We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$170
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$175/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$149
US$125
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$148/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

ibis Zurich City West(Zurich)(Great Value!)
US$135
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Bristol Hotel Zurich(Zurich)(Great Value!)
US$175
US$165
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$183/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Swissotel Zurich(Zurich)
US$195
US$174
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$285
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Alexander(Zurich)
US$225
US$179
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$144
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Mercure Stoller Zurich(Zurich)(Great Value!)
US$116
Mercure
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$115
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (436)
Filter reviews
436 results
Traveller rating
204
186
32
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
204
186
32
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstram stoprestaurants and shopssingle roomcold meatscity centrerooms are spaciousclose to the hotelstar hotelswiss standardshotel rooman expensive cityfree wifinice stayzurich hbbusiness tripenjoyed my stayrailway station
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 436 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Good room with decent space. Provides free breakfast with good options. Water kettle is also available in the room. Train station, tram stop are nearby. Airport is also not far away, it would take 20 mins approx by taxi. Free wifi. Restaurants and shops are easily accessible.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank vinay_galactus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sternenoerlikon, Geschäftsführer at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear vinay_galactus
Thank you very much for your great comment and feedback. It was a pleasure to welcome you in our hotel! We hope, that we will be able to welcome you back very soon.
Until then, we wish you all the best and send you warm regards
Regula Bürgin, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

This hotel is nothing to look at from the exterior but the interior is very contemporary. I liked the underfloor heating in the bathroom and that there is sufficient room for storage of toiletries, the shower was powerful. The room is a good size and has good storage facilities, ours faced the street which was quite noisy first thing in the morning. There is an external shutter to keep the light out though. The hotel offers good facilities and choices in terms of bedding and pillows. Breakfast choices were good and regularly replenished, daily newspapers were provided along with a weather forecast for the day. It's a half hour walk into Zurich although along a main road so not a lot to see on route. The train station is within easy walking distance and there is a tram stop just across the road, it takes around five minutes by train to Zurich. We did not use the restaurant next door. Staff are polite and pleasant with excellent command of English. A good hotel to use as a base for visiting Zurich.

Stayed: March 2018
1  Thank DawnyStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sternenoerlikon, Geschäftsführer at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear DawnyStar
Thank you very much for your stay in our hotel and the time you have dedicated to inform us about your stay. It is a great pleasure to hear, that you have liked you stay with us. In general we do not recommend to walk downtown, since there is really nothing exciting to see on the way. Therefore, we suggest to take public transportation to the city center, as there is plenty to see. All public transportation options (tram or train) are withing walking distance to our hotel.
We hope, that we will be able to welcome you back soon. Until then, we wish you all the best.
Best regards
Regula Bürgin, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018

I stayed overnight due to a 15 hour layover flight. The hotel is a boutique property in a semi residential/commercial area within a short walk to the Oerlikon train station or the tram. I took a cab from the airport which I would not recommend at CHF 40 (>USD$40) for a less than 5 mile ride. The train station is one stop from the airport and approx CHF 7. The hotel room was just the right size for comfort and although my room was street facing, it was very quiet. The restaurant was also great—perfect selection of app and entree options at a reasonable price. I took advantage of the opportunity to walk the neighborhood the next day and only wish i’d Had more time to wander. The hotel was perfect and I would absolutely stay there again if my travels bring me back to Zurich.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
Thank Nitra315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sternenoerlikon, Geschäftsführer at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Dear Nitra315
Thank you very much for staying with us and the time you have dedicated to inform us about your stay. We highly appreciate your feedback and are very happy to hear, that you have liked your stay with us.
It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back soon.
Best regards
Regula Bürgin, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2018

Very nice room, prices affordable, close to the Oerlikon railway station in Zurich, only one trainstop away from the airport. Warning: this is not the center of Zurich but on the outskirts. If you want to visit Zurich itself you may want to consider a hotel in the city center of Zurich.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sternenoerlikon, Geschäftsführer at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2018

Dear Kim M
Thank you very much for staying with us and the time you have dedicated to inform us about your stay. It was a great pleasure to welcome you and we are very happy to hear, that you have liked your stay.
We hope, that we will be able to welcome you back soon.
Best regards
Regula Bürgin, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018

The hotel is very accessible and easy to locate. The staff is also pretty friendly. The rooms (at least the one I was in) are a bit dark in the evenings. I felt the lighting could be better. One big disappointment for me was that I could see human hair on the comforter indicating that they tend to reuse the sheets and covers.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Venkat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sternenoerlikon, Geschäftsführer at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Dear Venkat G
Thank you very much for your stay with us and the time you have dedicated to inform us about your stay. Thank you for your input concering the lighting. So far, we have never received this information and are glad to get this input. We appologize for the hair you have found on the comforter. Of course, this should not happen. However, we would like to point out, that of course we do not reuse sheets and couvers! They get cleaned after every guests has checked out. In case this happens, please inform the housekeeping or reception staff and they are more than happy to exchange the sheets. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back soon.
Best regards
Regula Bürgin, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews