We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive for what they offer.”
Review of Hotel Glockenhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Glockenhof
Ranked #21 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2017

For a bit more of their average rate you can stay in a much better place. The location was in the busy center of ton far from the lake but close to the train station. rooms where big but there was no gym. I paid 360 use and i thought it was to much compared to other places in Zurich so i moved to a better nicer location.

Room Tip: Some have nice patio views and are more quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AlbertoMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelier03, General Manager at Hotel Glockenhof, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Dear guest

Thank you for completing the review regarding your recent stay with us at our property. I am sorry that you feel our hotel does not represent « enough value for money » and that our city centre location , which is about half way between the main station and lake, did not meet you expectations. Hopefully, besides the Location issue, you had a pleasant stay.

Matthias Sutter, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (485)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Glockenhof
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 485 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

Recently stayed at Hotel Glockenhof for 3 nights with our adult daughter. Excellent location - about a 10 minute easy walk from Zurich HB central train station. Don't bother setting up transportation or taking a taxi from the airport. Ticketing machines at airport train station were easy to find, signage was good and tickets for two were 13.30 CHF! Can't beat it! Hotel Glockenhof gave us a lovely room, wonderful mattress, pillows and duvet made for good sleeping. Terrific location for shopping on Bahnhofstrasse and exploring Alstadt (Old Town). Best breakfast you will find- including eggs, rosti, bacon, fruit, yogurt, croissants, ham, smoked fish, butter, juices, coffee... great way to start the day! And upon check in we were give a voucher for a free drink in their bar - GloggeEgge! Hotel Glockenhof also has a lovely courtyard which provides a peaceful respite after a long day of touring. Front desk staff was attentive and offered excellent recommendations for dinners in the city. Will definitely be back!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank timetraveler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelier03, General Manager at Hotel Glockenhof, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Dear guest

Thank you for your lovely review and the 5 star score you gave us. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you soon again.

Matthias Sutter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

It had all the ingredients of a successful boutique hotel. Well located within walking distance of the tram station or even the Zurich main train station. In a fancy shopping district. Check in was smooth, the front office staff were very courteous. The room itself was not bad - we were in 224 - big enough for our two boys and is adults. Good spread at breakfast. The only reason they missed an extra star is because service for special orders at breakfast took forever and were always not to specifications. And please don't blame it on language.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Robinder S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelier03, General Manager at Hotel Glockenhof, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Dear guest

Thank you for your kind comments and for taking time to give us some feedback.
I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcoming you back in the future.

Matthias Sutter, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

Had a great stay here, staff are friendly an warm. The room was impeccable and had great customer service.
I would recommend this place to anyone, a little pricey but that's a Zurich thing.
My favourite part was the greeting by any staff member no matter what they were doing.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isthat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelier03, General Manager at Hotel Glockenhof, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Dear guest
Thank you for your lovely review and the 5 star score you gave us. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you soon again.

Matthias Sutter, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

Walking distance to most attractions and the train station. Right across the street you can find the Hiltl restaurant, a staple for vegetarian food. Rooms were clean and properly serviced. Included breakfast offered plenty of quality choices (think proper crisp european style croissants vs american soggy version). Beware of hidden city tourist tax, which you would find only at checkout. Might worth asking what one gets in return, as every touristic activity is crazy expensive in Switzerland.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kakaraky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelier03, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Glockenhof, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2017

Dear guest

Thank you very for your comprehensive review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and that everything met your needs. It is clearly stated on the confirmation that there will be a city tax of CHF 2.50 per person/night which is a tax to support Zurich Tourism as a non-profit organisation.
We hope to have an opportunity of hosting you again soon.

Matthias Sutter, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel St. Gotthard
#30 of 138 in Zurich
980 reviews
Enge
Hotel Glaernischhof
Hotel Glaernischhof
#12 of 138 in Zurich
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#11 of 138 in Zurich
881 reviews
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#6 of 138 in Zurich
490 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#4 of 138 in Zurich
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Glockenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Glockenhof

Address: Sihlstrasse 31, Zurich 8001, Switzerland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Glockenhof)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Zurich
#15 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#19 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#36 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: RM1,119 - RM2,002 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Glockenhof 4.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Glockenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western zürich
Best Western Zurich
zürich Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing