We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, solved issue with last stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tschuggen Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Arosa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I appreciate the manager got in touch to iron out issues with my last 10-day stay.
I look forward to my upcoming stay.
Small touch no one has mentioned: you can request a foam mattress top - beds in Austria and Germany being extremely firm, this is a definite plus!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fabriceleparc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101tamara, Manager at Tschuggen Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Guest feedback gives us the opportunity to improve our services even further.
Already today we are looking forward to welcome you back to the Tschuggen Grand Hotel and remain at your entire disposal for anything you may need.

Sinverely,
Your Tschuggen Grand Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed a weekend at this very nice hotel early August. The view from the rooms are specatular and we got a nice room right a the corner. What we mostly enjoyed was the Spa and Wellness part. The Spa is large with in and outdoor pool as well a large sauna part. We booked some treatments which where excellent and the staff super friendly.
Great hotel for hiking, relaxing and enjoy the mountains in the summer time...

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Marco R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TschuggenGrandHotel, Manager at Tschuggen Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Dear Marco R,

It is always a pleassure to read positive feedback and hearing that you could fully enjoy the breathtaking view to the mountain tops and the relaxing Bergoase Spa which is truly amazing with its space of 5000m2 and the famous Mario Botta sails which bring natural light into the mountain. Maybe we have the pleassure to host you for our winter season which starts on November 30th 2017 until April 8th 2018.

Together with the entire team I thank you for your comments and send
Warm regards from Arosa

The Tschuggen Grand Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Everything about this hotel resort is exceptional. From the moment you arrive, you can let your worries go and just enjoy the beautiful surroundings. The staff take care of your needs and are extremely attentive.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with The Leading Hotels of the World
Thank temp.europeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TschuggenGrandHotel, Manager at Tschuggen Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you kindly for your review, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and even more so that we were able to take care of your needs so you could enjoy your stay carefree.
We would be delighted to host you in future and rest at your entire disposal for anything you might need
Warm regards
Tschuggen Grand Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

This is an absolutely first class hotel. I can't comment on winter stays, as I was here in warm weather for hiking. The location is perfect for that (hiking) and the environs are extensive and beautiful. The hotel even has its own private lift to get you part-way up the mountain, but trail access is immediately accessible from the hotel. I mention some other highlights:
1. Staff and service -- so friendly and helpful. Courtesy transport to/from the rail station, and excellent, cheerful and courteous help with anything else.
2. Spa -- really excellent playground, especially, I found, after a full day of outdoor activities. (Or just go there if that is your thing.)
3. Dining -- La Vetta is a highlight. Great food and service there. Bar was also a pleasure, with first-class cocktails expertly made.

I was there during one of the hottest periods and perhaps it should be noted that the hotel does not have air conditioning. But it was still comfortable. I wanted it to be cooler at night and the normal rooms don't have good air circulation. This was easily solved by moving to a corner suite that had openings on two sides. I felt that the upgrade was well worth the price.

I don't often contemplate returning to places even the nicest ones, but this is one hotel I would happily visit again.

Room Tip: Corner suite -- consider it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WayneRSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TschuggenGrandHotel, Manager at Tschuggen Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you so very much for having taken the time to write us your experience through trip advisor. We highly appreciate your comments and will pass on your compliments to our staff. Wonderful that you had the opportunity to hike through the beautiful mountains of Arosa and enjoy our Tschuggen Express as well as the Tschuggen Bergoase, our 5000m2 Spa. We would love to welcome you back in our winter months beginning as of November 30th 2017 until April 8th 2018.
With warm regards from Arosa
The Tschuggen Grand Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We stayed at the Tschuggen middle of September for two nights on a weekend get-away.

Check in was friendly and quick. We found our room to be spacious and clean, just as you'd hope for. The safe was standard size (good for wallet and tablet, too small for a laptop). The TV has a good selection of channels (but we did learn that a snow storm can decrease the number of available channels).

Of two dinners, we had one at the Grande Restaurant, and the other room service. Both meals were good, but not great. From a hotel of this class, I expect at least one "wow, this is great" moment, and there were none. The restaurant service was great, very attentive.

The wellness area is very nice, with a good gym, and a nice water area. (We didn't visit the sauna). We went to check out the wellness area shortly after arriving (in our street clothes), and got a slightly hostile welcome. When inquiring at the spa desk whether we should already make appointments for massages, we were told that there's no need (maybe they just wanted our street shoes out of the way). Thus it was rather upsetting to hear later on that there were no more slots available. Overall the impression remains that spa visitors are tolerated rather than welcomed. I did enjoy the workout at the gym, though.

I'm aware that my back might be more sensitive than others, but the bed was too hard. I spent the first night mostly awake with back pains, and the second one sleeping on the couch. Going down for breakfast after such nights, only to be placed between a loud mansplainer and a screaming toddler (with modern parents, read dad staring at his phone, and mom no intention of quieting her boy), was not great.

There's hardly anything to be said against the hotel or its staff. The Tschuggen is well managed, and most of the staff are friendly. Yet I'm leaving with back pains, tired, disappointed for missing out on the foot massage I was looking forward to, and glad to have gotten through breakfast without yelling at other guests to be quiet. I won't be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TschuggenGrandHotel, Manager at Tschuggen Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Dear Simon N,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write us. I have taken your comments to follow up with our Spa team and I appologize profusely that you were not able to book a massage and found the experience not up to your expectations. It is correct that street shoes are not allowed in the pool area of the Spa due to hygiene reasons. In regards to the preference of your matrass we have noted that you prefer a softer matrass which we can provide you with as we have different toppers available which suit all preferences. We would very much like to host you on another occassion in the Tschuggen Grand Hotel and would be delighted if you would contact us directly.

With Warm regards from Arosa
The Tschuggen Grand Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arosa
0.4 km away
Arosa Kulm Hotel & Alpin Spa
0.8 km away
Waldhotel National
Waldhotel National
#1 of 35 in Arosa
378 reviews
0.8 km away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Arosa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.9 km away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#1 of 33 in St. Moritz
549 reviews
36.2 km away
Grand Hotel Kronenhof
Grand Hotel Kronenhof
#1 of 21 in Pontresina
861 reviews
0.5 km away
Home Hotel
Home Hotel
#12 of 35 in Arosa
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tschuggen Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tschuggen Grand Hotel

Address: Tschuggen Grand Hotel | 7050 Arosa, Arosa 7050, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Arosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Arosa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Arosa
#1 Green Hotel in Arosa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Arosa
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Arosa
#3 Spa Hotel in Arosa
Price Range: RM1,424 - RM4,133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tschuggen Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Switzerland's Unique Wellness Hotel Stay with us and experience the breathtaking mountain scenery of Graubunden at its most beautiful. Genuine, heart-felt hospitality accompanies our guests throughout the Grand Hotel. A fond attention to detail reveals itself with understated elegance to the appreciative seasoned traveller. Not to mention one of the most impressive wellness areas in Europe set in a stunning mountain landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Tschuggen Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tschuggen Grand Arosa
Hotel Tschuggen Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing