We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$240/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Crystal(Engelberg)(Great Value!)
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Engelberg Trail Hotel(Engelberg)(Great Value!)
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Bellevue-Terminus(Engelberg)(Great Value!)
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Central(Engelberg)(Great Value!)
US$150
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Garni Hostatt(Engelberg)(Great Value!)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barghuis Jochpass(Engelberg)(Great Value!)
US$223
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg(Engelberg)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveller rating
146
27
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
27
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslounge arealate arrivalnice saunaboottitlisski
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 178 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2015

I'd recommend this hotel, but it just misses the catch to earn 4 points. Breakfast is tremendous, nice Japanese Cuckoo clock, I even bought one myself, thanks! Room to store ski's, free parking, cosey reception and self service bar. Friendly service.
The room (junior suite) is spacious, but not quite luxurious and a little worn ...
The main disapointment is the restaurant, fair but not quite matching expectations.
As a whole: good, but just not good enough for this price. 3.5 would be a more justified quotation.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Objectivum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan B, Owner at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2015

Dear Objectivum,

Thank you very much for taking your time giving us valuable feedback about your recent stay at the Spannort. We really appreciate it.

We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations throughout your whole stay with us, please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused and for not living up to your expectations. As we are a small family business, we take very serious on your feedback and have taken notice of the points that you mentioned in your review and will use them when looking into future potential improvements for Spannort. We really appreciate your honesty.

We hope to have the opportunity welcoming you back to the Spannort at some point in the future again. Thank you once more for your review and feedback.

Best Regards

Stefan Brunqvist
Owner/ General Manager
Spannort Engelberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2015 via mobile

Good service, child friendly with good baby beds, great location, nice breakfast, restaurant with a very good chef and a sauna that can be reserved for some privacy. Will definitively go back to this place! Book well in advance as it seems to be popular. Thanks Spannort, you made our weekend really nice!!

Stayed: February 2015
Thank Isak A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan B, Owner at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2015

Dear Skenstoem,

Thank you very much for your visit at Spannort and for taking your time writing us a review.
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay and visit to Engelberg.

THANK YOU for coming around this weekend and we hope yo see you very soon again!

Wish you great rest of the winter and lovely upcoming spring and summer.

Greetings from Engelberg

Stefan Brunqvist with the whole Spannort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2015

Thank you to Stefan and the team at Spannort - we could not have had a more wonderful weekend! Thank you for helping us to have the best possible time to celebrate our engagement :) we will never forget our stay.
This gorgeous boutique hotel is exactly what you would dream of when thinking of the ideal skiing holiday - uber relaxing area with teas, coffee and cake each afternoon, comfortable and perfectly decorated bedrooms, a great sauna area and huge delicious breakfast every morning. The restaurant is a bustling room at the ground floor of the hotel serving great food and wine - we would highly recommend at least one meal here!
Could not recommend more!

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan B, General Manager at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2015

Dear Georgina B,

All the best to your engagement once more from the whole Spannort Team. We are so happy that we had the pleasure to have you staying with us for your very special day. Thank you so very much.

Thank you also for taking your time leaving us a lovely review about your stay.

We hope you had a safe journey home and hope to see you at the Spannort soon again!

Take care of yourselves and we wish you a happy and lovely wedding when it is time!

Kind Regards from Engelberg

Stefan with the whole team of Spannort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2015

We visited for 6 days in January, with family joining us for two of them. We booked two junior suites, adjacent to each other, which were excellent.

The hotel is run by a delightful Swedish family who were universally helpful and attentive, even to the point of helping to clear our car of snow on our departure day. The hotel is bright and modern whilst retaining lots of alpine atmosphere. The restaurant on the ground floor is reported on separately (it was very good). There is a separate breakfast room on the first floor with a good range to pick from and freshly boiled eggs. There is a sauna for use when booked for half an hour or an hour, at no extra charge and we made good use of it, though we’d have appreciated being able to lock the door. Very hot and great for getting the snowy chill out of our bones! There is a pleasant guest lounge with facility to make hot drinks (no extra charge) on the first floor next to reception and an honesty bar for chargeable drinks and gifts. A small but adequate lift saves humping heavy gear up the stairs and WiFi is available for multiple computers / phones etc., though we found it a bit hit and miss sometimes, possibly because media people for a big event were using the hotel’s public rooms as well(?) The hotel is situated in the heart of town at the edge of the pedestrian section, very close to shops and a short walk to/from the railway station, and an easy (free) bus ride to the ski-lifts.

Rooms were sufficiently spacious for our clobber, using the ski room in the basement for skis and boots, though full of ‘fat bikes’ some of the time we were there. There is reserved parking right behind the hotel, charged extra. Rooms were well furnished and decorated with lots of beautiful hand-made woodwork, in very good condition. The beds were very comfortable – a pair of twins in a large frame. The bathrooms had bath with shower over and were fine, with nice fluffy white towels, changed daily. A small walk-in wardrobe opposite the bathroom was big enough to take all our clothes easily, and also had a safe. The balcony gave us a good view of the street and protected the windows from the snow and should be nice to sit out on in summer. The rooms were warm even with the heat from the two radiators turned right down, and very comfortable.

I’m not sure why it’s classed only as three star – it certainly deserves more.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rhys W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan B, General Manager at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2015

Dear Rhys_Jean,

Thank you very very much for taking your time and writing us such a lovely review about your recent stay at Spannort. We are so happy to have received your valuable feedback.

We are very glad to read that you enjoyed everything from the sauna to the Honesty Bar.

You are absolutely right that during your stay at Spannort, there was a snow-bike event held in Engelberg and there were a couple of media guests staying at the hotel and it is most probably the reason why you sometimes experienced some problems with the Internet.

We would like to address our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience and have taken record of your feedback for such events in the future. Thank you very much for providing us with the information.

We hope that you had a safe journey home and we really hope to have the pleasure welcoming you back to Spannort soon again!

Take care and greetings to your whole family,

Kindest Regards from a sunny Engelberg

Stefan Brunqvist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2014 via mobile

We decided to go for a romantic getaway and picked Engelberg as the photos of the Spannort hotel did really catch our eye. And we chose well! The hotel is located at the beginning of the pedestrian main street and has a convenient little parking on the back for hotel guests. The decoration is clearly country side/mountain insipired without being tacky and even has a touch of Nordic design. There is a free sauna (need to book before using it) and a very large breakfast. The hotel has all the amenities and quality of a four star hotel, we were therefore really surprised to realise it has only three. The only downside is that although it was a double room, supposedly with a queen bed, it was in fact two twins pushed together and they were moving apart during the night. This is unfortunately quite common in the Swiss German part of the country. Also, check-out time is an inflexible 11:00 AM sharp, which is definitely early considering the check-in time is only at 3:00 PM.

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Fabrizio45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan B, General Manager at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2015

Dear Fabrizio45,

Thank you very much for taking your time leaving us you valuable feedback from your recent stay at Spannort.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as that you enjoyed all the details/amenities that the Spannort features.

We are very sorry to hear that the beds were not as you expected for your stay. Your feedback in this matter is very valuable and will help us to develop the Spannort, we are very grateful that you share it with us.

We would also like to address our sincerest apologies not being able to extend your check-out time. During the peak season we are sometimes not able to be as flexible as we wish and aim to be. We are very sorry for any inconvenience this might have caused you.

Thank you once more for taking your time reviewing your stay with us and we are looking forward welcoming you back to Spannort very soon again.

Wish you a great rest of the winter!

Kind Regards from a sunny Engelberg

Stefan Brunqvist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews