We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$129
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$206
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$240
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$352
US$318
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$273
US$202
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$354
US$244
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$530
US$316
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$276
US$232
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (622)
Filter reviews
622 results
Traveller rating
154
260
140
50
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
154
260
140
50
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barla cucinatrafalgar tourmodern hotelold towntrain stationchapel bridgetop floornespresso machine in the roomthe penthousefloor to ceiling windowswithin walking distancecentral locationcorner roomtwo nightslarge bathroombuffet breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 622 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

Our stay was positive. The room was clean, the hotel has a smart feel, breakfast was fantastic and the rooftop bar is amazing (although at 8 p.m. beer went up from 8 to 10 CHF a bottle!)

The price of a room felt very high, but we were aware that this was to be expected in Switzerland. However, we were a little disappointed that having paid extra for a Deluxe Design room with full height windows, the only view we had was of other windows in the hotel!

Lucerne is fantastic, and I'd definitely recommend an excursion to Engelberg and up Mt Titlis.

Overall a fantastic weekend stay, but the view meant the room fell short of 5 stars.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank tcz_8127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Hotel Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear tcz_8127

Thank you very much for your stay at Hotel Astoria Lucerne and your review. We are happy that we could convince you with Penthouse Roof Top bar and the quality of our breakfast.

All the best to you! We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again!

Best regards,

Sheila
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

Stayed here as part of our Insight tour of Switzerland and was impressed with the quality of the hotel.

Comfy beds, plenty of space, large bathroom, rooftop bar (excellent for a late night beverage overlooking the city), easy walking distance to the city centre and the lake

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Hotel Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Bruce C

We thank you very much for sharing your opinion on TripAdvisor. The Hotel Astoria team is happy to read, that you had a wonderful stay with us. We all hope that you arrived save back at home, with good memories of your trip to Lucerne and are looking forward to welcoming you soon again!

Best regards,

Sheila
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

The Astoria is very centrally located and the staff are welcoming and professional - the gentlemen who helped us with the underground garage and our luggage was 1st class.

The room was clean and bed comforable, but it is a little unusal to have a mini bar with drinks and no bottle opener and then asking for one to come up and being told it was on loan to open the current drink!

The breakfast was really nice and the staff delightful.

Its Switzerland so be preapred for sticker shock, but even then parking was still ridiculous.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank evilC19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Hotel Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear evilC19

We thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor and are happy to read that you enjoyed a wonderful time at our house.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again at Hotel Astoria Lucerne!

Best regards,

Sheila
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

This review is by a frequent traveller.

Hotel décor and rooms very nice but, avoid tour group hotel.

However, be aware this hotel has two entrances, one for individuals and one for tour groups which, made access to the one lift difficult, we had to wait 20 minutes every morning whilst tour groups attempted to get into the one and only lift with their luggage.

Hotel only provides the bare minimal requirements, like:-

1. No kettle to boil water for a cup of tea
2. Only one bottle of water and if half used, they leave it for next day and glasses not replaced or washed every day.
3. Reported a faulty downlight, not fixed or replaced during our 4 night stay.
4. Rooms to hot with donna, requested sheet and blanket, not available.
5. Bathroom, only one cake of soap provided.
6. Bathroom towels – Nil bath sheets, small towels.
7. Wi-Fi – Had to log in every time you want to use it?
8. Car parking $50 AUD overnight --- The charge is not per day stay.
9. Breakfast – Was basic with limited options, scrambled egg tasteless.
10. Reception staff rude - Other employees at the hotel were helpful.
11. Overpriced for what you get.

From our experience and choice, we will never consider staying at the Astoria Group of Hotels again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Max R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Hotel Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear Max R

We thank you for your stay at Hotel Astoria Lucerne and taking the time to give us your important feedback. We are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, please allow us to express our sincere apologies.

Unfortunately, the parking situation at the whole city centre of Lucerne is very limited. We are lucky to offer an own garage. However, with only 21 parking spaces, our underground garage is fully booked very quickly. Due to the limited number, a prior reservation is recommended. The rate per parking space is CHF 35.00 a day and is not included in the room rate. Alternatively, the city of Lucerne offers a parking card for the public parking at CHF 15.00 per day or several public underground parking from CHF 38 up to CHF 57 per 24 hours in the neighbourhood.
Regarding the amenities we are happy to inform you that we offer our guest’s hair and body lotion and soap free of charge and anytime our guests can call the reception for more. However, the lack of the so-called “soft factors” such as a friendly welcome at the check-in is inexcusable.

Once again, we are very sorry that we could not meet your expectations and therefore offer our sincere apologies. Nevertheless, we hope to have another chance in the future in order to convince you of our improvements.

Kind regards

Martin - Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here when we visit Lucerne. It is very close to sightseeing, shop and restaurants. The location is superb. The service is good. The gym is rather small but it is fine. The breakfast is simple and do not have to much choice. The accommodation room is large and well equipped. I will come back to stay here when I be back to Lucerne.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Chaicharn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Hotel Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear Chaicharn D

Thank you very much for your stay at Hotel Astoria Lucerne and your great feedback. We are happy that we could convince you with our service and rooms. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again!

Best regards,

Sheila
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews