We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Choice For a View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel National
Ranked #20 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2017

The hotel has an excellent location, next to the lakefront promenade and close to attractions. I highly recommend a Junior Suite with the lake view, on the highest floor possible (to avoid noise at night). My husband and I appreciated the warm greeting from reception and a cheerful phone call to let us know when the room would be ready. Unfortunately breakfast was somewhat boring for the price. I'm not sure I'd recommend the bar either, we found the waiter to be a bit overbearing. That said, if you want a special view in a great location, it's worth checking out this hotel!

Room Tip: Lake view! Worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielGarbrecht, Leiter Front Office at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Dear wholewideworld

Thank you very much for staying at the GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL, we were very pleased to welcome you.

We would particularly like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in Lucerne and especially the nice Empire Junior Suite with its amazing view over the lake.
Furthermore, we would like to thank you very much for your remarks regarding the breakfast.

It would be our great pleasure to welcome you to the GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL again in the near future.

Best regards from the shores of Lake Lucerne

Daniel Garbrecht
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2017

This is very grand hotel adjacent to the lake and within easy walking distance of Lucerne's main tourist attractions.
We had a city view room which was well furnished but was in chronic need of air conditioning. We stayed during a period of unsettled weather where the outside temp was around 20C but the room remained stubbornly hot. It does have some kind of forced air induction system but isn't aircon. Now with a lakeside view you can probably open windows and let some air in but for city side rooms the noise of traffic makes this impractical.
All the staff we dealt with were excellent and the hotel certainly has some good public rooms. However you have to pay an extra CHF25 to use the gym across the road and breakfast is charged at CHF35. We chose to get our breakfast outside in the various cafes for a lot less.

Room Tip: Pay extra for lakeside view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bullfinch6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielGarbrecht, Leiter Front Office at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Dear Bullfinch6

Thank you very much for staying at the GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL, we were very pleased to welcome you.

We would particularly like to thank you for taking the time to share your honest feedback about your recent stay.

Our highest aim is to constantly improve our services, so feedback is always very important to us.

We are delighted to read that you nevertheless enjoyed your stay in our hotel and Lucerne.

It would be our great pleasure to welcome you to the GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL again in the near future.

Best regards from the shores of Lake Lucerne

Daniel Garbrecht
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

This hotel is great all around. It is in a perfect location that looks onto the lake, just gorgeous. It is near things to do and places to eat. It is maybe 15 minutes to the train station, and that was with us walking slowly and enjoying the city and water. The room we had was also wonderful. Very spacious, nice bed and big sitting area. The big bathroom was spotless and had very nice toiletries provided.
We enjoyed opening up the windows and enjoying the warm weather. The lake is beautiful out of the lake view room and changes with the time of day-morning/noon/evening.
I hope we get a chance to return here someday. We will stay again.

Room Tip: Our lake view room was worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 711bingo711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHNGuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Dear 711bingo711

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

Reading your outstanding comments gives us tremendous pleasure and we will gladly share your glowing praise with our entire team.

Positive feedback always spurs us on to continue looking after our guests with full dedication so as to ensure they enjoy an unforgettable stay with us.

We hope to welcome you to the GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL again in the very near future.

Best regards from “the heart of Switzerland”

Laura Huwyler
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

Great property, awesome location if you want to walk the town. Good in-house restaurants and fairly priced room service breakfast. Helpful staff. Only gripe would be no/poor air conditioning. During hot and humid June the room was too uncomfortable at night especially given how first class the rest of the experience was. Would be 5 stars with better climate control.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bobby_Savoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHNGuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Dear Bobby_Savoy

The whole team of the GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL thanks you very much for your positive feedback. Your overwhelming words about your stay at our hotel are tremendously motivating for us.

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to spend some memorable days in Lucerne.

Also, we thank you very much for your remark regarding the air conditioning and we would like to inform you that all our rooms facing the lake do have air conditioning.

We would be delighted to welcome you again in the future and send you warm regards from the GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL.

Laura Huwyler
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

This a beautiful property on the banks of lake Lucerne. It is a heritage property and along with the Shwizerhoff is amongst the oldest hotels in the city. That said the rooms are nicely done up with a. Very courteous staff. We stayed in a city facing room as the lake facing ones were quite expensive. The room rates don't include breakfast and was the only hotel during our 2 week vacation to this country which didn't offer it. The location is quite good been next to the lake front and walk-in distance of the Blue balls festival (street music festival which happens in July with visiting artists from all over the world), Chappel bridge and the railway station. Restaurants are not too far if you want to explore around. Only criticism of the property are the prices which were a tad higher than I would pay for a property of this type especially with no breakfast. Housekeeping could have been a tad better too as we found broken glass on the carpet (probably from a wine glass which we could no longer find in the room). If you find good rates, I would recommend a stay at this hotel.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ash2501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHNGuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Dear Ash 2501

Thank you very much for staying at the GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL, we were very pleased to welcome you.

We would particularly like to thank you for taking the time to share your honest feedback about your recent stay. Our highest aim is to constantly improve our services, so feedback is always very important to us.

Especially, we thank you very much for the remark regarding the housekeeping, we sincerely apologize for this inconvenience and we assure that this does not meet our standards at all.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in Lucerne and our property.

It would be our great pleasure to welcome you to the GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL again in the near future.

Best regards from the shores of Lake Lucerne

Laura Huwyler
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.9 km away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 67 in Lucerne
1,131 reviews
0.4 km away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 67 in Lucerne
1,025 reviews
1.0 km away
The Hotel Lucerne, Autograph Collection
0.9 km away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel National? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel National

Address: Haldenstrasse 4, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#14 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#15 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: RM1,035 - RM1,986 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel National 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We endeavour to cater to your every wish by offering sophisticated, personalised service and a sense of hospitality embodied by every member of the hotel staff.The blend of tradition and modernity in our hotel is beyond compare. Inside, the legendary names of the founding fathers, César Ritz and Auguste Escoffier, the elegant neo-renaissance and new baroque architecture and a history stretching back almost 150 years come face to face with contemporary design and sophisticated flair.Our Grand Hotel has it all: luxury accommodation for the most fabulous holidays, the ideal place for social occasions, a springboard for travelling, a gourmet destination, an environment for inspirational events, a mirror of the world... and within our four walls, a lively, very welcoming microcosm.Indulge yourself in Lucerne! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel National reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing