We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Majestic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel National
Ranked #20 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2015

Truly a Majestic Hotel in a great location on the water. Had waterfront room for New Years. Very spacious, clean and comfortable. Had many activities for New Years that were over the top. Staff had a great time with them. Staff cares deeply about the guest experience and it shows in everything they do. Location is a very easy walk to everything you want to see. Could not have asked for a better New Years! Will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelinman045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia A, Leiter Front Office at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2015

Dear travelinman045

First of all thank you very much for your great review about your stay at our hotel.

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had such a great start into the New Year! We happily forwarded your valued comments to all our staff members as this is the best motivation for all of them.

We already look forward welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Your GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 145 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2015

I had an unforgettable stay here, arriving effortlessly by train from a snowy airport to cosy elegance and a welcome both warm and efficient. My room was immaculately decorated in grand hotel style, with chandeliers and every comfort provided. The bathroom was modern and luxurious. The bed was so inviting I didn't even make it down to dinner. Best of all was the balcony and the view of the lake.

I had asked for a quiet room and there was no sound from outside. However, the walls turned out to be paper thin and, with unfortunately adjoining rooms on both sides, I could hear every
word and movement from my neighbours. There was also a great deal of inconsiderate door banging and the endless clicking of stilletto heels on those lovely marble floors to contend
with.

Almost as irritating was my total failure to get online, despite following all instructions to the letter. Obviously I didn't want to drag myself out from my heavenly feather duvet to traipse back down
to reception and there was no reply from the phone.

Another disappointing feature which worked in opposition to the sense of being enveloped in hospitality and peace was having to pay so much over-the-odds for the non-complementary
mineral water. Things are never going to be cheap in Switzerland but sufficient drinking water should surely be de rigeur.

I had fully intended to return to this idyll for a longer stay with family but would not now do so unless I could be fully reassured about the soundproofing. Even so, I was exceedingly reluctant
to take my leave of this beautiful hotel and the sight of the morning snow falling on the lake
outside.

Room Tip: Internal and external noise is a big issue at this otherwise wonderful hotel. No idea how to avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Balm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia A, Leiter Front Office at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2015

Dear Balm S

Thank you very much for your detailed review about your recent stay at our hotel. The feedback of every guest is very important to us, as it allows us to reflect our services and to certainly improve the same constantly.

We regret to read that you did not enjoy your stay to full extend due to some distracting noise. We are proud of having such a historical hotel with the traditional charm of the Belle Epoque. The hotel was opened first in 1870 and is located in a beautiful landmarked building, which is great but at the same time doesn't allow us to change the major construct of it. Having said that, please be assured that certainly we do all necessary to always keep the interior and facilities of the property up to date to ensure a satisfying and joyful stay for our guests.

Furthermore all our guests are welcomed by a complimentary mineral water along with some fresh fruits; only drinks from the minibar are available at an extra charge, therefore we are very sorry if there was a misunderstanding in this regard.

We would be pleased if you would return with your family in the future to give us another chance to convince you about our professional and high standard service.

Kind regards
Your GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2015

Charmy hotel with nice personnel and great rooms however never stay at the city side rooms: terrible roar generated by night club drums as to no isolation. We already couldn't sleep for two nights and have another two booked but the staff cannot help as the hotel is fully occupied.
Even in the hotels situated close to runways of Heatrow, Frankfurt and CDG the noise is not sensitive.
Finally, the city looking rooms should be excluded from sale.

Room Tip: The lake side ONLY
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MiloGal88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia A, Leiter Front Office at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2015

Dear MiloGal88

First of all we would like to thank you for having taken the time to write a review about your stay at our hotel.

We would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused by the noise from the night club during your stay with us. Please be assured that we certainly always do all necessary to keep the hotel and it's facilities up to date, which of course includes having well isolated windows. We are very sorry, that apparently your window was not as soundproof as it is supposed to be. Nevertheless we would like to highlight that usually in such cases we would have tried to move you to another room, but that night we were fully booked, which is why we couldn't do.

Even though you had an unsatisfying night we sincerely hope that you still liked our hotel and we would be grateful to welcome you again in the future to prove our usual high standard and excellent hospitality service.

Kind regards
Your GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2014

Hotel – Old European charm, beautiful building, restaurants, bar area. Staff was typically Swiss friendly and helpful. Located a bit of a walk to the old city, but totally accessible and a nice stroll along the lakes edge. Literally less than 7 minutes’ walk to the old city but located right next to the casino. This was the largest room we had in Switzerland, with nice furniture and a modern washroom. Also fruit and turn down service with chocolates at night. We paid extra to have a room with a lake view and it was nice to sit by the window in the afternoon and look across the water to the mountain peaks. Internet was included as most of our hotels we stayed at. The only negative was that the ‘gym’ was only one stationary bike and one so so step machine. There was a gym near-by but that would coist an extra 25 CHF to use.

Room Tip: We paid extra for the lake view and it was probably worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HAP-TRAVEL-Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis B, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2014

Dear Hap-Travel-Canada,

We thank you very much for your Kind Review and and are happy to hear that you like our service and the room provided.

As we are very well cooperating with the Fitness Park just across the street of the Hotel we just provide in our Pool area a small Fitness area. The Pool area is basically used for Sauna, Solarium and the pool itself.

We are always keen on geeting Feedback from our guests and take all comments very serious in order to ameliorate continously our Services.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future and we remain

with best regards

The GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2014

Our travel agent (Mindy Waltz, Empress Travel, Schenectady, NY) booked this charmer for us and we should be sending her roses! The setting is FAB - we chose a lake side room - the view (the first snow on the lower Alps was the day prior) - was splendid - we even had a balcony with wrought iron table and chairs (and table cloth and cushions tucked in a chest in the room) - There was a chandelier, FAB bathroom, comfy bed, lots of storage (a rarity on this budget minded European trip) - we were "off season" so the value was incredible and the rate included full served breakfast each morning. On the day that we were leaving on an early train for our plane in Zurich, our usual breakfast server had "take away" ready for us including chocolate, sandwiches, bottles of water, fruit and yoghurt! The location is wonderful. A public bus stop is right is across the street from the marque. There are several restaurants in the building. We loved eating in the elegant and cozy bar where a piano player entertained nightly.

Room Tip: Lake side is a bit more but sooooo worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanneWes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis B, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2014

Dear JoanneWes,

First of all we want to thank you for choosing the GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL during your round trip through Europe and we thank you very much for the warm and charming words you found for us.

It is a great pleasure to hear that all services of the hotel, the rooms, the reception, the bar and restaurants and also the location next to the lake of Lucerne met your expectations.
We are always keen to provide the best service to every guest and making our Hotel his home for the time being with us.

By reading your review we are sure that you felt very welcome and home during your stay and we would be more than happy to welcome you back in the future to the GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL.

Kind regards

The GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.9 km away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 67 in Lucerne
1,126 reviews
0.4 km away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 67 in Lucerne
1,025 reviews
1.0 km away
The Hotel Lucerne, Autograph Collection
0.9 km away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel National? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel National

Address: Haldenstrasse 4, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#14 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#15 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: RM1,042 - RM1,999 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel National 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We endeavour to cater to your every wish by offering sophisticated, personalised service and a sense of hospitality embodied by every member of the hotel staff.The blend of tradition and modernity in our hotel is beyond compare. Inside, the legendary names of the founding fathers, César Ritz and Auguste Escoffier, the elegant neo-renaissance and new baroque architecture and a history stretching back almost 150 years come face to face with contemporary design and sophisticated flair.Our Grand Hotel has it all: luxury accommodation for the most fabulous holidays, the ideal place for social occasions, a springboard for travelling, a gourmet destination, an environment for inspirational events, a mirror of the world... and within our four walls, a lively, very welcoming microcosm.Indulge yourself in Lucerne! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel National reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing