We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmoshere”
Review of Restaurant Ammos

Restaurant Ammos
Ranked #16 of 441 Restaurants in Lucerne
Price range: US$15 - US$53
Description: We are a lovingly maintained restaurant with Greek cuisine. Authenticity is not only a word but we are eager to let you experience the “Meze” at our restaurant. “Meze” means enjoyable, small portions to share with your friends just as we do in Greek. We furthermore have many vegetarians (most of them are even vegan or easy to adapt for you) and gluten-free dishes to offer. We are looking forward to spoiling you and present you a still unknown dish from Hellas. During Summer time, you can enjoy the lively hustle and bustle of the city just next to the calming river of Rheuss on our restaurant terrace.
Restaurant details
Description: We are a lovingly maintained restaurant with Greek cuisine. Authenticity is not only a word but we are eager to let you experience the “Meze” at our restaurant. “Meze” means enjoyable, small portions to share with your friends just as we do in Greek. We furthermore have many vegetarians (most of them are even vegan or easy to adapt for you) and gluten-free dishes to offer. We are looking forward to spoiling you and present you a still unknown dish from Hellas. During Summer time, you can enjoy the lively hustle and bustle of the city just next to the calming river of Rheuss on our restaurant terrace.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

As a Greek it is hard for me to enjoy Greek food outside of Greece.
But Ammos really tries hard to keep
It as authentic as it can be.
From the ambience of the space to the sharing plates mentality of the Greeks.
I strongly recommend the Greek salad served in an eatable bowl made of hard bread and the feta cheese in fyllo.
My friend and I shared the main dish "kleftiko" lamp with vegetables baked in the oven wrapped in baking paper. Really fresh and tasty.
For dessert we also shared the galactoboureko.
A few drinks, a really happy and helpful staff and that was it! It felt exactly like home! For the summer days and nights you can also sit outside by the river and enjoy the Greek version of cold coffe. A cappuccino freddo.
The prices for Swiss standards pretty good and the portions big enough!
Enjoy!

Thank Vekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We were lucky to get a table at this popular restaurant. It was busy busy busy. Because it was so busy, it was hard to get a glass of wine and order dinner. We enjoyed our server, but she was slammed. The restaurant clearly needs more help on the floor.

The food was good, and we were not disappointed once it arrived. But a leisurely meal is was not. Once we ordered the food it came quickly. The octopus was great, pita was good with cucumber sauce, and the aubergine delicious. With food this good, they need to pay attention to customer service.

Thank Susie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamAmmos, Inhaber at Restaurant Ammos, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for you visit. At least I am very glad to read about your pleasure for our kind of greek food.
And of course I would like to excuse the circumstance, that we couldn't be so quick and calm as usual. We had to meet some harder challenges due to an abrupt failure of staff.
As the owner I have to accept that sometimes become someone ill and so you have to face as a small team some harder moments. It’s in those few moments pretty difficult to give all guests the same deserved attention.
I hope indeed you can understand us and I would like to apologize again for the less of attention.
And I can assure you, this was a big exception. The standard is, that we give a lot of attention, not only to what we serve, also to our guests.
hope that we can prove it to you while your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

Near the chapel and spreur bridge. If you can, try to get a seat outside by the riverfront, good for people watching and for a nice view. Came in without reservations and I got lucky to snag a seat outside.

Now on to the food. Got the octopus and spanakopita. Octopus was grilled well, very tender and its accompaniments complimented it well. The spanakopita was also good, phyllo was crunchy, good amount of filling.

Popular place so if you're a big group, I would suggest making reservations

Thank JR E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

This is the second time we have eaten here. First time lunch and second time, evening meal. On both occassions the food was delicious and well presented. Moussaka and Kleftico were first rate. The staff were attentive and friendly especially Ana who also has great sense of humour. A nice cosy feel to the place. Would not hesitate to recommend to friends.

Thank Ann Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018 via mobile

Yum! This place along the river has a great buzz. The owners are wonderful and the menu full of great choices. The food is delicious. Try the moussaka. Meatball appetizer. Save room for dessert!

Thank Barry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Ammos also viewed

Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 

Been to Restaurant Ammos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing