We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Ambassador
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Baseltor Hotel(Solothurn)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roter Turm(Solothurn)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Astoria(Solothurn)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
13
24
24
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
24
24
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrailway stationold townreceptioncityswitzerland
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2017

Don't judge a book by its cover. Rather average entrance/reception, but staff very nice and my room had been renovated, including bathroom, which was absolutely spotless. Continental breakfast was nicely laid out. Very convenient location to old area of the town.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janine103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2016 via mobile

I stayed at the Hotel Ambassador for FIVE weeks earlier this year and found it to be a pleasant experience. My room was comfortable and functional, the bathroom was adequate and a decent size. I would have appreciated a small fridge perhaps as I was staying for such a long time as the kitchen and staffing at weekends is liberal. There is no staff present after midday on Saturday and Sunday. However you are free to come and go as you please. Breakfast is good with enough choice. I did miss the full English though after week 3! The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very close to the train station and bus routes. I found this very useful. The city is very nice with plenty of good restaurants and bars. Also plenty of tourist attractions, museums and landmarks. I stayed during the festival season so this made for some lively evenings.
I would stay again if I was visiting the city in the future and would recommend to friends and colleagues.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank Christopher O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Till G, Inhaber at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2016

Dear Mr. Christopher
It was a big pleasure to have you with us thank you very much for your choise.
We hoppe to see you soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2016

Bed: 8,2
This is quite a good Hotel, but it does not really stand under 4 stars. There is construction work in the reception area, but not one sign excusing the inconvenience or explaining what, why or how long the construction will be. The staff in the reception was very friendly.There are two restaurants side by side in the Hotel, Restaurant Le Pavillon and a Teppanyake Restaurant. Too our surprise, both restaurants were quite good in spite of being side by side and with the same entrance. The service was not very professional, but friendly and the food was quite good. We staid on the seventh flour and I would like to warn people that are over weight or have difficulties with moving around, to double check room facilities in regards to toilet and shower, as the toilet space is very tight and getting into the shower can be difficult as you need to climb into the shower space. One more "Good" architecture that was not thought all the way through

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon Pall H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2016 via mobile

We have been visiting as a family this hotel.
It was clean, they have all the needed elements in the room.
Reception is ok.
Breakfast was ok, nothing special. Coffee could be better and the service a bit more nice.
The staff is helpful when asking for support.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
Thank Sorin972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2015

Small hotel - close to train station, not far from town center and there are often free parking spaces in front of the hotel over night (you have to pay there during the day - after 8 AM). I had a very small single room, No12. Room had everything you need - although it felt a bit mixed together without any straight forward interior design. Water on the room was extremely expensive. Restaurant was totally empty and even though they pride themselves to offer food until late there seemed no one else than the front desk lady around.. They ask you to pay the evening before you check out - which seems a bit strange too.
The only hotel staff, the front desk lady was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good bur really nothing special.
So - all in all quiet decent, but nothing special at all - there are better hotels in and around Solothurn.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank himpelchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews