We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$207
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$206
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$193
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$129
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$263
US$243
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$533
US$319
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$344
US$270
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (446)
Filter reviews
446 results
Traveller rating
16
64
109
97
160
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
64
109
97
160
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
194 - 199 of 446 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2012

The worst accommodations I have ever seen. Please stay away. I'm going to kill my travel agent when I get home. She vouched for this sh.thole.
Pros:
1. Lucerne is beautiful. The hotel is near the beautiful areas.
Cons:
1. Staff is either oblivious or mean spirited.
2. The room was stiflingly hot. No AC. No fans. The only source of non heat was the cold water from the bathroom.
3. We stayed two nights. Both nights were very loud.
4. Bathroom had black mold.
5. Bathroom is a box in the corner. Very small.
6. Breakfast is ok, but some of the meat had turned.

I could go on, but please don't give these people money. I beg you. Humans should not have to stay in these conditions. I am ashamed that I stayed at this place.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank JourneyFail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Stayed here as part of a Contiki tour. Although everything was very basic the rooms were fairly decent; the beds were comfortable, the bathroom was clean. The maintenance of the jail feel is very real and at times eerie. However there were a couple of drawbacks; our shower was across the hall, the towels were quite small and no lift meant walking up 3 flights of stairs with our bags.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beck93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

It was a jail and it is one. It CAN NOT be called a hotel. Not even a hostel.
1)Rooms are claustrophobic, Hardly any ventilation or light.
2)Only one yellow light bulb adds more to the nightmarish experience
3)No lift- You have to drag all your baggage upto the 3rd floor.
4)No double beds but hostel like beds one on top of the other.
5)No WiFi in the room and with no lift you have to do up and down from reception to your room to access it.
6)No intercom. Even for small doubts you have to go down in the reception.
7)There is nothing called a room service. There was no soap kept in the bathroom, we informed the reception and nobody came up to deliver it. Had to go again to get it.
8)No common microwave even to heat your food.
9)Breakfast has limited options.

All in all, there wasn't a single good point about this hotel. Terribly bad experience.

Room Tip: Only go with your friends. NEVER with family.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kuldip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We recently stayed at the jail hotel with our contiki group the only positive about this hotel is its location. There are no lifts, have to carry your bags up 3 flights of stairs. Rooms are very cramped and unclean. No fan and one small window in the room which has very poor ventilation. Shower so full of hair/rubbish it doesn't drain when you try and have a shower. Soap scum all aroud the bathroom. Tattered bath towel the size of hand towels and the rooms weren't cleaned during our stay and towels weren't replaced. Beds and pillows very uncomfortable wouldnt be surprised if they were from the original jail! Says there's free wifi but you can't access it in your room. Very noisy overnight as nightclub is right next to the hotel. Breakfast basic (cereal or bread and spread). Dinners we had there which we're included in our tour were disgusting , vegetarians on our group were served boiled rice and tomato sauce one night while we had boiled rice and a small piece of chicken.
Overall horrible experience. Lucerne is expensive but it is worth paying a bit extra to avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Akpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel in my contiki tour. Great hotel to spend a short period of time. Hotel was clean and the beds were actually very comfortable. Very close walking distance to shops and nightlife. I would highly recommend a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ericb4206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews