We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveller rating
146
27
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
27
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honesty bar restaurant downstairs nice sauna late arrival hot chocolate train station very nice hotel stefan skiing gear boot titlis slopes
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 178 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

Hotel Spannort is a gem and it is set up very well for skiers, especially the weekenders. It is centrally located just a short walk or bus ride from Bahnhof, and is close to restaurants, bars, and shops, including ski rental across the street with nice discount for hotel guests. Delightful staff make you feel very welcome and provide great recommendations for everything in town. Beautiful setting, nice breakfast, cozy rooms. Best part for weekend skiers is that the hotel graciously allows guests to use the ski room, luggage storage, and spa/shower area after checking out so you can get in a full day of skiing and then clean up, re-pack the gear, and feel good for the trip home. Most hotels allow this to some degree but Spannort is really excellent in this manner!

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank gitanomericano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan B, Owner at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2017

Dear gitanomericano,

Thank you kindly for your review and for staying with us.
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during your visit to Engelberg!

We are glad that you enjoyed the service to use the showers and changing facilities before flying home after a long day skiing! Thank you!!

Looking forward seeing you soon again!

Winter greetings from Engelberg

Stefan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017

We stayed at Spannort for 4 days between Xmas and NY 2017.
The staff is VERY nice and made us feel welcome and home right away. Lounge area in reception is very well designed and really inviting. The interior is modern "chalet" with a scandinavian touch. The Ski-room is great. The place was fully booked and due to our late booking, we had to stay in a standard room, which was very tiny (we travelled with our 7yr old) but cozy. Very nice comfy bed. Bathroom is mini-mini (about 2m²).
Breakfast is nice and we liked the fact the breakfast-room was set up very warmly and wasn't illuminated like a super-market- very pleasant start of an early morning :) We only missed some warm egg-dishes (scrambled, fried etc). Service was amazing- always smiling. Thank you!
Engelberg is certainly not the romantic and "cozy" ski-resort that one would wish for (especially without any snow!), but Spannort and its staff is really sweet and a lovely place to stay in Engelberg!

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lennyoverthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan B, Owner at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2017

Dear Lennyoverthere,

Greetings from Engelberg.
Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review about your recent stay at Spannort. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Thank you for your kind words regarding the service, we are happy that despite this year's lack of snow during the holidays that we could make your visit to Engelberg enjoyable.

We are already looking forward welcoming you back!

Winter greetings

Stefan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2016

I have thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. The staff is so nice and helpful, the rooms are clean with comfortable beds and quiet too. The location is close to everything, (ski rental, grocery, restaurants, bars). I would definitely stay here again!

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Boilerpilot85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan B, Owner at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2017

Dear Boilerpilot85,

Thank you very much for your review and for staying with us.
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Spannort and that you had a nice visit to Engelberg.

Looking forward seeing you soon again!

Winter greetings
Stefan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016

We have stayed at the Spannort two times this season and plan on coming back many times next season. It feels like a home away from home. Very friendly staff and owners (Stefan and Anette), great breakfast, nice comfy and clean rooms, super location, great restaurant. The official rating is three star but for me this is definitely a four star hotel offering great value for money.

Room tip: Groups of 3-4 should go for the Juior suite or the Spannort Suite, great value.
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pelleskog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan B, Owner at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2017

Dear Pelleskog,

Thank you for your stay at Spannort and for writing a review. We are all very glad to hear that you enjoyed Spannort and Engelberg as well as our hospitality.

We are looking forward seeing you soon again.

Winter greetings

Stefan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2016 via mobile

Nice hotel with charme and a good atmosphere. The staff is really helpful and friendly. I can recommend this accommodation because it's close to everything, Kloster Engelberg, Shops, train station etc. A more powerful hairdryer could be helpful ;)

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank zumara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan B, Owner at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2017

Dear Zumara,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking your time to review your recent stay at Spannort.

We will have to check if we can get a more powerful hair-dryer for your next visit :) We are sorry for any inconvenience caused.

Hope to see you soon again.

Kindest regards
Stefan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews