We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hotel Splendide is Splendid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Splendide Royal
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 26 November 2017

Old-world charm and elegance. The room (deluxe palace) was spacious, comfortable, bed & furniture were comfortable, furnishings were elegant. Loved the separate dressing room with plenty of wardrobe space and a place to put suitcases. Our room had 2 balconies with gorgeous views of the lake and mountains. The bar area offered a delicious, informal lunch and the breakfast selection was of high quality and good variety. The front desk was very helpful with information about side trips, help with free travel on buses and trains, etc. (There is a visit Lugano pass). The free shuttle to/from train station is a lovely bonus and typical of the type of service this hotel offers.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with The Leading Hotels of the World
1  Thank JenniferJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (635)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 635 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2017

My wife and I recently stayed at the Hotel Splendide Royal in Lugano. It is a Belle Epoque masterpiece fronting onto Lake Lugano in the Italian speaking portion of southern Switzerland. The hotel itself is magnificent in an old world way. The staff from the doormen to the front desk, to the bar staff are all super friendly and help make the stay a pleasure. A special mention goes to the magnificent breakfast ad the marvellous lake views while consuming it. "Superb" as an adjective does not do it justice, as it was unforgettable! Do yourself a favour and get a room with lake views, and have Toto Cotugno handy on your ipod. You won't regret it!

Room Tip: Lake view is the way to go,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VicNicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed for two nights, nice and comfortable bed, big room with perfect lake view ( but sadly not perfect weather ). So happy it is a very pet friendly hotel which has special dog menu and dog services, my little dog has very good time here.
Restaurant serves good food, classic imperial interior, nothing to complaint ONLY there is no Kettle for boiling water in the room.

Highly recommend if u stay in Lugano for holiday / business .

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

I stayed overnight for meetings. The hotel was truly lovely. The rooms are traditional and beautifully appointed with big new bathrooms. For a classic hotel there was a very good number of plugs for computers and phones etc. The staff was outstanding, top flight and very, very professional- really some of the best I have seen in Switzerland. My only regret was staying for a long weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ctrgeneva2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

From the moment we were picked up at the airport by hotel staff until we were dropped off at the train station the experience at this hotel was first class! As a member of LHW we had the privilege of being upgraded to a beautiful lakeview suite.The suite in the original building, was sumptuous,comfortable and had a huge terrace to enjoy the wonderful view. Housekeeping was faultless and every day the fresh fruit and bottled water was replenished. Breakfast was as expected with great coffee and the service top notch ,especially from Diego who remembered how we liked our coffee each day! Actually most staff were friendly,knowledgeable and professional with special thanks to Giovanni at reception and the multi tasker Riccardo who addressed me by my name from the onset to the end of our stay. The Splendide is all about class ,style and service..and I would recommend highly to all

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripMember050120171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
2.2 km away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
0.5 km away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#12 of 44 in Lugano
552 reviews
1.1 km away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
0.9 km away
The View Lugano
The View Lugano
#4 of 44 in Lugano
172 reviews
0.8 km away
Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendide Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendide Royal

Address: riva Antonio Caccia 7, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lugano
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
#2 Business Hotel in Lugano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#4 Green Hotel in Lugano
Price Range: RM 1,228 - RM 2,093 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Splendide Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed inside an iconic Belle Epoque palace, the Splendide Royal is a refined hotel with a familiar atmosphere where 19th Century's grace blends with international contemporary flair. A state-of-the-art personilized service is provided by well trained and skilled staff, who quietly ensures the guests a pampering of local experience, through courtesy, dedication and attention to detail. Its tradition of hospitality, attentions and fine dining is valued by royal families, celebrities and famous artists since its opening in 1887. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Splendide Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendide Royal Hotel
Splendide Royal Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing