We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Astoria
Ranked #22 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Reviewed 14 September 2017

The hotel was perfect. The room was spacious and comfortable along with being very clean. The staff and services were 5 star. We had breakfast at the hotel which outstanding. Great selection of food. All in all I would rate the hotel as being a 4 to 5 star. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you travel to Lucerne, this hotel is a must to stay at. You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Hotel Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Jim R

Thank you very much for your great feedback! We are happy to hear that you appreciated our service. It is our everyday passion to give guests a great time; starting at the entrance and finishing with a positive and memorable experience.

All the best to you! We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again at Hotel Astoria Luzern!

Best regards,

Sheila
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (545)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 545 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

Our stay was positive. The room was clean, the hotel has a smart feel, breakfast was fantastic and the rooftop bar is amazing (although at 8 p.m. beer went up from 8 to 10 CHF a bottle!)

The price of a room felt very high, but we were aware that this was to be expected in Switzerland. However, we were a little disappointed that having paid extra for a Deluxe Design room with full height windows, the only view we had was of other windows in the hotel!

Lucerne is fantastic, and I'd definitely recommend an excursion to Engelberg and up Mt Titlis.

Overall a fantastic weekend stay, but the view meant the room fell short of 5 stars.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank tcz_8127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Hotel Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear tcz_8127

Thank you very much for your stay at Hotel Astoria Lucerne and your review. We are happy that we could convince you with Penthouse Roof Top bar and the quality of our breakfast.

All the best to you! We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again!

Best regards,

Sheila
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

Stayed here as part of our Insight tour of Switzerland and was impressed with the quality of the hotel.

Comfy beds, plenty of space, large bathroom, rooftop bar (excellent for a late night beverage overlooking the city), easy walking distance to the city centre and the lake

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Hotel Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Bruce C

We thank you very much for sharing your opinion on TripAdvisor. The Hotel Astoria team is happy to read, that you had a wonderful stay with us. We all hope that you arrived save back at home, with good memories of your trip to Lucerne and are looking forward to welcoming you soon again!

Best regards,

Sheila
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

The Astoria is very centrally located and the staff are welcoming and professional - the gentlemen who helped us with the underground garage and our luggage was 1st class.

The room was clean and bed comforable, but it is a little unusal to have a mini bar with drinks and no bottle opener and then asking for one to come up and being told it was on loan to open the current drink!

The breakfast was really nice and the staff delightful.

Its Switzerland so be preapred for sticker shock, but even then parking was still ridiculous.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank evilC19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Hotel Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear evilC19

We thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor and are happy to read that you enjoyed a wonderful time at our house.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again at Hotel Astoria Lucerne!

Best regards,

Sheila
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

This review is by a frequent traveller.

Hotel décor and rooms very nice but, avoid tour group hotel.

However, be aware this hotel has two entrances, one for individuals and one for tour groups which, made access to the one lift difficult, we had to wait 20 minutes every morning whilst tour groups attempted to get into the one and only lift with their luggage.

Hotel only provides the bare minimal requirements, like:-

1. No kettle to boil water for a cup of tea
2. Only one bottle of water and if half used, they leave it for next day and glasses not replaced or washed every day.
3. Reported a faulty downlight, not fixed or replaced during our 4 night stay.
4. Rooms to hot with donna, requested sheet and blanket, not available.
5. Bathroom, only one cake of soap provided.
6. Bathroom towels – Nil bath sheets, small towels.
7. Wi-Fi – Had to log in every time you want to use it?
8. Car parking $50 AUD overnight --- The charge is not per day stay.
9. Breakfast – Was basic with limited options, scrambled egg tasteless.
10. Reception staff rude - Other employees at the hotel were helpful.
11. Overpriced for what you get.

From our experience and choice, we will never consider staying at the Astoria Group of Hotels again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Max R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Hotel Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear Max R

We thank you for your stay at Hotel Astoria Lucerne and taking the time to give us your important feedback. We are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, please allow us to express our sincere apologies.

Unfortunately, the parking situation at the whole city centre of Lucerne is very limited. We are lucky to offer an own garage. However, with only 21 parking spaces, our underground garage is fully booked very quickly. Due to the limited number, a prior reservation is recommended. The rate per parking space is CHF 35.00 a day and is not included in the room rate. Alternatively, the city of Lucerne offers a parking card for the public parking at CHF 15.00 per day or several public underground parking from CHF 38 up to CHF 57 per 24 hours in the neighbourhood.
Regarding the amenities we are happy to inform you that we offer our guest’s hair and body lotion and soap free of charge and anytime our guests can call the reception for more. However, the lack of the so-called “soft factors” such as a friendly welcome at the check-in is inexcusable.

Once again, we are very sorry that we could not meet your expectations and therefore offer our sincere apologies. Nevertheless, we hope to have another chance in the future in order to convince you of our improvements.

Kind regards

Martin - Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.1 km away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
0.4 km away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 67 in Lucerne
958 reviews
0.3 km away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne
0.3 km away
Continental-Park Hotel
Continental-Park Hotel
#11 of 67 in Lucerne
577 reviews
0.2 km away
The Hotel Lucerne, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Address: Pilatusstrasse 29, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#16 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: RM613 - RM1,390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Astoria 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Astoria offers everything expected of a modern conferencing hotel. Featuring light, bright and tastefully designed rooms, this architectural masterpiece in the heart of Lucerne is one of Switzerland’s most attractive urban hotels.RestaurantsWe own the most exciting restaurants in Lucerne. Thai, Italian or Asian Food at a superbly high standard as acknowledged by the Gault Millau restaurant guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing