We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,001)
Filter reviews
3,001 results
Traveller rating
2,289
477
140
59
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,289
477
140
59
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the red light district butler service flying dutchman hermes toiletries restaurant bridges luxury room junior suite dam square turn down service wonderful hotel five star hotel canal view the heart of the city the location is perfect nespresso machine anne frank house van gogh museum
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 3,001 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2018

Sofitel Legend The Grand is a splendid hotel tucked away in Amsterdam but still in the centre of things. Beside canals on either side this is a haven of tranquility linking a series of old merchants houses and filling them with interesting art.

Room tip: Watch out for the hotel tour which operates each morning - wish I'd had time to do this
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remco G, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Dear guest,

Your kind words are very much appreciated and we would like to thank you for sharing them on TripAdvisor.

We are indeed located in the buzzling heart of the city centre, yet our hotel is indeed a haven of tranquility and our inner garden a hidden gem.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam.

With kind regards,
Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018

I picked the Sofitel first because of it's excellent location, directly on one of the quieter canals in Amsterdam and yet centrally located so it is easy to walk to all the major attractions and sites in this wonderful city. The staff however is amazing and makes you feel at home right away and the room was large and comfortable. The breakfast buffet offered plenty of choices and every day housekeeping would leave a local treat such as chocolate or cheese in the room. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Amsterdam.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BruceSXM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remco G, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Dear guest,

Your kind words are very much appreciated and we would like to thank you for sharing them on TripAdvisor. It is indeed the little things, such as the daily local treat in your room, that make the difference.

Thank you also for recommending us to other Tripadvisor readers.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam.

With kind regards,
Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018

Outstanding hotel backed up with second to none service! Michael, the duty manager and his staff ensured my girlfriend's birthday at the Legend was a truly memorable one and we can't wait to return! Beautiful garden to escape from the old town and quite simply the best place I've stayed in! We can't wait to return!

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank binit78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remco G, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

With kind regards,
Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018

I booked a Luxury room with canal view for 3. The room was very small, they added a bed for my son and the bed was in front of the closet. There was only one other draw to put clothes in so we lived out of suitcases. The breakfast was nice, Staff very accommodating. Clean, restaurant very pricey, we went out every night. Pool was nice to have. There was a small living room off the lobby that the guests can watch TV. We were watching the world cup and not once did anyone offer a drink, water or anything. Helpful with getting cabs. Was not thrilled with dinner reco's did better on our own.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikegr3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remco G, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your kind words and will use your criticism as a tool to improve ourselves where needed.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards,
Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

This hotel by far exceeds expectations. The service is impeccable, the staff exemplary, the rooms are fantastic (down to the personalized touches) and the hotel and grounds are beautiful. The location is central to many points of interest and situated right along the canal.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Melissa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remco G, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay from the accommodation to the service. It was a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand very soon.

With kind regards,
Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews