We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$187
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$140
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$261
US$180
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$226/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$352
US$290
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$344/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$129
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$163/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$241
US$207
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
US$215
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Free cancellation until 23/07
US$299
US$267
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$180
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
US$414
US$399
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (486)
Filter reviews
486 results
Traveller rating
294
105
44
28
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
294
105
44
28
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake lucernejunior suitestunning hotelhuge rooma city view roomold towntrain stationstar servicebalcony overlooking the lakeperfect locationtravel agentsitting areafree upgradeour honeymoonlovely cityhighly recommend this hotellovely room
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 486 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2017

This hotel is great all around. It is in a perfect location that looks onto the lake, just gorgeous. It is near things to do and places to eat. It is maybe 15 minutes to the train station, and that was with us walking slowly and enjoying the city and water. The room we had was also wonderful. Very spacious, nice bed and big sitting area. The big bathroom was spotless and had very nice toiletries provided.
We enjoyed opening up the windows and enjoying the warm weather. The lake is beautiful out of the lake view room and changes with the time of day-morning/noon/evening.
I hope we get a chance to return here someday. We will stay again.

Room Tip: Our lake view room was worth it!
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 711bingo711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHNGuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Dear 711bingo711

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

Reading your outstanding comments gives us tremendous pleasure and we will gladly share your glowing praise with our entire team.

Positive feedback always spurs us on to continue looking after our guests with full dedication so as to ensure they enjoy an unforgettable stay with us.

We hope to welcome you to the GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL again in the very near future.

Best regards from “the heart of Switzerland”

Laura Huwyler
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

Great property, awesome location if you want to walk the town. Good in-house restaurants and fairly priced room service breakfast. Helpful staff. Only gripe would be no/poor air conditioning. During hot and humid June the room was too uncomfortable at night especially given how first class the rest of the experience was. Would be 5 stars with better climate control.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bobby_Savoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHNGuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Dear Bobby_Savoy

The whole team of the GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL thanks you very much for your positive feedback. Your overwhelming words about your stay at our hotel are tremendously motivating for us.

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to spend some memorable days in Lucerne.

Also, we thank you very much for your remark regarding the air conditioning and we would like to inform you that all our rooms facing the lake do have air conditioning.

We would be delighted to welcome you again in the future and send you warm regards from the GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL.

Laura Huwyler
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

This a beautiful property on the banks of lake Lucerne. It is a heritage property and along with the Shwizerhoff is amongst the oldest hotels in the city. That said the rooms are nicely done up with a. Very courteous staff. We stayed in a city facing room as the lake facing ones were quite expensive. The room rates don't include breakfast and was the only hotel during our 2 week vacation to this country which didn't offer it. The location is quite good been next to the lake front and walk-in distance of the Blue balls festival (street music festival which happens in July with visiting artists from all over the world), Chappel bridge and the railway station. Restaurants are not too far if you want to explore around. Only criticism of the property are the prices which were a tad higher than I would pay for a property of this type especially with no breakfast. Housekeeping could have been a tad better too as we found broken glass on the carpet (probably from a wine glass which we could no longer find in the room). If you find good rates, I would recommend a stay at this hotel.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ash2501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHNGuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Dear Ash 2501

Thank you very much for staying at the GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL, we were very pleased to welcome you.

We would particularly like to thank you for taking the time to share your honest feedback about your recent stay. Our highest aim is to constantly improve our services, so feedback is always very important to us.

Especially, we thank you very much for the remark regarding the housekeeping, we sincerely apologize for this inconvenience and we assure that this does not meet our standards at all.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in Lucerne and our property.

It would be our great pleasure to welcome you to the GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL again in the near future.

Best regards from the shores of Lake Lucerne

Laura Huwyler
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

I loved this hotel. Great views from our room. Amazing luxury rooms. Great service. If you are in Lucerne I highly recommend checking out this luxury hotel.ask for a lake facing room we you come to get the best experience

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank dmurr68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHNGuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Dear dmurr68

The whole team of the GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL is very grateful for your overwhelming feedback in reference to your recent stay at our hotel.

Your recognition is our best reward and our greatest source of motivation to continue dedicating ourselves to giving our guests an extraordinary stay.

We look forward to welcoming you to the GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL again in the very near future.

Best regards from the city of lights

Laura Huwyler
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

Staying in this hotel was like a fairytale. Right by the lake and blessed with amazing views of Mount Pilatus and Mount Rigi from our balcony. The service was outstanding, and it felt like we were transported back into time with the room decor. Nice thing to see was a list of all the famous people who stayed in the hotel...puts things into perspective.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EROJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHNGuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Dear EROJO

Thank you very much for staying at the GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL and for taking the time to share your outstanding review with us.

Reading your wonderful comments gives us tremendous pleasure and we will gladly share your glowing praise with our entire team.

Your recognition is our best reward and our greatest source of motivation to continue dedicating ourselves to giving our guests an extraordinary stay.

We look forward to welcoming you to the GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL again in the very near future.

Best regards from the city of lights

Laura Huwyler
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews