunday (shops are closed). Cafe Arts is a great well priced cafe nearby. Demi Lune restaurant near the cathedral in the old town was excellent and good value. Forget La Borse restaurant in Carouge - it is a rip off for poor food.

Date of stay: September 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClareCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews