We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$180
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$185/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$225
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$242/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$161
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$172/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$221
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$167/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$295
US$224
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$129
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$129/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$141
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ibis Amsterdam Centre(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$184
US$148
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (7,688)
Filter reviews
7,688 results
Traveller rating
3,749
2,744
797
233
165
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,749
2,744
797
233
165
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssky loungethe executive loungedouble treerooftop barwarm cookiesapple tvgreat locationtrain tracksguest servicescity viewfloor to ceiling windowstop floorriver cruisemodern hotelamsterdam centraalexcellent hotelearly check
Filter
Updating list...
2,518 - 2,523 of 7,688 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2015

From the airport,we took the train to Central station Amsterdam. From there we walked out of the terminal into the main square and turned left. The Hilton is 200 metres from the station.
All trams go from this station around Amsterdam (we bought the Amsterdam pass, which gave us unlimited free access to trams) the station is also where all river cruises depart from.
Even though we arrived early to the hotel we were able to check in. We were greeted at reception by a friendly member of staff who asked us for our reservation details, and provided both of us with a complimentary fresh cookie and bottle of water. Fresh apples and bottles of water were available at reception throughout every day.I was also asked what paper I wanted delivered to the bedroom each morning.
Our room was on the 4th floor and had a door that opened out into a shared garden area.
The room was quiet, very clean and had an Apple TV ,empty fridge,a safe, large bed,free wifi and air conditioning.
I have read reviews about all the Mosquitos in Amsterdam and I wanted a room away from the water and well sealed to keep them out.It was great we did not see any the entire stay in or out of hotel. (July)
There was a restaurant /bar on the 12th floor called"Sky Lounge" with panaramic views of the city and although it was a very romantic setting it was over priced for what it was so we decided not to eat there.
Breakfast in morning was down near reception with a river front view ( great for those who like a view while eating) It had a great selection of food one of which was their version of a fry.Unfortunately I didn't like the cuts of meat they were using or the batter fish pieces.
There was a large selection of breads, fruit, buns, yogurts and a continental style breakfast .
Breakfast could also be made that little bit more spectular by availing of the champagne.
There was also a lunch bag area to make a lunch for later.
Starbucks was attached to the hotel, via the breakfast area.
Our best meal of the trip was in the Hilton down stairs restaurant. From the minute we walked into the restaurant, throughout the entire meal we just felt special. Brilliant meal and wonderful friendly, respectful service.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for location,comfort and romantic stay.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JEreviews1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2015

Dear guest,

Your recent stay and your extensive review about your experiences are both very much appreciated.

It makes me happy that you enjoyed your stay. A pleasure to read that you were able to enjoy the newspaper, the complimentary amenities in the Lobby, our Starbucks and the Lunch bag option.

How great that you enjoyed your diner at Eastwood. I would make sure to share your compliments with the staff members of Eastwood.

Furthermore I would like to thank you for your feedback about the champagne, the cuts of meat and pricing at SkyLounge. Really great as it helps us as hotel to improve our service were possible.

That you would recommend our property makes the entire hotel happy.
Hopefully we are able to welcome you again in the near future.
Should you have any further queries, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Warm regards,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

2 minute walk from the central station - where you can either train to/from the airport or take trolleys all around Amsterdam. Also great in terms of location to restaurants. Hotel itself is very clean and nicely appointed. As a diamond member they upgraded me to a corner suite which was much appreciated overlooking the city.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
1  Thank Chartmannn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2015

Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at our DoubleTree by Hilton Amsterdam Centraal Station.
Thank you as well for your loyalty to the Hilton brand. It was our pleasure to provide you with an upgrade.

A pleasure to read that you explored our location to be convenient. It makes me happy to read you experienced our hotel to be clean and nicely appointed.

It is much appreciated that you took the time to write a review via TripAdvisor.
Hopefully we are able to welcome you again, should travels brings you back to Amsterdam.

Warm regards,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015

This DoubleTree by Hilton has a lovely roof top entertainment space with indoor and outdoor bar and a lovely west-facing view of the city and some spectacular sunsets. The rooms are a good size by Euro standards and the staff is friendly and most speak English.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the city or the river
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KathleenP370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2015

Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us.
Really great that you shared your experiences via TripAdvisor.

A pleasure to read that you enjoyed our rooftop bar SkyLounge. Happy that the rooms were convenient for you and that our staff delivered a great service.

Hopefully we are able to welcome you again.
Should you have any queries, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Warm regards,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015

This is a very nice, conveniently located hotel near the Central Train station in Amsterdam. It is 1 block from the main harbor, and overlooks part of the inner harbor. Our room was on the 8th floor overlooking the inner harbor and the views of the city were terrific - especially in the morning hours. Our stay coincided with the Sail Amsterdam event and we were only 1 block from the main harbor, which made walking very easy to see all of the tall ships. The crowds were daunting, however. Our room had a balcony and while our room was small, it was modern and well equipped with everything we needed. The Concierge desk was very helpful and booked a canal cruise for us (saved a few Euros!) and "rented" us a couple of 240 volt adapters which we forgot to bring - returned at checkout for no charge. For Hilton Honors members, there is a great Executive Lounge on the 1st floor with a great breakfast offering. Our only complaint was that while we arrived at 9:30am to the hotel (beginning our vacation) our room was not ready until 3:30pm later that day. As a result, we changed clothes and brushed our teeth in the main floor restrooms. Other than that it was a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Inner Harbor-view rooms have sunset views & there are no view blocks.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Czechmate54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2015

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your Stay in Amsterdam. It is much appreciated that you took the time to share your experiences.

It makes me very happy that you enjoyed SAIL and that you were able to visit the harbour within a short walk.
How great that you were able to see the beautiful tall ships.

Thank you for enclosing the wonderful pictures.
Happy to read that you were able to make a canal cruise and that our Guest Service department was able to assist you, it was their pleasure.
Thank you for your positive comments about our Executive Lounge and breakfast, this is really great to hear.

Furthermore I am really sorry that your room was not ready, my apology for the inconvenient.
Hopefully we are able to welcome you again in the near future in order to make things right.

Warm regards,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015

The best part of my stay at the Hilton Double Tree was a voucher for a drink at the Sky Lounge as our check-in was delayed. The lounge at the top floor of the hotel offers amazing views of the city and guests can enjoy exquisite cocktails and beverages inside or outside. Comfortable armchairs, high-tables and sofas are offered to suit the purpose of your visit, be it a business meeting, a relaxing place for a cup of coffee or a romantic evening.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Victoria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2015

Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at our DoubleTree by Hilton Amsterdam and thank you for writing a review via TripAdvisor.

How great to hear that you enjoyed the SkyLounge Voucher. A pleasure to read that you enjoyed the view and cocktails.
Really happy to read your positive comments.

Hopefully we are able to welcome you our hotel or especially at the SkyLounge.

Warm regards,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews