We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of CASCADA Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
CASCADA Hotel
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

This hotel is very close to the train station, get out of train looking onto street, turn right and left, and its justabout behind the station on the right. We had our GPS which made it very easy to find. This hotel was lovely, our room windows opened up and we had a great view of Mt Pilatus. The bathroom was very nice, and spacious. The hotel staff were excellent! Just a short walk to the town. We spent two days here. There is lots to see and do but very expensive. A little piece of laszana was 25.00 CHF. no garlic toast with that. We took a ferry over to Mt Pilatus and went up, look over the side at the little church that was built on a cliff, only way to get up there is helicopter. Once down on the gondola, we went to the bus stop which is so close to the end of the gondola ride back into town. This hotel is a great location. Very expensive but everything else is too

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Mt Pilatus, the windows open right up! Bring binoculars
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctanski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASCADA_11, Manager at CASCADA Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your appreciated feedback!
We are looking forward to seeing you in our hotel and wish you all the best.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    331
    65
    16
    8
See reviews for
222
332
49
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

I just came back from a business trip to Lucerne. I stayed for one night at the Hotel Cascada which is conveniently close to the railroad station. This convenience does come at a price, you can frequently hear the sounds of the passing trains which can disturb your sleep. The pillows are awful, very big and extremely soft. Naturally you can contact the reception for a normal pillow but I was so tired I didn´t bother. The hotel has a nice restaurant which is Spanish style.
The food is quite good and the atmosphere is very pleasant. The same restaurant is used in the morning for breakfast.
The hotel offers you free wifi which is a plus and the signal strength is extremely good. Normally in Switzerland, internet connection in hotels is extremely expensive. Also the hotel is very close to the various bus stops.
All in all it´s a very good hotel but make sure you get a room facing the back of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveSun50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASCADA_11, Manager at CASCADA Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Google Translation
Lieber Gast,

Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback und die netten Worte.
Grundsätzlich sind alle unsere Zimmer sehr ruhig und besitzen gut, isolierte Fenster. Es kann aber in der Tat vorkommen, dass man in den Zimmern im Eck (Richtung Bahnhof) die ein- und ausfahrenden Züge hören kann.

Wir freuen uns aber, Sie in Zukunft wieder einmal bei uns begrüssen zu dürfen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morges
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

Very nice hotel with a great location near the main train station. Walking distance to everything. Car parking. Very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are clean and calm. I had a nice view on the roofs of the houses around. Would stay again and again!

Stayed January 2012 during a trade show in the area (Allmend Luzern)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatBin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plaistow, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed here in July 2010. Hotel was a short 10-15 minute walk from the train station and old-town Lucerne. Staff was very friendly. Air conditioning worked very well, bed was comfortable. Bathroom was very clean and nice. We ate in the hotel restaurant for dinner and breakfast the next morning. Dinner was very good, and the breakfast was the best we had during our weeklong trip to Italy and Switzerland. We initially wanted to stay in an older hotel in the historic area of Lucerne but they were either too pricey or didn't have air conditioning. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matthews72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
363 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

This was a trendy hotel. Modern decor etc.. The location was pretty good. Only a 10 min. walk from the city center. There were no family rooms, so we had to get two double rooms. The breakfast was good and large. The service was pretty good too.

Room Tip: The limited car parking was expensive. Check beforehand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#4 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
0.4 km away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
0.7 km away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Continental-Park Hotel
Continental-Park Hotel
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
1.4 km away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
0.7 km away
Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Wilden Mann
#7 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CASCADA Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CASCADA Hotel

Property: CASCADA Hotel
Address: Bundesplatz 18, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#6 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price range (per night): RM835 - RM1,780
Hotel Class:4 star — CASCADA Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CASCADA Hotel is a modern 4**** non-smoking city hotel which is centrally located near the trainstation. A few minutes walk away from the lake, the Old Town, the KKL and Lucerne's main attractions. All 66 rooms have been renovated recently, and are named and decorated after a Swiss waterfall. The rooms are equipped with bath or shower/toilet, air conditioning, Flatscreen-TV, Safe, kettle with tea and coffee, hair dryer, vanity mirror and Minibar with some free drinks. Throughout the hotel high-speed wireless LAN is available for free. The Spanish BOLERO restaurant is well known in Lucerne. The restaurant offers various specialities from the spanish and hispanic culture like Paella, Mejillones, Tortilla und Fajitas. Daily from 5 pm to 11 pm you can help yourself from the tasty Tapas buffet. Enjoy your time in the warm and exceptional ambience of the mediterranean BOLERO with it's hospitable and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your CASCADA Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascada Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing