We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel with best views in Luzern”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel National
Ranked #20 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Best place to stay when visiting Luzern. Hotel has best views if you get lake facing room.

Hotel is right next to Luzern Lake so you are not far away from activities,peace and evening walks next to the lake.

Hotel is in city center and and everything from hotel is at walking distance. Train station is 10mins walk

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ariansumit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
national1870, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Dear ariansumit

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed the stay at our hotel. As you mentioned right at the lakeside promenade there are various facilities to enjoy a wonderful and peaceful evening. Although the city of Luceren is within walking distance of 10 minutes.

We would be happy if you consider our hotel next time you are in Switzerland again.

Kind regards from Lucerne

Your Grand National - Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 244 of 431 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2011

We toured Switzerland and Southern France. It had quite large room with sparse furniture.
Like everything in Switzerland highly overpriced. However, we enjoyed the size of the bathroom and the room. The internet is extra ??

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
national1870, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Dear Peter

Thank you very much for your review. We really much appreciate if our guests take the time to tell us their impact. We are glad that you liked our hotel rooms and the bathrooms. Please be informed that the Internet is free for all our hotel guests.

We are looking forward to welcome you once again and make your stay in Lucerne special.


Best regards

The team of the Grand National

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We arrived here by mistake, a friend had reccommended another hotel that we couldn't get to because the sat nav kept telling us to go over a foot bridge, we could see it but not get to it. Out came the iPad and tripadvisor and well thank goodness for that, it was lovely, we got connecting room with the kids, ours was described as romantic (this meant very very small) we asked for and were moved into another much bigger room the next day. everyone was happy. the breakfasts were great, Gluten Free bread purchased and toasted within 20 mins. The dinner in the restuarant was sublime, great food great service. The Hotel has seemingly cashed in on its location and size, with the top 2 floors no office space (you would never know it) and one half private suites/appartments the other hotel rooms. Well done Grand National this has probably afforded that you stay in business

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petrinahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHN1870, Guest Relation at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2011

Dear Petrinahm

thank you very much for your positive feedback.
We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us at the Grand Hotel National and we hope we have the chance to welcome you again.

Kind Regards

Your Grand Hotel National Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed at the Grand Hotel National for 6 nights in July 2011. This was part of a nine-week European trip where we stayed at 12 hotels (primarily 5 star). We almost always stay at Four Seasons Hotels when available and our review should be seen in this light. Sadly, the Grand Hotel National does not come close to the quality and service levels provided by FSH, yet their prices are not much less.

There is lots to like about this hotel, which I will get to in a moment. Sadly, there are a couple of key negatives. The first is that the walls are PAPER THIN and you can hear everything in the rooms beside and above you. We unfortunately had neighbours who did not appreciate this and had the pleasure of hearing their TVs and conversations well past mid-night on 4 of 6 nights. If this sort of thing bothers you, then definitely stay elsewhere. Another negative (though this is more minor) is that the hotel is very impersonal. Much of the hotel is being converted into residences so there is a disjointed feel about the place and very few staff around. The only people you see are the front desk staff who, while very young, were exceptionally helpful and friendly. Other negatives: no concierge services, no exercise room (you have to pay 25 euros to use a nearby facility) and very late housekeeping (we came back at 4 pm on two days to find that our room had not yet been cleaned).

So what's there to like about the Grand Hotel National? We had a lake view room on the third floor. The room was large, bright and had fabulous views of the lake. We also had a very nice balcony. The furniture was nice and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom was not large but comfortable. The shower and bathtub were a single unit. The location is great and is an easy walk from the main train station and old town. As mentioned, the front desk staff are friendly and helpful.

Some tips:
1. It is an easy walk from the train station to the hotel. The walkway is wide and smooth.
2. Breakfast is 35 euros per person. It is very good and included eggs. Our 12 year old daughter ate for free so it was good value. There are also lots of places near the hotel for breakfast.
3. Free wifi, although concavity was spotty. When it was fully functional, the download speeds were excellent.
4. There are four restaurants in the hotel, each run independently. We had two dinners and a lunch at Padrino, and all three were excellent. During busy periods, you will need reservations.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BASLJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHN1870, Guest Relation at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2011

Dear BASLJM

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know your opinion.

We appreciate your valuable comments and will do our best to improve our services in the mentioned departments.

Dear BASLJM we hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Grand Hotel National Lucerne again.

Best regards

Your Grand Hotel National Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We stayed at this hotel on a family vacation in July 2011. All of the staff were friendly and cooperative. The large double lakeview room was beautiful and spacious with a great view of the lake. Five star service, however, is more than the hotel provides. Upon arrival they offered a glass of orange juice or champagne upon check in. I tried the orange juice, but it had the distinct taste of canned juice. At least in the US, five star hotels only have freshly squeezed juice on their premises. Other details in service were similarly lacking. At checkout, there was no taxi immediately available so we had to wait about five minutes. I would say that this was a great four star hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petruzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHN1870, Guest Relations at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2011

Dear Mr. Petruzzi

We would like to say thank you for considering our hotel and for taking the time to share your opinion with us.

Unfortunately our Welcome drink did not match your expectations. We appreciate your comments as honest criticism gives us the motivation to improve and control a high standard and great hospitality.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again back to the Grand Hotel National Luzern.

Best regards

Your Grand Hotel National Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.9 km away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 67 in Lucerne
1,122 reviews
0.4 km away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 67 in Lucerne
1,023 reviews
1.0 km away
The Hotel Lucerne, Autograph Collection
0.9 km away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel National? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel National

Address: Haldenstrasse 4, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#14 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#15 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: RM1,091 - RM1,967 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel National 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We endeavour to cater to your every wish by offering sophisticated, personalised service and a sense of hospitality embodied by every member of the hotel staff.The blend of tradition and modernity in our hotel is beyond compare. Inside, the legendary names of the founding fathers, César Ritz and Auguste Escoffier, the elegant neo-renaissance and new baroque architecture and a history stretching back almost 150 years come face to face with contemporary design and sophisticated flair.Our Grand Hotel has it all: luxury accommodation for the most fabulous holidays, the ideal place for social occasions, a springboard for travelling, a gourmet destination, an environment for inspirational events, a mirror of the world... and within our four walls, a lively, very welcoming microcosm.Indulge yourself in Lucerne! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel National reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing