We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva
Nearby Hotels
US$168
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$214
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Royal(Geneva)(Great Value!)
US$202
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Jade - Manotel Geneva(Geneva)(Great Value!)
US$195
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
ibis Geneve Centre Nations(Geneva)(Great Value!)
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$155
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Cristal Design(Geneva)(Great Value!)
US$203
US$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Auteuil - Manotel Geneva(Geneva)(Great Value!)
US$155
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Warwick Geneva(Geneva)(Great Value!)
US$432
US$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
City Hostel Geneva(Geneva)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,073)
Filter reviews
1,074 results
Traveller rating
457
501
89
17
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
457
501
89
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscolonial styletrain stationnice hotelthe red light districtold townside streetsister hotelhotel is locatedthree starcity taxgood sizeminute walkconvenient locationquiet streetnice bathroomnon smoking roompublic transport
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1,074 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2018

Hotel Kipling was our first stay of a wonderful Swiss vacation. Switzerland has a near perfect public trans system (never took a taxi), and reaching Kipling is a great example. From the airport take train, to 1st downtown Geneva stop, and then either take Tram (2min) or walk (5min) to Hotel Kipling (all free, neat and safe). Walking to Old Town is only 10min from the Hotel. Kipling's lobby is welcoming and service just right. Room was good size and comfortable and the bathroom very clean. If we return to Geneva , we will certainly return to Hotel Kipling. Reminder, ask for the Tram ticket in the lobby it takes you everywhere in this wonderful city - after a Old Town visit try to get to the Carouge neighborhood.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jorgeceb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKipling, General Manager at Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Dear Client,
Thank you for having chosen the Kipling Manotel for your first stay in Switzerland! I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Kipling and that you had enough time to explore the city center and old part of Geneva. All of our guests should receive a free public transportation ticket upon check-in and you can even use it on the small boats "mouettes" who crosses the lake from one side to the other. Very convenient! Also have in mind the service that the Airport provides, you can pick up a free ticket for public transport in the baggage hall, just before going out through the customs. This will take you downtown with the train or the bus without any charge!
Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Kipling soon again!
Kind regards
Maria Croci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018

This is not a review of a stay at the hotel, rather it is a review of their unsympathetic attitude towards my unfortunate need to cancel my booking. After having booked direct with this hotel, I discovered that my travel insurance would not cover me for in undiagnosed knee problem. Without insurance I cannot travel. I am awaiting an appointment to see an orthopaedic consultant. When that will be or what will be the outcome I am unable to say. When I contacted the hotel they informed me that I would lose the total cost of my stay which I had paid on booking. When I asked them to consider a refund due to exceptional circumstances they offered to keep my 'reservation' open until the end of June. There are two problems with this ... 1) as I said before I have not yet seen a consultant so who knows the timeframe involved, and 2) I want to go to Geneva in the winter. The hotel have stopped answering emails , and FB and Twitter messaged don't get attention.

My wife and I are currently 2 disgruntled and disappointed senior citizens. I guess this sort of customer care is a sign of the times.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gkmeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKipling, General Manager at Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Good morning Sir,
Thank you for your message and I sincerely apologize for the problems you are having with your booking with us.
I know you have been in contact with our Front Office Manager concerning your wish to cancel your Non refundable reservation that was made end of December for an arrival on 22nd February. Unfortunately the cancellation conditions for non refundable bookings are quite strict but this is also clearly put forward when making the reservation.
I do, though, understand your point and that is why we proposed that you could use your deposit up until end of June.
Geneva is a beautiful city in summer as well! But if I understood right you prefer to come here during winter....so if we extend the validity of your deposit up until the end of the year, (31st December 2018) you should hopefully be able to find a date that could suit.
I thank you for your understanding and I/we look forward to hear from you soon again.
Have a wonderful week-end,
With my best regards
Maria Jarl Croci
Directrice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018

My fourth stay at Kipling - I like everything about this place but especially the staff. Everyone is friendly and helpful and no one makes fun of my....well..you know..The breakfast is great. Tram stop is about 200 ft away. Rooms are clean. Coffee in the room would be nice (they have tea).

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BarkBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKipling, General Manager at Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Thank you! Great review just what we would like to hear and I will definitively share your comment with the all the staff!
Looking forward to meet you during your next visit!
Best regards
Maria Croci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

This hotel is very central we arrived at Geneva airport picked up the free travel card. the train station is in the airport a 7 minute train ride and we were in central Geneva. We walked from the station to the hotel about 5 mins. The receptionists were very friendly and helpful. We asked for a room with a balcony which was lovely. The room was small but very clean. Their was a kettle in the room. No bar in the hotel but the Lord Jim was a minute walk away. Did not have breakfast. But would highly recommend this hotel

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Southampton7seas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKipling, General Manager at Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Dear Madame, Dear Sir,
Thank you for your lovely feedback following your stay here at the Kipling! I am pleased to hear that our staff made your stay comfortable and pleasant. Hopefully you had a bit of sunshine so that you could enjoy your balcony!
I am sorry to hear that you did not see our little bar...we do have one around the corner from the reception with it is quite tiny...and as you say, the Lord Jim pub is just around the corner.
We all look forward to welcoming back soon again!
Best regards
Maria Croci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile

Stayed a week for business. It was my chosen hotel as It was convenient, plenty of eateries around, 5-7 minutes walk to train station and Geneva Lake.

It’s a boutique hotel, small and well run. I was greatly warmly by Laura at check-in, got the room I have requested (top floor with a small balcony). Room is decorated nicely and clean though small but I like it this way. Breakfast was good, choice of bread, cereal and others (continental). The price is awesome considering the location. Highly recommended!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
Thank apotoftea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKipling, General Manager at Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Hello,
Thank you for your lovely comments following your stay here at the Kipling. I am happy to hear that Laura made your check-in pleasant and efficient! We all look forward to welcome you back soon again!
with my best regards

Maria Croci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews