We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$388
US$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$133
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$349
US$244
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$359
US$181
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$352
US$318
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$206
US$178
ibis Styles
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$530
US$316
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$274
US$210
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (620)
Filter reviews
620 results
Traveller rating
154
258
140
50
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
154
258
140
50
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barla cucinatrafalgar tourmodern hotelold towntrain stationchapel bridgetop floornespresso machine in the roomthe penthousefloor to ceiling windowswithin walking distancecentral locationcorner roomtwo nightslarge bathroombuffet breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 620 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2017

This review is by a frequent traveller.

Hotel décor and rooms very nice but, avoid tour group hotel.

However, be aware this hotel has two entrances, one for individuals and one for tour groups which, made access to the one lift difficult, we had to wait 20 minutes every morning whilst tour groups attempted to get into the one and only lift with their luggage.

Hotel only provides the bare minimal requirements, like:-

1. No kettle to boil water for a cup of tea
2. Only one bottle of water and if half used, they leave it for next day and glasses not replaced or washed every day.
3. Reported a faulty downlight, not fixed or replaced during our 4 night stay.
4. Rooms to hot with donna, requested sheet and blanket, not available.
5. Bathroom, only one cake of soap provided.
6. Bathroom towels – Nil bath sheets, small towels.
7. Wi-Fi – Had to log in every time you want to use it?
8. Car parking $50 AUD overnight --- The charge is not per day stay.
9. Breakfast – Was basic with limited options, scrambled egg tasteless.
10. Reception staff rude - Other employees at the hotel were helpful.
11. Overpriced for what you get.

From our experience and choice, we will never consider staying at the Astoria Group of Hotels again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Max R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Hotel Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear Max R

We thank you for your stay at Hotel Astoria Lucerne and taking the time to give us your important feedback. We are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, please allow us to express our sincere apologies.

Unfortunately, the parking situation at the whole city centre of Lucerne is very limited. We are lucky to offer an own garage. However, with only 21 parking spaces, our underground garage is fully booked very quickly. Due to the limited number, a prior reservation is recommended. The rate per parking space is CHF 35.00 a day and is not included in the room rate. Alternatively, the city of Lucerne offers a parking card for the public parking at CHF 15.00 per day or several public underground parking from CHF 38 up to CHF 57 per 24 hours in the neighbourhood.
Regarding the amenities we are happy to inform you that we offer our guest’s hair and body lotion and soap free of charge and anytime our guests can call the reception for more. However, the lack of the so-called “soft factors” such as a friendly welcome at the check-in is inexcusable.

Once again, we are very sorry that we could not meet your expectations and therefore offer our sincere apologies. Nevertheless, we hope to have another chance in the future in order to convince you of our improvements.

Kind regards

Martin - Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here when we visit Lucerne. It is very close to sightseeing, shop and restaurants. The location is superb. The service is good. The gym is rather small but it is fine. The breakfast is simple and do not have to much choice. The accommodation room is large and well equipped. I will come back to stay here when I be back to Lucerne.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Chaicharn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Hotel Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear Chaicharn D

Thank you very much for your stay at Hotel Astoria Lucerne and your great feedback. We are happy that we could convince you with our service and rooms. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again!

Best regards,

Sheila
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

we are traveling on trains with luggage so easy access with luggage was a key. This property has some comments about noise but we had no issues. Asked up front and they put us in building 3. Building one is the more troubling issue with noise as the club is on the top floor of building 1. Rooms are great, breakfast included is a good plan as the food is great. We waited to reserve the room in Lucerne and got the DEAL OF THE DAY. This is one method where you go on line direct to the hotel and you can get a great deal, great room, very nice staff and quality shower....we would stay here again...

Room Tip: wait to reserve and do it direct with the hotel, bigd 3 for quite
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank owlnickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Hotel Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Dear owlnickers

We thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor and are happy to read that you enjoyed a wonderful time at our house.

All the best to you! We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again at Hotel Astoria Lucerne!

Best regards,

Sheila
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

The hotel is located at the centre of the city not very far from the station and the lake. The staff was not at all cordial and helpful at the reception or at the breakfast hotel. The rooms were big and spacious. Loved that.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank subhadipg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Hotel Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear subhadipg

We would like to thank you for your stay at Hotel Astoria Lucerne and your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed the central location of our hotel and our rooms. However, the lack of the so-called “soft factors” such as a friendly welcome at the check-in or a smile during the breakfast service is inexcusable.

We offer our sincere apologies and hope you grant us another chance in order to convince you of our good hotel service standard!

Best regards,

Sheila
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

Amazing service, the receptionist was very nice and helpful, every thing was done with a smile.
We got an upgraded room and they even arrange a baby cog!
Breakfast was amazing a variety of cheese, sausages, eggs, fresh pastry, vegetables and fruits, here again we had an amazing service the waitress offered to make us hot drinks although it a self service buffet.
The location is perfect 5 minutes from everything.
The room is very modern and includes a nesspresso coffee machine.
If you want an amazing stay come to astoria!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank randavidacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Hotel Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Dear randavidacc

We thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor and are happy to read that you enjoyed a wonderful time at our house. We all hope that you and your family arrived save back at home, with good memories of your trip to Lucerne and are looking forward to welcoming you soon again at Hotel Astoria Lucerne!

Best regards,

Sheila
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews