We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sofitel Legend Amsterdam”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Ranked #14 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Very poor in every respect, bar closed early, barman had to look up how to make a cocktail, cold water in the shower, TV that didn't work - (I could do on). If you take advantage of one of the special offers you can expect a second rate service, a noisey room and staff who really don't want you to return.

Room Tip: Higher floor will have less noise.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Dear Guest, your feedback is of utmost importance to us and we would like to thank you for sharing your experiences on TripAdvisor. We would like to express our sincerest apologies fort the fact that your experiences did not reflect the high expectations that you so rightfully hold. Your comments are of great value to us and therefore, we would like to invite you to contact us directly via H2783-GR@sofitel.com with your telephone number as we hope to have the opportunity to personally further discuss these matters with you. We hope to have the honor to welcome you back to The Grand so that we may prove ourselves a better host. Sincerely, the Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,618)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,444 - 1,448 of 2,621 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2012

This is the second time that I have stayed at this hotel. I did not write a review last time because it was in the midst of its rnovation and the issues that there were with my stay I was confident were as a result of the upheaval, I was right with a couple of exceptions

Wonderful welcom all the 5* treatment that you would expect.... even wonderful cakes to tempt you whilst you check in.

My husband and I stayed in a standard double room and my two elder sons in a twin room. Ours overlooked the central area and theirs the canal. The rooms were contemporary and stylishly decorated. Quite small but not too cramped. We only stayed one night perhaps if you were staying longer a larger room would be better. The bathroom was well equipped with a fantastic shower (I have a bee in my bonnet about poor showers). The room was a little noisy in the late evening as it overlooked the central atrium area (as do lots of the rooms in the hotel) and that is the area that the smokers from the bar escape to; we were on the 3rd floor so perhaps this is a common issue and worth asking for a room elsewhere. My sons twin room was also on the 3rd floor and they had no noise issues.

We didn’t eat a full dinner in the hotel but went out for the evening to a football match but when we came back we had a selection of cheese from and a glass of wine. The restaurant was busy and vibrant and very enjoyable. The decor was very modern and fashionable. It is clearly a dinner venue for people not resident in the hotel and doesnt have that the "hotel" atmosphere that I had expected.

The staff were attentive and pleasant and the cheese selection was fantastic as was the choice of wine by the glass..... There was also quite a large bar area adjacent to the restaurant that added to the atmosphere.

Breakfast the following day was a disappointment. Very poor selection of hot food and wheat there was came cold and had to be sent back. It was also exceptionally expensive as we had not included it in our room rate... big mistake.

Location is fantastic for everything and doormen are happy to point you in the right direction of things to see and do... All in All good hotel, certainly the best in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: I would try to go for a high floor to reduce the noise levels....
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HillyRadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Dear Guest, thank you for sharing your insightful review of your stay with us. We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed our home-made Madeleines upon your check-in and that you liked the design of the room. We would like also like to express our gratitude for your gracious compliments on the service of our staff. Nevertheless, we would also like to apologize for the noise you experienced in your room and for the disappointment you experienced during breakfast. Your comments are of great value to us and therefore, we would like to invite you to contact us directly via H2783-GR@sofitel.com with your telephone number as we hope to have the opportunity to personally further discuss these matters with you. It would be an honour to welcome you back to Sofitel Legend the Grand Amsterdam in the near future. Sincerely, the Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

There is no way this hotel is a five star hotel. We've stayed at five and six star hotels, and this is, at best, a 3-4 star hotel. At a true five star, one would expect most things to be seamless and offer excellent service with a great attention to detail. Nothing was seamless except for when it was time to pay on checking out. Let's start with the reservation process which was a bit of a headache. I emailed with them back and forth and inquired about the Stay 4, Pay 3 nights. One person confirmed the promotion, and another person quoted me the full price. I don't think it's too much to ask for people to read the chain of prior emails. I also asked for a room with one bed (it was our 1 year wedding anniversary celebration, and we wanted to be in the same bed - go figure). We had inquired about early check in, and upon arrival, we were delighted to hear our room was ready. When we walked in, there were two double beds. Not awesome. So we asked for another room, presuming it'd be comparable. Nope, the second room we got was most likely their emergency back up room because it was probably the worst room in the entire hotel (room 360, by the way). There's a large pole in the middle of the room, and it's directly above the entrance so you get to hear people's conversations.

The butler who walked us to our new room was a bit pretentious and lacked all sense of warmth. He asked why we chose Amsterdam when there are many other cities like Paris and Rome. Odd question, I thought. I told him that we've been to all of the other cities he named, which quieted him. It certainly felt like he was making a presumption that all tourists were there to smoke pot, watch sex shows, and trash the city. Thanks for the implication.

One thing people should be aware of - there is NO WATER PRESSURE in the shower head. Not a wonderful job with renovations if you can't offer water pressure.

The cleaning service was not of even a four star caliber hotel. For one thing, they are extremely FRUGAL with their little bottles of Hermes product. It'd be empty or near empty and they still would not replace it. DonI'm amazed that people rated this hotel so well. If you have the fortunate opportunity to compare, go stay at a hotel equivalent to the Raffles or any five or six star hotel in Asia and you'll see a remarkable difference.'t pretend to offer luxury by offering Hermes when you don't replenish it. And if you're lucky, you might get one bottle of water at turn down service. You might get two if you're really, really lucky. Sometimes, we got no bottles of water.

We dined at Bridges, which was a nice restaurant and did provide good service. It wasn't impeccable like La Rive, however.

I'm surprised about all of the rave reviews on here. If you get the fortunate opportunity to compare, stay at a hotel equivalent to the Raffles or a true five or six star hotel in Asia and you'll see a noticeable difference.

Room Tip: Do not get suckered into staying in room 360.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LCinChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for sharing your experiences on TripAdvisor as your feedback is of utmost importance to us. We would like to express our sincerest apologies fort the fact that your experiences did not reflect the high expectations that you so rightfully hold. We would also like to thank you again for your earlier comments via our Guest Satisfaction Survey. We hope the email we have sent you at that time has reached you well. We hope to continue to discuss these matters with you personally, either by telephone or by the aforementioned email. Therefore, please do not hesitate to inform us on your availability so we may restore your confidence in the hotel. Sincerely, the Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Value for Amsterdam was ok, hotel is within walking distance of main attractions, only 20 mins walk from grand central station. I thought the room was ok, small only big enough for a cot beside the bed, looked under bed when we left only to find an empty juice bottle from previous tenants this was disappointing, but the staff and food made up for it all! The swimming pool is small but nice and warm. Overall good value for money

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tja1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Dear Guest, First of all, we would like to thank your for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We are happy that the hotel’s location made it so easy for you to visit Amsterdam’s main attractions and that you enjoyed the service of our staff, the food and the signature Sofitel MyBed. Nevertheless, we would also like to apologize for the empty juice bottle under your bed. This is certainly not our style and we would like to assure you that this matter has been taken up directly with the relative departments. Regarding the size of your room, we would be happy to inform you on other room types to see how we may accommodate you and your newborn best. It would our pleasure to welcome you back to Sofitel Legend the Grand Amsterdam soon. Warm Regards, the Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Fantastic location right in the heart of Amsterdam. When we arrived we were greeted by the hotel doorman who took our bags to the front desk. We had booked the hotel to celebrate my Birthday in style and because of that we were upgraded to a Junior Suit which was a pleasant surprise, they even brought a cake to the room. The room was fabulous, the bathroom had a walk in shower and the bath that was big enough for two had a television at one end, and two separate wash basins, The bed was huge with the feather and down duvet and top-mattress to wrap you up in soft, cozy comfort. We had the breakfast each morning and were amazed by the choices available, the service was amazing. Not once did a member of staff walk by without a smile and a welcome. The staff were all so kind, polite and professional. If you want to treat yourselves go here! I really would recommend staying in this hotel, not only for the luxury but the excellent customer service.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lambrettali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Dear Guest, we would like to thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam to celebrate your birthday. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed all the luxuries of your Junior Suite and the elaborate breakfast. Additionally, we want to express our appreciation for your gracious compliments regarding the service and professionalism of our staff. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam soon. Sincerely, the Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,327 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 371 in Amsterdam
751 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,611 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: RM1,496 - RM4,010 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, ACCOR, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing