We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful suite in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Ranked #63 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2015

We stayed in the King City suite, with 2 adults and a child in an extra bed which the hotel provided in the living room. This arrangement works well and although we missed having a terrace, that did have the advantage of increasing child safety.

views were stunning. We looked over the city. One small issue is that the room is partially overlooked by a corner of the restaurant - disconcerting, if you have just stepped out of the shower, although it turns out from visiting the restaurant that diners cannot see in.

The beds are exceptionally comfortable as you would expect from the Hilton, the bathroom is a little crowded and the shower a bit disappointing - it works, but it does not impress to the same standard as the rest of the room. Comfortable seating area. Very handy for the stunning skybar which would be even better if we had a reserved table (I don't know if that is possible).

Service was attentive and polite, and child friendly. Breakfast was superb with outstanding service.

Overall a to pared experience, as you're entitled to expect from this hotel. It does not disappoint,

Although expensive in absolute terms, as a family room the price is not unrealistic and compares very favourably if the alternative is two rooms.

Room Tip: There are two King Suites, only one of which has a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2015

Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Happy to read that you were able to enjoy your stay in our King City suite as family of three. It makes me happy that you loved the city view. My apology for the inconvenient thought that the restaurant diners might could look into the room, we did our utmost best to design the room to disqualify this.

How great that you experienced the bed and sitting area to be comfortable. Thank you as well for giving your feedback about the shower. I am sorry to hear as this is definitely not according our standards. I would like to inform you for your future stay that you are able to call the ‘Careline’ by dialling the 0 from the room, 24 hours. Our team members are always available to assist during your stay with any requests or issues during your stay.

Thank you for your positive feedback about our service and breakfast.

Hopefully we are able to welcome you again, should travels brings you back to Amsterdam.

Warm regards,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,222 - 2,226 of 7,316 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2015

From the airport,we took the train to Central station Amsterdam. From there we walked out of the terminal into the main square and turned left. The Hilton is 200 metres from the station.
All trams go from this station around Amsterdam (we bought the Amsterdam pass, which gave us unlimited free access to trams) the station is also where all river cruises depart from.
Even though we arrived early to the hotel we were able to check in. We were greeted at reception by a friendly member of staff who asked us for our reservation details, and provided both of us with a complimentary fresh cookie and bottle of water. Fresh apples and bottles of water were available at reception throughout every day.I was also asked what paper I wanted delivered to the bedroom each morning.
Our room was on the 4th floor and had a door that opened out into a shared garden area.
The room was quiet, very clean and had an Apple TV ,empty fridge,a safe, large bed,free wifi and air conditioning.
I have read reviews about all the Mosquitos in Amsterdam and I wanted a room away from the water and well sealed to keep them out.It was great we did not see any the entire stay in or out of hotel. (July)
There was a restaurant /bar on the 12th floor called"Sky Lounge" with panaramic views of the city and although it was a very romantic setting it was over priced for what it was so we decided not to eat there.
Breakfast in morning was down near reception with a river front view ( great for those who like a view while eating) It had a great selection of food one of which was their version of a fry.Unfortunately I didn't like the cuts of meat they were using or the batter fish pieces.
There was a large selection of breads, fruit, buns, yogurts and a continental style breakfast .
Breakfast could also be made that little bit more spectular by availing of the champagne.
There was also a lunch bag area to make a lunch for later.
Starbucks was attached to the hotel, via the breakfast area.
Our best meal of the trip was in the Hilton down stairs restaurant. From the minute we walked into the restaurant, throughout the entire meal we just felt special. Brilliant meal and wonderful friendly, respectful service.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for location,comfort and romantic stay.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JEreviews1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2015

Dear guest,

Your recent stay and your extensive review about your experiences are both very much appreciated.

It makes me happy that you enjoyed your stay. A pleasure to read that you were able to enjoy the newspaper, the complimentary amenities in the Lobby, our Starbucks and the Lunch bag option.

How great that you enjoyed your diner at Eastwood. I would make sure to share your compliments with the staff members of Eastwood.

Furthermore I would like to thank you for your feedback about the champagne, the cuts of meat and pricing at SkyLounge. Really great as it helps us as hotel to improve our service were possible.

That you would recommend our property makes the entire hotel happy.
Hopefully we are able to welcome you again in the near future.
Should you have any further queries, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Warm regards,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

2 minute walk from the central station - where you can either train to/from the airport or take trolleys all around Amsterdam. Also great in terms of location to restaurants. Hotel itself is very clean and nicely appointed. As a diamond member they upgraded me to a corner suite which was much appreciated overlooking the city.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
1  Thank Chartmannn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2015

Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at our DoubleTree by Hilton Amsterdam Centraal Station.
Thank you as well for your loyalty to the Hilton brand. It was our pleasure to provide you with an upgrade.

A pleasure to read that you explored our location to be convenient. It makes me happy to read you experienced our hotel to be clean and nicely appointed.

It is much appreciated that you took the time to write a review via TripAdvisor.
Hopefully we are able to welcome you again, should travels brings you back to Amsterdam.

Warm regards,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015

This DoubleTree by Hilton has a lovely roof top entertainment space with indoor and outdoor bar and a lovely west-facing view of the city and some spectacular sunsets. The rooms are a good size by Euro standards and the staff is friendly and most speak English.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the city or the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KathleenP370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2015

Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us.
Really great that you shared your experiences via TripAdvisor.

A pleasure to read that you enjoyed our rooftop bar SkyLounge. Happy that the rooms were convenient for you and that our staff delivered a great service.

Hopefully we are able to welcome you again.
Should you have any queries, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Warm regards,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015

This is a very nice, conveniently located hotel near the Central Train station in Amsterdam. It is 1 block from the main harbor, and overlooks part of the inner harbor. Our room was on the 8th floor overlooking the inner harbor and the views of the city were terrific - especially in the morning hours. Our stay coincided with the Sail Amsterdam event and we were only 1 block from the main harbor, which made walking very easy to see all of the tall ships. The crowds were daunting, however. Our room had a balcony and while our room was small, it was modern and well equipped with everything we needed. The Concierge desk was very helpful and booked a canal cruise for us (saved a few Euros!) and "rented" us a couple of 240 volt adapters which we forgot to bring - returned at checkout for no charge. For Hilton Honors members, there is a great Executive Lounge on the 1st floor with a great breakfast offering. Our only complaint was that while we arrived at 9:30am to the hotel (beginning our vacation) our room was not ready until 3:30pm later that day. As a result, we changed clothes and brushed our teeth in the main floor restrooms. Other than that it was a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Inner Harbor-view rooms have sunset views & there are no view blocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Czechmate54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2015

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your Stay in Amsterdam. It is much appreciated that you took the time to share your experiences.

It makes me very happy that you enjoyed SAIL and that you were able to visit the harbour within a short walk.
How great that you were able to see the beautiful tall ships.

Thank you for enclosing the wonderful pictures.
Happy to read that you were able to make a canal cruise and that our Guest Service department was able to assist you, it was their pleasure.
Thank you for your positive comments about our Executive Lounge and breakfast, this is really great to hear.

Furthermore I am really sorry that your room was not ready, my apology for the inconvenient.
Hopefully we are able to welcome you again in the near future in order to make things right.

Warm regards,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 375 in Amsterdam
3,087 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#62 of 375 in Amsterdam
756 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#12 of 375 in Amsterdam
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#34 of 375 in Amsterdam
3,370 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 375 in Amsterdam
5,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: RM804 - RM1,931 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into DoubleTree by Hilton Amsterdam Centraal Station and begin your visit with one of our famous freshly-baked chocolate chip cookies. are you here for business? or pleasure? Everything is within your reach to experience Amsterdam, thanks to our central location. Take in our spectacular views over the city and IJ river from SkyLounge Amsterdam. The hotel has 557 stylish guest rooms. Each one luxuriates in floor-to-ceiling windows to provide a sense of air and space. There is a power shower for you to relax in after a long day and you can use the iMac provided in every guest room for work or recreation, or simply use the complimentary Wi-Fi with your own device. The hotel is located in the city centre within walking distance from Amsterdam Centraal Station. The historic city centre, famous shopping streets, the different congress centres and all of the city's cultural heritage are within your reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing