We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$262
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$369
US$322
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$338
US$273
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$140
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$98
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$253
US$225
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$92
US$85
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
261 results
Traveller rating
152
96
11
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
152
96
11
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmodern hotelnespresso machineminute walkglass wallfresh orange juiceleisure tripbreakfast waitresscomfort zonenice hotel to staynice roomtourist areadecent breakfastgreat hotelby european standardschecking outthe breakfast areatrain station
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 261 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2017

Stayed at this hotel for a conference in the Lugano Conference Centre. It was very well located, close the the university and walking distance to the main town centre, conference centre and all the restaurants. It is in a quiet area. The rooms are very quiet, beautifully modern and clean. Bed comfortable. The staff was all very friendly. The breakfast was excellent every morning. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MelG1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariawolff, Hotel City Lugano Team at Hotel City Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear MelG1234
Thank you very much for choosing the hotel City Lugano and for your review about your stay.
Your feedback is very important for us!
We hope to welcome you soon again.
Best Regards
Hotel City Lugano Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

A very modern and clean hotel. This hotel is well located in Lugano....its a 20 minute walk to the city center...close to a mini mart and accessible to public transportation...the rooms are very confortable and pleasantly decorated ....large shower...soft pillows...and free wi-fi...if you are in the area i do recommend this hotel for a pleasant stay..

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariawolff, Hotel City Lugano Team at Hotel City Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Dear Sal C
Thank you very much for your review about the Hotel City Lugano.
We will be very pleased to welcome you back again.
Kind Regards
Hotel City Lugano Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Perfect spacious room, well designed for comfort and functionality, high speed internet connection, comfortable bed and pillows, see through bathroom (well that's not always a plus), complimentary minibar and à volonté Nespresso capsules and tea at the floor corridor. Easy to use business amenities (fax, copy machine, printer) and if you get lucky free parking.

The staff was very polite and professional and the breakfast buffet was more than adequate.
Location wise the hotel is outside the tourist area, which is good and only 12' walking distance from the city centre and 15'' from the lake.
Very value for money, compared to Lugano and Switzerland in general.
There is no room service but who cares ? I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PanayisT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariawolff, Hotel City Lugano Team at Hotel City Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Dear PanayisT
Thank you very much for staying with us. We appreciate your positive feedback!
We will be very pleased to welcome you back at the Hotel City Lugano.
Kind regards
Hotel City Lugano Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

Hotel City is a great choice in every way: the staff is very friendly and helpful, the rooms are quite spacious and clean, the beds are comfortable and in general the hotel is upkept well. The hotel is located 5 min drive from the train station and 15 min walk from the lake. I can't think of anything negative to say. It's an ideal choice for someone who's looking for a basic, nice hotel to stay at, for longer term visits as well.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank BSopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariawolff, Hotel City Lugano Team at Hotel City Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear BSopo
Thank you very much for your review about our hotel.
It is a pleasure to read, that you enjoyed your stay here.
We will be very pleased to welcome you again to the hotel City Lugano.
Best Regards
Hotel City Lugano Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

I have stayed here numerous times since they opened a few years ago, and I'm generally happy with it. Staff are professional, helpful and friendly. The rooms are modern and comfortable by Swiss standards. The location is ok for me because of work, but it's not a very touristy location (but the city centre isn't far).
My only gripe with this hotel is their towels! They only provide you with one tiny little shower towel that is as small as a handkerchief. I always forget to ask for more when I check in, and so every morning I start the day cursing that silly little towel. Luckily, one of the breakfasts ladies (who's been there since they opened) is so lovely and smiley that her kindness makes you forget the lousy shower you just had and kickstarts the day on a fairly good note. The hotel should give her a rise and get some more/bigger towels.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Therooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariawolff, Direttore at Hotel City Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear Sir,

we thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor, and we are very happy to hear that you have stayed at the Hotel City Lugano numerous time and that you are happy with our service.
We are sorry that you did not tell us before that you would like to have bigger towels. We always try to give our customers what they want according to their needs, but we need this to be communicated to us.
We would be very happy to meet your request for your next stay with us.
We kindly ask you to write us a personal mail, so that we can add in our system your special wishes.
Awaiting to welcoming you again in our hotel City Lugano, we remain
Your sincerely

Maria Wolff
Manager
Hotel City Lugano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews