We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Ambassador
Nearby Hotels
US$135
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Roter Turm(Solothurn)
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Roter Ochsen(Solothurn)(Great Value!)
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$141
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Astoria(Solothurn)
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Baseltor Hotel(Solothurn)
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
13
24
24
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
24
24
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrailway stationold townreceptioncityswitzerland
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

My friends and I were pleased with really comfy beds with en suite bathrooms. We had a kettle for a complimentary cup of tea which we considered a welcome luxury. Very helpful staff. We also had bike storage for the four of us. Our regular great European breakfast. A good choice.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seniorgirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for a business trip. The location is great, close to center and with parking before door (limited capacity). The rooms are clean but need little paint. From the hotel you walk in couple of minutes to the restaurants on the riverside. Breakfast is good with sufficient choice. Price level on Swiss standard.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

I came to Solothurn for business and stayed at the ambassador hotel for 2 weeks.
Although the rooms are small they are comfortable. Expect the bathrooms to be small but useable.
This is an old building like most in Solothurn and has no air conditioning. Which made some days a little uncomfortable as the summer temperatures were insult high for Switzerland.
The staff are very welcoming and friendly. Their English is great as my Swiss German does not exist. Happy for me to check in early after long haul from Adelaide and willing to offer advise where to eat and what to see in leisure time.
Ask reception about discount vouchers for boat trip to Biel.
Would stay again if a return visit happens

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaT1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

This is a cosy, family run place almost just opposite the railway station, and in a small town like Solothurn, this is about as central as you can get. The atmosphere is pleasant, the breakfast is wholesome and there is ample free parking at the rear, which was a main selling point. The downside I felt was that for the facilities on offer, the tariff was still relatively on the higher side.

Room Tip: make sure you go for a drink in the top floor bar at the nearby Ramada...amazing views, with no price premium!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indigo0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Finding the hotel from my train arrival was a piece of cake. Walk out of the station and cross the road.

The whole feel of the hotel is cosy. Cost reception, cosy rooms. Staff were friendly and polite.

My room was basic and very livable. I just needed to sleep in this room and it would be too small for a full day of office working.

A highlight for me was the room key control system. See the picture and enjoy. It gives control of the keys and indication of whom is in and out.

There is internet in the hotel which worked OK for web browsing. I was unable to connect to our office IP telephony system which I think was being blocked by the hotel firewall.

The hotel is convenient to supermarkets where I did some Swiss gift buying ie bulk chocolates.

I would stay at this hotel next time I am in Solothurn.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YingYang66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews