We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor price / quality ratio”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2017

This is a joke of a 5 star hotel: kitsch decoration, old infrastructure (elevators dating from the 1960's, and I'm being kind, keys and not cards to enter the rooms). The spa is ridiculously small, there is no covered swimming pool, and if you want to go to the gym, you have to cross the street and go to the 4-star hotel that belongs to the same owner. The view on the lake is mostly covered by plants.

The icing on the cake was the cesar salad I ordered at the bar: 34 CHF for a big bowl of iceberg lettuce, a few pieces of chicken, a little bit of cooked egg, big slices of parmiggiano, and some croutons bought in the supermarket). All this seasoned with a very commercial dressing. What happened to the anchovies, the home-made croutons and the romaine lettuce? What about presenting it in a nice dish? When I complained the bar manager was rude and dismissive, using the classic sentence people who know little about customer service use: "we have served many salads and you are the first person to complain".

Very disappointing stay, and a very poor price / quality ratio. I do not plan to go there again, and do would not recommend this hotel to anyone going to Lugano.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sernine01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara_Gibellini, General Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Dear Mr Sernine01,

we are very surprised by your comment that left all of us speechless. As you did not say nothing at the reception during your stay, or to me at the check out time.
We do understand when we are not able to satisfy our guest expectations, and we really appreciate your advise about what we can improve.

But beside this, we do not accept when a guest confirm his being satisfied for waiting to write on Tripadvisor. We invite you to be more transparent in order to give us a chance to demonstrate our professional attitude and service.

I take the time to precise that in our Lobby Bar Menu the Caesar Salad is explicitly defined "our style", as the Chef has chosen his interpretation of the classic receipt. Anyway on the menu the list of ingredients is listed. For your knowledge, please be reassured that all the dressing and ingredients are homely prepared by our Kitchen staff.
Anyway I have taken the occasion to review your note with the bar manager who does express his excuses if he was not able to be empathic or in case he gave the impression to be rude. This was absolutely not the intention.
We all wish you would choose to visit us again in the next future and I will remain at your disposal for more questions or details you would love to share with me.
My best regards

Barbara Gibellini
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 544 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2017

This place didn't make a great first impression on me, but by the end of our 3 nights there, I had warmed up considerably.

To begin, the lobby is underwhelming and dated. Second, the woman with whom we checked in was brusque and cold. Neither of those made for a great welcome. Third, we went to check out the gym in the sister property across the street (no gym in the main hotel), and it is similarly about 20 years behind the times, without any windows and without a functioning water cooler the two days I went to use it.

Fortunately, things improved significantly after that! Our bedrooms were huge (bedroom area, sitting room, big balcony, two walk in closets, big bathroom) and were tastefully decorated in an old world style.

The view from the hotel is one of the most majestic I've seen in my entire life. Plan your days so you can enjoy a sunset drink from the terrace. We loved the live music at night too.

We had dinner at the formal restaurant twice and on the casual terrace once. All three were excellent, though, as is the case in Switzerland, extremely expensive. The sommelier (Gabriel?) was our favorite-- so professional and pleasant.

All interactions with other front desk staff were great. Not sure why we had continual strained bad rapport with that first one. I don't think we were difficult customers!

One other thought-- Switzerland is known for its amazing chocolate. I would have thought that if any hotel would put a chocolate on your pillow at night, it would be a Relais & Chateaux in Switzerland, but there weren't any treats (though the daily water bottles were nice and I suppose better for one's waistline!).

If we come back to Lugano, I'd certainly come back for dinner/an evening on that terrace.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HKH1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara_Gibellini, General Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Dear Guest HKH1987

First of all we do thank you heart-fully for your very details and positive review.
Gabriele and the Restaurant and Bar Staff are very pleased with your comment as well as Mr Dario Ranza, our executive chef who takes care of our gastronomic offer since 26 years with unchanged high quality and deliciousness.

I am upset that there was no empathic relationship at the check in time. And we have discussed with all the staff in order to avoid it from eventually happen again.
For us it's a must to welcome all our guests with a natural big smile and let them feel like at home.

I wish I will have the chance to demonstrate it to you in the next future
My best regards
Barbara Gibellini,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

Very elegant, great service, very traditional. Old fashioned and classy charm. Part of the Relaix-Chateaux Chain, lives up to the expectations. Easy to reach by car - also has chauffeur services if needed.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Beatrice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara_Gibellini, General Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Dear Beatrice,

for all of us Christmas time is a very intense working period, but since I am working in Villa Principe Leopoldo, it's also a very suggestive day! It's such a emotioning pleasure to take care of our very special guest choosing to spend that festive time with us!

We also would love to thank you for your review!
looking forward to welcome you back in Lugano !
Barbara Gibellini,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

A friend of mine suggested this hotel and we were not disappointed. I am heavily pregnant and have a toddler and so my needs were pretty specific - all of which were accommodated by the top class service team at the hotel. There is lots to like about the hotel. The location, the majestic views, the beautifully appointed rooms, the terrace dining - but what sets it apart is its service. Nothing was too much trouble. My toddler fell and grazed his knee and - unasked - I was flanked by a whole team bringing gauze and disinfectants and anything they could think of to help. That doesn't happen just anywhere. I would be cautious of the food bill though. If you are happy to go into town (5 minutes away by shuttle) then you can choose your budget. A special thank you to Barbara for making our stay so welcoming.

Room Tip: The middle rooms have lovely lake views even for partial view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Davina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara_Gibellini, General Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Dear Mrs Davina,

there is no words to express you how grateful and happy we are with your review ! but more than this we were very happy to have you staying with us!
We wish to welcome you back in Lugano, with your wonderful family!

Barbara Gibellini
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

I stayed again in this hotel, cleanliness and maintenance very poor, reception not up to expectations they do not speak English at front desk and they are kind of arrogant. I stayed several times, innovation is an unknown word for this hotel, i do not recommend there are better options in town.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the Villa too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara_Gibellini, General Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Dear Charlie B,

we are very upset for your review.

Please refer to me for giving more details about what was not satisfying your expectations, writing to barbara.gibellini@leopoldohotel.com
I would be very pleased to welcome you in the next future and discuss about what we can improve with a tasting coffee on our wonderful terrace

My best regards
Barbara Gibellini
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lugano
2.7 km away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
2.2 km away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
0.5 km away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#3 of 45 in Lugano
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
4.9 km away
Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa
1.1 km away
The View Lugano
The View Lugano
#4 of 45 in Lugano
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Principe Leopoldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Principe Leopoldo

Address: via Montalbano 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Lugano
#4 Spa Hotel in Lugano
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#5 Business Hotel in Lugano
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range: RM1,234 - RM2,122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Principe Leopoldo 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated high above the Bay of Lugano this exceptional boutique hotel offers first-class suites and rooms. The tastefully arranged spacious rooms, the terraces with breathtaking views, two heated outdoor pools, tennis courts and a wide range of facilities leave nothing to be desired. Neither does the exquisite Mediterranean cuisine of Dario Ranza, served in the light-flooded restaurants. Jewel of the hotel is Kiso: a heavenly, exclusive Spa offering unadulterated luxury, privacy and exclusive treatments. Nothing else to be desired - a truly royal feeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Principe Leopoldo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Principe Leopoldo Hotel And Spa
Hotel Principe Leopoldo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing