We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Stay in Lucern”
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Astoria
Ranked #23 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Reviewed 27 July 2017

This Hotel is a short walk away from the Train Station and the Wooden bridge. The Hotel entry lobby is fancy but the rooms are tiny and the ones in the older building are just ok. There is no room service available here. The bar upstairs and the Thai/Chinese restaurant here are nice. The staff is friendly. The breakfast here is a let down and hardly has any options for vegetarians. I personally found the buffet breakfast below average. The hotel is in a decent locality.

Room Tip: try getting a room in the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samarth p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Hotel Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Dear samarth p

We would like to thank you for your stay at Hotel Astoria Lucerne and your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed the central location of our hotel, our restaurant Thai Garden and Mekong Asian Bistro & Bar. Nevertheless, we regret that your room and breakfast did not meet your expectation. We have passed your useful advice regarding the variety of vegetarian options on to the department responsible in order to improve our selection in the future.

Once again we thank you for your feedback and hope to welcome you soon back at Hotel Astoria Lucerne!

Best regards,

Sheila
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (545)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 35 of 545 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2017

the hotel has a cold atmosphere and is probably focussed on big travelling groups. The room had the same cold atmosphere and was decorated without taste. It reminded me of a tourist fabric. Room cleaning knocked on my door at 7am

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Laurent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Hotel Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Dear Laurent D

We thank you for your stay and taking the time to give us your important feedback. We are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincere apologies. We regret that we could not completely convince you with our design rooms. Design is in the eye of the beholder. Therefore it always divides humanity into two parties. Unfortunately, we can not explain who has knocked on your door at 7 am. Our room cleaning starts to work at 8 am.

Once again, we offer our sincere apologies and hope you grant us another chance in order to convince you of our good hotel service standard!

Best regards,

Sheila
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

Our tour group stayed in the Astoria for two nights. Our room was very spacious and clean and comfortable. The bathroom is huge with plenty of space to move around. It's a modern hotel centrally located and just a 10 minute walk from Old Town Lucerne. The staff is friendly. Many onsite restaurants and a beautiful rooftop bar with great views of Lucerne. Our only negative comment is about the air conditioning throughout the hotel. I had read previous comments from other travelers about this issue and I agree this needs to improve. Regardless of the AC issue we would still return and I would recommend to others.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MayraS414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Hotel Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Dear MayraS414

We thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor and are happy to read that you enjoyed a wonderful time at our house. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again!

Best regards,

Sheila
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

We stayed here with our tour group. Check-in was a bit slow. The rooms are large and clean. We had dinner here, service was excellent, however, the food was just ok. We loved the location of this hotel. It was in a safe area and it was a quick walk to Kapellbrucke and the shops/cafes. Highly recommended hotel if you're staying in Lucerne.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slothstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Hotel Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Dear slothstravel

Thank you very much for your stay at Hotel Astoria Lucerne and your feedback. We are happy that we could convince you with our central location and are looking forward to welcoming you soon again!

Best regards,

Sheila
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

This is not a bad place, we don't really have any real complaints. Place seems to be worth the money, we couldn't ask for a better location! We would have no problem recommending this hotel. Requested an iron and it was up within minutes, the rooftop bar looks pretty cool

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Hotel Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Dear David S

Thank you for your stay at Hotel Astoria. The Hotel Astoria team is happy to read, that you had an enjoyable time in our house. We are happy that we could convince you with our Penthouse Roof Top Bar and are looking forward to welcoming you soon again!

Best regards,

Sheila
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.1 km away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
0.4 km away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 67 in Lucerne
958 reviews
0.3 km away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne
0.3 km away
Continental-Park Hotel
Continental-Park Hotel
#11 of 67 in Lucerne
578 reviews
0.2 km away
The Hotel Lucerne, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Address: Pilatusstrasse 29, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#16 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: RM609 - RM1,373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Astoria 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Astoria offers everything expected of a modern conferencing hotel. Featuring light, bright and tastefully designed rooms, this architectural masterpiece in the heart of Lucerne is one of Switzerland’s most attractive urban hotels.RestaurantsWe own the most exciting restaurants in Lucerne. Thai, Italian or Asian Food at a superbly high standard as acknowledged by the Gault Millau restaurant guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing