We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,222)
Filter reviews
1,222 results
Traveller rating
457
526
160
59
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
457
526
160
59
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chapel bridge the river great location train station old town across the bridge balcony room covered bridge city view yogurt no air conditioning small balcony hotel restaurant top floor boiled eggs included breakfast five minute walk
Filter
Updating list...
259 - 264 of 1,222 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

Hotel is located in great spot, close to shops, transportation and sights. Hotel is clean and modern. The staff is beyond friendly, attentive and professional. We especially loved Sarah and Benjamin!!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

Basic Great Value Hotel on the Lake - We stayed on the city side and it was a great location and nice hotel. It is located in the perfect spot to visit Lucerne. Right on the water and in Old Town. You can walk to most any place. Nice. P.S. The restaurant is fantastic. You don't have to go out!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebcnaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

The location is perfect for holiday/vacation travel. Right in the center of Old Town, I don't think you could find a better location.
The building itself is a very old architectural classic that's been completed updated to provide all the modern amenities.
We reserved an upgraded room that faced the river and had a small balcony. The views from our balcony were like a postcard in every direction, absolutely stunning. We highly recommend you spend the additional francs for the same, you won't regret it.

Check-in was quick and easy with their friendly, helpful, multilingual staff.
Beyond the view, the room itself had all the modern amenities that you would expect. The rooms are a little on the small side but you would expect that with the age and location.

We also had dinner at the restaurant which was outstanding.
Breakfast at the same restaurant was good but nothing special.

Be aware that the hotel does not have any parking facilities. We actually parked across the river in an underground parking garage at an office building, the parking charge was 52 francs. We only had a small carry-on size roller bag each, so walking from the car to the hotel was not an issue, but if you don't travel light, this could be a problem.

Overall, a beautiful building in a stunning location with a nice room and an excellent multilingual staff. Could not ask for anything more.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the river with a balcony.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Took my son to Lucerne, which is my favorite city in all Europe. Booked the des Alps based on other reviews and was not disappointed! What a great, safe location just across the river from the train station about a 10-15 minute walk. Also great that it's right across from the chapel bridge. Even if you don't get a room facing the river, being able to eat at the restaurant provides a fantastic view of the bridge and Alps! Room was nice and clean as was the bathroom, and while the shower was small it had great water pressure. The included breakfast was very good and has the usual meats, cheeses, and breads. Also had yogurt and a fruit salad that was great.

For location it's worth the added cost. We had a great stay and would definitely come back!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank moosemanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017

We decided to spoil ourselves and lash out for two nights in the beautiful Hotel des Alpes. We booked a room with a balcony looking over the river and boy I am glad we spent the extra dollars. The view was exceptional. The staff were great. The room was everything we needed, fairly spacious and good bathroom. Breakfast downstairs on a terrace next to the river was outstanding. A definite 5 star experience.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackal8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews