We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
23
60
25
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
60
25
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cosmos tour tinned fruit stayed nights sized pool minute walk included dinner on site restaurant nearby mountains central heating within walking distance small balcony located close no air conditioning good size bus stop right rail tour staff was very friendly and helpful
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2015

Stayed here 2 nights with tour group and had a single room on 4th floor. Room was small, but very clean and comfortable... was quiet, and slept very well. Some of the others from the tour group had enormous rooms with a huge lounge area .. just for 2. Other singles got bigger rooms. But I enjoyed the cosy atmosphere of the lounges and dining area, hospitable nature and service from staff. Breakfast was filling with cold foods.. usual yoghurt, bread, cheeses, meats, but also small selection of hot foods. Dinners were lovely. It is situated above the town area, with bus stop outside hotel, but is only a 15 min walk down to the large castle-like hotel, where you can get the long elevators down to the train station. (Think ... fabulous trip on the Bernina Express to Italy and back in a day). Really worth walking down to town... fabulous café and outdoor area halfway down is great for a morning coffee/cake !! Although room was on the small side, the great views from the window (I didn't have a balcony) more than made up for it. Can really recommend this hotel for a pleasant stay.

Room tip: Try to get a higher room for the views, or one with a balcony. Some single rooms are bigger than others.
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sjd254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2015

We spent 6 nights at this very comfortable hotel in February.It is very well situated just above the Cresta clubhouse and beside the Bobsleigh run. There is a bus stop right outside which was very convenient for all our trips to places like Sils Maria/Diavolezza/ Muottas Maragl.We had several dinners which were of excellent quality and an outstanding Fondue evening.We would definitely return to this hotel.

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anpatlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2014

Hotel Bären (St Mortiz)
I stayed here in late August of 2014 for two nights while on the Cosmos Alpine Adventure tour. We were told that because we were staying there two nights, a one day pass for all the railroads, busses, gondolas, etc in the area was included. The hotel has a weird mixture of nice rooms with balconies, 4th floor rooms with mountain views and tiny rooms with nothing to see. Mine had a mini-fridge and, amazingly, there is an ice machine on the 4th floor. Wi-fi available in the lobby area. They charge a 5% fee to change money. There are no amenities or coffee. You need a special electrical outlet adapter for Switzerland. The one that works in Germany, Italy, etc doesn’t fit here. There is a Coop market about three blocks to the left as you exit. We were given a brief lecture/orientation to the area and a handy map of all the ski areas. Apparently it’s possible to see four different mountains in one day but it takes very careful planning and stamina. We decided to ‘do’ Diavolezza station and Muottas Muragl. The weather wasn’t ideal but there were a few sun breaks and we did see some spectacular glaciers and peaks.
Back at the hotel, I decided that I would try the Swiss Fondue (I am a Fondue Master). It was a strange experience. Cost was 27 SF (Service for two… you cannot order just a single portion).
I was told I had to sit in a separate dining room because, in the past, some people have objected to the smell! (Nobody ever said that about my fondue.). Anyway, an authentic Swiss fondue in these parts uses a cheese called Appenzeller in addition to the more common Gruyere and Emmentaler. And it’s the Appenzeller which has the bad smell. (I didn’t think it was especially smelly compared to the French soft cheeses.) The bread was a dark wheat/rye and I didn’t like it as much as the sourdough French typically used in America. Thickening was done with flour rather than corn starch. There was way too much pepper! And they brought you a pepper shaker to add more. (Must be a local custom.) Anyway, an interesting but expensive experience..

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dunewatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2014

I have stayed at this hotel every January-Feburay for the past 12 years or so. It is a small hotel with a 4 star restaurant, a small bar and lounge and a staff that remembers your name year after year. The rooms are excellent and come in all sizes. Breakfast is included.

If you are considering a try at the Cresta Run, it's right across the street. The Bobsled Run is next door and the wonderful Klum is just down the street. More important, its quite affordable.

Room tip: The famous Swiss train the Glacier Express, from Chur, is one way to arrive there. In fact it's the best as the train is in itself an engineering marvel winding, corkscrew fashion as it does, through tunnels and across deep chasams across stone bridges. There is no bad room.
Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ByGeorge75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

I was part of a land tour to Europe and stayed a night at this hotel. Clean rooms were provided. Breakfast provided is quite limited. The lift is of the olden type. It is close to the center of the town, about 10 minutes walk. If you do require hotwater, you would need to ask for it at the restaurant on the ground floor. A small supermarket is also nearby so if you require some stuff you can stillbuy it from here.

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank hawkuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews