We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room was a shocker.”
Review of Walhalla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Walhalla Hotel
Ranked #41 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Firstly the pro's about this hotel - and there are plenty of them. It is incredibly convenient to the main Zurich station and getting to and from the airport is an absolute breeze. Trains leave every few minutes and it's a mere 100 meters to the nearest platform. There's a nice selection of restaurants in the near vicinity, a Starbucks underneath and the town center is only a short and pleasant riverside walk away. The included breakfasts are substantial and varied and the staff helpful and friendly.
However, the room we were given was abysmal! Probably one of the worst I've ever reviewed. It was room 511 and, aside from being tiny, was situated in the middle of the hotel with a "view" of the hotels superstructure. Extra light was provided by a skylight which couldn't be closed (despite a 5am sunrise) and to top it off the lift shaft ran right alongside - yeehah!
Fortunately we were able to change rooms the next day but I cant help being cheesed off about having to complain.This room should only be allotted as a last resort and at a reduced rate. We had booked 7mths previously through Booking.com and do wonder if the 'free cancellation' clause influences the hotels allocation. We had a similar disappointment with an earlier booking in Beijing after using Booking.com's free cancellation service.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 511
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (728)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 34 of 728 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2017

This hotel/guest house was not expensive. We were very comfortable for our 2 night stay.
The hotel was next to the railway station and within walking distance of all the fablous sights of Zurich. Very near the river.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheryljohn33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

It's a great location! 400m from Zurich HB! Tram station is just 1min. However, room is quite small and shower room seems to suit only for tiny people. There is no fridge. I would expect to have a fridge for this price. air con is great . no smoke of sigaretta.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank someonelikeblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

I spent a few days in the Walhalla Hotel so I have a good sense of the place. Unfortunately, it was unusually hot in Zurich at the time and the hotel is not air conditioned. It took me a few days to perfect the use of the fan in the room and opening the window after the sun went down. I found the street noise to be low compared to any other city I have been in and it was not a problem.
The room was small, but very comfortable. Likewise, the bathroom was small but very efficiently designed. The breakfasts were very good, and the staff was very friendly.
If the weather were a little cooler, I would give the hotel an excellent rating. I would definitely stay there again. The location by the tram stop and the railroad station is great.

Room Tip: Rooms on high floors on the back side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MercuryChase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

Was sent to the GuestHouse, a block away without asking or being told, watch-out when booking. Room 602 on the ground floor distant from the next building only by a few meters...The carpet in the room is old and used so very dirty with lots of smudges all around. The bathroom in the room is a kit plastic based bathroom where you can barely fit alone, let alone if your are a couple. and the whole thing with tax costs 199 CHF....A part from being convenient because next to the HB station and Trams 4,13 and 17, its' very poor as a value proposition.

Room Tip: Visit the room before
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Frederic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel Montana
#44 of 138 in Zurich
968 reviews
Gewerbeschule
Walhalla Guest House
Walhalla Guest House
#110 of 138 in Zurich
100 reviews
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#39 of 138 in Zurich
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leoneck Swiss Hotel
#35 of 138 in Zurich
650 reviews
Hotel St. Gotthard
#28 of 138 in Zurich
1,042 reviews
Hotel Alexander
#54 of 138 in Zurich
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walhalla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walhalla Hotel

Address: Limmatstrasse 5, Zurich 8005, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Zurich
#29 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: RM639 - RM1,040 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Walhalla Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our central location in the heart of Zurich, just a few steps from the main station, we offer the ideal location for you to do business or spend the weekend in Zurich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion and Booking.com so you can book your Walhalla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walhalla Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing