We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic all round! ”
Review of Restaurant Olivo

Restaurant Olivo
Ranked #8 of 414 Restaurants in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$121
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, View, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: With its impressive views from the large lakeside terrace and its stylish interior Restaurant Olivo is as rewarding as a short break away, whatever the weather. At lunchtime and dinner Chef Hugues Blanchard and his team serve culinary delights inspired by the Mediterranean's light and varied cuisine. The menu features Mediterranean classics with an innovative touch as well as new creations to delight the palate.The wine list is also full of surprises. Besides the finest vintages from the established wine regions around the Mediterranean it also comprises specialities from lesser known regions.
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

Booked the restaurant Olivo to celebrate fiancee's birthday on trip to Lucerne in March 2017. Reserved online, prompt confirmation. Location is great, 1st floor of Grand Casino with terrace overlooking Lake Lucerne. Staff were lovely, spoke very good English despite their modesty. Had decorated table with Birthday confetti which my partner loved. Restaurant is lovely and elegant with large chandeliers. Ordered 4 courses from the Winter Parade menu each. Complimentary salmon and basil canapé was very nice. Scallops on bulgar salad with seaweed we both loved, very complimentary flavours. I had red mullet and partner the langoustine ravioli which were both fantastic. Star of the night was the fillet of bison, which we both had accompanied by an excellent Bordeaux, the meat was exceptionally tender and literally melted in the mouth, one of the best meat dishes we've ever tasted. We ended with the meringue and Brie deserts, the staff put a firework candle on my fiancee's and sang happy birthday to make her feel special. Food quality was equivalent to Michelin star I've had previously and the service was exceptional. Only downside was the bill, but was expecting expensive in Switzerland. Highly recommend this restaurant for a romantic evening, special occasion or gastronomic experience.

1  Thank Darryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Casino L, Costumer Service at Restaurant Olivo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

Dear Darryl W,
thank you very much for your positive feedback. We're happy to hear you and your fiancee enjoyed a happy birthday at our house. If you stay in Switzerland again, we would love to welcome you again.
All the best,
Luzia – Restaurant Olivo TripAdvisor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2017

We walked by the restaurant and almost did not eat here because it looked too upscale. We wanted something good and fun, this place had white table clothes and looked like a couples (DATE) location. I am glad we decided to stay and eat here! We had the scallops atop of salmon…it was incredible.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017

I spent new year's eve in this restaurant with my boyfriend and another couple of friends. the first impression, when you are welcomed, is that you are in a royal palace and the staff really give you the white-glove treatment. the food is high quality and good looking. I really enjoyed this evening and hope to come back soon. my compliments!

Thank LillyLuna000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Casino L, costumer service at Restaurant Olivo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2017

Dear LillyLuna000,
thank you very much for your positive feedback. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your new year's eve and are looking forward to welcome you again.
All the best,
Luzia – Restaurant Olivo TripAdvisor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Dropped by at lunchtime and booked a table for the evening. Wonderful friendly and attentive staff. Very good food, beautifully presented especially desserts. Throughly enjoyed our evening and thank you Lara for speaking such perfect English. Thank you.

Thank DJBHol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Casino L, Customer Service at Restaurant Olivo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Dear DJBHol,

thank you very much for your positive review. We're happy to share your feedback with our kitchen and service team, especially with Lara, and and are looking forward to welcome you again.

All the best,
Katharina – Restaurant Olivo TripAdvisor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016

We booked this restaurant months in advance for our Silver Wedding anniversary dinner, and it did not disappoint. Wow, what a superb evening! The food was divine, and our waitress Stephanie was wonderful.

Be aware, it is not a cheap experience. However as the old saying goes, you 'get what you pay for'. We had a fabulous experience and would highly recommend for a special occasion!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank willywonka09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Casino L, Customer Service at Restaurant Olivo, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2016

Dear willywonka09,

thank you very much for your positive feedback. We're happy you enjoyed your anniversary dinner and are looking forward to welcome you again.

All the best,
Katharina – Restaurant Olivo TripAdvisor Team


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Olivo also viewed

Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 

Been to Restaurant Olivo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing