We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star view from Scala Terrasse and Montana beach club”

SCALA RESTAURANT - Art Deco Hotel Montana
Ranked #13 of 411 Restaurants in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$36 - US$56
Cuisines: European, Diner, Italian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, View, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 20 August 2017

We had dinner at Scala restaurant on the terrasse with beautiful view over Lucerne town, lake and mountains. We were lucky to have a front row table. The tables at the back do not have the same great view, so ask for a table in the front 2 rows when booking. The food was good and well presented, but not a top gourmet experience. We found the service and staff very attentive and friendly. There were lots of locals dining here, celebrating a special occasion. On our second evening, a warm summer night, we had dinner in a cabana at the montana beach club wich has a real mediterranean feeling (sand, cabanas, palms...). Nice touch: the cabanas are free of charge on a basis first come first serve. The menu is finger food snacks and a wide range of drinks. Also here, many locals at the Montana beach club. Breakfast buffet for hotel guests is ok, but a bit underwhelming comparing to other swiss hotels.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank luxuryvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtDecoHotelMONTANA, Leiter Front Office at SCALA RESTAURANT - Art Deco Hotel Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Dear guests, thank you so much for your review! We are happy that you enjoyed the view and maybe next time food is going to be perfect, too. Looking forward to welcoming you soon again, your MONTANA team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 517 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

My husband and I had dinner here whilst staying in the Montana Hotel. We opted for the 3 course dinner with paired wines and highly enjoyed the whole experience. The food was excellent; each course had numerous components all of which were well executed and presented with great care and attention to detail. The views from The Terrace were breath-taking especially as the sun set over the mountains and lake. The numerous staff were all quietly attentive and this, combined with the talent of a couple of musicians, created a wonderfully relaxed atmosphere. Special thanks must go to our waiter, Adam Torok, who was very helpful, professional and engaging. This was not a cheap evening, but if you're looking for somewhere special that serves fantastic food in a relaxed but elegant setting then you won't be disappointed.

Thank travelwithbaggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtDecoHotelMONTANA, Leiter Front Office at SCALA RESTAURANT - Art Deco Hotel Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Dear guest, wow - thank you so much for this great review! We are very happy that you totally enjoyed dinner on our terrace. We will let know our staff, especially Adam, with pleasure. Thank you for motivating; it shows us that it's worth doing daily our best to make guets happy. Looking forwards to welcoming you soon again, your MONTANA team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

We had lunch on the patio. The view is outstanding. We had sandwiches and pastas for our meals. Everyone enjoyed their meal. It was really the view that made the meal special though. I would definitely go back if I travel there again.

Thank Lisa X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtDecoHotelMONTANA, Leiter Front Office at SCALA RESTAURANT - Art Deco Hotel Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Dear Lisa, thank you so much for your kind review! We're looking forward to welcoming you soon again! Your MONTANA team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

Above the Rooftops with stunning view to Dine was just top. Fine Food, great Staff a must be Experience when in Town. Take the Elevator Train right into the Reception!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dominikbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtDecoHotelMONTANA, Leiter Front Office at SCALA RESTAURANT - Art Deco Hotel Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Dear guest, thank you so much for this great review! We are pleased that you totally enjoyed your stay with us and that you recommend us to our future guests. Your MONTANA team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

We had a reservation in a restaurant, my boyfriend wanted to make a surprise and reserve a table near window as we had a special occasion. He was told that they have it only at 9pm, though we usually eat diner at 7pm and had a long trip before, but he decided it's worth it and we go for it. Before that we had an aperitivo in the castle and I wanted to stay there for diner though he told he has reserved a place with even better view. We came to the restaurant and the host sat us at literally furthest table from the window, near wall and said "sorry, we have no availability near window". First of all, we were guests of hotel that made reservation in advance and come to eat even 2h later than its normal for us just because you promised us table... if you had none in reservations, why you didn't just say it? We would have stayed in the place that had to offer what we want... we were then changed to a table facing the corner right window which is the outside seating area... awesome, we enjoyed looking at the chairs a lot. The food was good and the menu was greatly adapted to vegetarians, but so there is many great places in Lucerne and we would've have ate somewhere else if the restaurant wouldn't have lied to us.

Thank Elena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtDecoHotelMONTANA, Leiter Front Office at SCALA RESTAURANT - Art Deco Hotel Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Dear Elena, thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed food in our restaurant. However we regret that we did not meet your expectations regarding service. We take it serious and have discussed your matter in department. The conclusion is that there were missunderstandings. That night we were already fully booked on the terrace several days before, that's why we could offer you a table on the terrace only at 9pm, this does not mean at the window, only on the terrace. If you wanted to come earlier there was availability in the restaurant. In fact you made your reservation the day before, which is just a little bit in advance, and as already mentioned we were totally fully booked on the terrace already. Thank you for your understanding. We would be pleased to welcoming you soon again and convince you also of our service. Your MONTANA team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SCALA RESTAURANT - Art Deco Hotel Montana also viewed

Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 

Been to SCALA RESTAURANT - Art Deco Hotel Montana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing