We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My best ever stay in the Alps!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Spannort Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Engelberg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 22 March 2015

Over the last 20 years I have spent hundreds of nights in hotels across the Alps and the Hotel Spannort is the finest hotel I have ever visited. Exceptional service, great food and wonderful accommodations. The hotel is the perfect blend of rustic Swiss with Scandinavian fusion. The friendliest most genuine hotel staff I have ever met. Every single member of the team was super courteous and went above and beyond to make sure our stay was perfect. From the moment we checked in, until we walked out the door, we felt that our satisfaction was their #1 priority. The location couldn't be better and the food was the best I have had in the Alps. Engelberg is an amazing ski area and there is no better way to experience Engelberg than a stay at the Spannort. Having stayed in more than 100 hotels in the Alps, I can say from experience that the Hotel Spannort has no equal. Well done!

Room Tip: Having friends in multiple rooms I saw 4 different rooms and they were all exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan B, Owner at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2015

Dear Sven B,

Thank you ever so much for taking your time and leaving us a review about your recent stay with us.
We are overwhelmed from all your kind feedback about your stay in Engelberg and at Spannort, we are very happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed our hotel and hospitality.

Once more we would like to express our appreciation for all your kind words. We will make sure to share your review with the whole team.

Thank you for staying us with this time and we are already now looking forward welcoming you back soon again.

Wish you a great rest of the winter.

Kindest Regards from Engelberg

Stefan with the whole Spannort team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2015

I'd recommend this hotel, but it just misses the catch to earn 4 points. Breakfast is tremendous, nice Japanese Cuckoo clock, I even bought one myself, thanks! Room to store ski's, free parking, cosey reception and self service bar. Friendly service.
The room (junior suite) is spacious, but not quite luxurious and a little worn ...
The main disapointment is the restaurant, fair but not quite matching expectations.
As a whole: good, but just not good enough for this price. 3.5 would be a more justified quotation.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Objectivum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan B, Owner at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2015

Dear Objectivum,

Thank you very much for taking your time giving us valuable feedback about your recent stay at the Spannort. We really appreciate it.

We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations throughout your whole stay with us, please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused and for not living up to your expectations. As we are a small family business, we take very serious on your feedback and have taken notice of the points that you mentioned in your review and will use them when looking into future potential improvements for Spannort. We really appreciate your honesty.

We hope to have the opportunity welcoming you back to the Spannort at some point in the future again. Thank you once more for your review and feedback.

Best Regards

Stefan Brunqvist
Owner/ General Manager
Spannort Engelberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2015 via mobile

Good service, child friendly with good baby beds, great location, nice breakfast, restaurant with a very good chef and a sauna that can be reserved for some privacy. Will definitively go back to this place! Book well in advance as it seems to be popular. Thanks Spannort, you made our weekend really nice!!

Stayed: February 2015
Thank Isak A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan B, Owner at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2015

Dear Skenstoem,

Thank you very much for your visit at Spannort and for taking your time writing us a review.
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay and visit to Engelberg.

THANK YOU for coming around this weekend and we hope yo see you very soon again!

Wish you great rest of the winter and lovely upcoming spring and summer.

Greetings from Engelberg

Stefan Brunqvist with the whole Spannort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2015

Thank you to Stefan and the team at Spannort - we could not have had a more wonderful weekend! Thank you for helping us to have the best possible time to celebrate our engagement :) we will never forget our stay.
This gorgeous boutique hotel is exactly what you would dream of when thinking of the ideal skiing holiday - uber relaxing area with teas, coffee and cake each afternoon, comfortable and perfectly decorated bedrooms, a great sauna area and huge delicious breakfast every morning. The restaurant is a bustling room at the ground floor of the hotel serving great food and wine - we would highly recommend at least one meal here!
Could not recommend more!

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan B, General Manager at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2015

Dear Georgina B,

All the best to your engagement once more from the whole Spannort Team. We are so happy that we had the pleasure to have you staying with us for your very special day. Thank you so very much.

Thank you also for taking your time leaving us a lovely review about your stay.

We hope you had a safe journey home and hope to see you at the Spannort soon again!

Take care of yourselves and we wish you a happy and lovely wedding when it is time!

Kind Regards from Engelberg

Stefan with the whole team of Spannort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2015

We visited for 6 days in January, with family joining us for two of them. We booked two junior suites, adjacent to each other, which were excellent.

The hotel is run by a delightful Swedish family who were universally helpful and attentive, even to the point of helping to clear our car of snow on our departure day. The hotel is bright and modern whilst retaining lots of alpine atmosphere. The restaurant on the ground floor is reported on separately (it was very good). There is a separate breakfast room on the first floor with a good range to pick from and freshly boiled eggs. There is a sauna for use when booked for half an hour or an hour, at no extra charge and we made good use of it, though we’d have appreciated being able to lock the door. Very hot and great for getting the snowy chill out of our bones! There is a pleasant guest lounge with facility to make hot drinks (no extra charge) on the first floor next to reception and an honesty bar for chargeable drinks and gifts. A small but adequate lift saves humping heavy gear up the stairs and WiFi is available for multiple computers / phones etc., though we found it a bit hit and miss sometimes, possibly because media people for a big event were using the hotel’s public rooms as well(?) The hotel is situated in the heart of town at the edge of the pedestrian section, very close to shops and a short walk to/from the railway station, and an easy (free) bus ride to the ski-lifts.

Rooms were sufficiently spacious for our clobber, using the ski room in the basement for skis and boots, though full of ‘fat bikes’ some of the time we were there. There is reserved parking right behind the hotel, charged extra. Rooms were well furnished and decorated with lots of beautiful hand-made woodwork, in very good condition. The beds were very comfortable – a pair of twins in a large frame. The bathrooms had bath with shower over and were fine, with nice fluffy white towels, changed daily. A small walk-in wardrobe opposite the bathroom was big enough to take all our clothes easily, and also had a safe. The balcony gave us a good view of the street and protected the windows from the snow and should be nice to sit out on in summer. The rooms were warm even with the heat from the two radiators turned right down, and very comfortable.

I’m not sure why it’s classed only as three star – it certainly deserves more.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rhys W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan B, General Manager at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2015

Dear Rhys_Jean,

Thank you very very much for taking your time and writing us such a lovely review about your recent stay at Spannort. We are so happy to have received your valuable feedback.

We are very glad to read that you enjoyed everything from the sauna to the Honesty Bar.

You are absolutely right that during your stay at Spannort, there was a snow-bike event held in Engelberg and there were a couple of media guests staying at the hotel and it is most probably the reason why you sometimes experienced some problems with the Internet.

We would like to address our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience and have taken record of your feedback for such events in the future. Thank you very much for providing us with the information.

We hope that you had a safe journey home and we really hope to have the pleasure welcoming you back to Spannort soon again!

Take care and greetings to your whole family,

Kindest Regards from a sunny Engelberg

Stefan Brunqvist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Engelberg hotels
0.1 km away
Edelweiss Engelberg
Edelweiss Engelberg
#1 of 23 in Engelberg
284 reviews
0.1 km away
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
#2 of 23 in Engelberg
468 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Terrace
Hotel Terrace
#5 of 23 in Engelberg
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Ski Lodge Engelberg
Ski Lodge Engelberg
#3 of 23 in Engelberg
240 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Waldegg
Hotel Waldegg
#6 of 23 in Engelberg
122 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Alpenclub
Hotel Alpenclub
#13 of 23 in Engelberg
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spannort Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spannort Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Dorfstrasse 28, Engelberg 6390, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Obwalden > Engelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Engelberg
#2 Business Hotel in Engelberg
#3 Green Hotel in Engelberg
Price Range: RM 1,123 - RM 1,371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spannort Hotel & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Spannort Hotel & Restaurant in Engelberg: a traditional Swiss hotel (20 rooms, 35 beds) and restaurant with a warm atmosphere located right in the centre of the village close to the train station and with its own parking area. The hotel has got high standard rooms with own balcony and alp-inspired interiors which will offer you a good rest after a long day out in the mountains. The restaurant offers a traditional Swiss kitchen with all its culinary thrills served to you in a warm environment. To fulfill the experience we present a broad wine list including a great choice of wines from Switzerland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Spannort Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spannort Hotel And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing