We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$160
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 46% below average rates

The price you found is 46% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$192/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

XO Hotels Couture(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$156
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$122/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$316
US$264
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$138/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Book now, pay at stay
US$258
US$234
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Amsterdam Centre(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$144
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,368)
Filter reviews
1,368 results
Traveller rating
920
393
41
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
920
393
41
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbusiness districtzuid stationcity centremanhattan barbusiness hotelclub roomschiphol airporttrain stopexcellent hotelbusiness tripduty managerminute walkhotel is moderncomfortable roomspublic transporteasy accessquiet room
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 1,368 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2017

We were treated well from the second we arrived, the staff were super friendly, helped us out and provided us with what we needed. The room was incredible and the bed was ridiculously comfy. They provided us with free chocolate and stroopwaffels and wifi which was GREAT!
It was quite far from town, which put us off making some late night trips. That was a shame- not where you want to stay if you're on a mad one. The tram takes around 20 mins and the taxi would cost around £20.
They do rent bikes though which is great- not a difficult cycle into the museum district or the centre.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hannah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South on Tripadvisor. It is fantastic that you enjoyed the room but more important that you experienced the sincere passion of our staff members to assist our guests into making their journey to a success.

Positive guest feedback is a great motivation for all of us to continue to deliver excellent service. Thank you again for your rewarding words and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards,

S Pautov
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

Great hotel. Extra friendly staff. Amazing rooms. Only problem is, the hotel is in a commercial district, and very far (20 mins) by taxi to downtown where all the attractions here. if you want to meditate in Amsterdam, this is the best place. if you want to partake in the vibrancy of the city, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pakistanitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Dear valued guest,

Thank you taking the time to write a review about the hotel.

There are several options to discover the city centre e.g. by using public transport, by bike or taxi. You can catch the tram/ train and metro at Station Amsterdam Zuid, 5 minutes walking from the hotel, from where it leads you through the historic city centre, over the canals while passing by many famous sights and has Amsterdam Central Station as a final stop.

We hope to welcome you as our guest soon again when business or leisure brings you back to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

Our stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South ranks as one of our best hotel experiences ever. The staff were very helpful in answering our questions before our trip (telling us to take the train from the airport instead of an expensive taxi, and telling us that yes, the rooms all have free Wi-Fi). We arrived exhausted at around 9:30 a.m. after an overnight flight from Chicago, and they pampered us with free coffee and cookies while they worked to get a room ready for us to occupy by 11:30 a.m. It was a very quiet room on the 5th floor, with great room-darkening drapes. The room was spacious, clean, well laid-out, and had its own coffee maker. The location was just a five-minute walk from the train station, and a ten-minute walk from the tram stop that would get us into central Amsterdam in about 20 minutes. Within a ten-minute walk south of the hotel, there was a large mall with many stores (including two large grocery stores). The hotel front desk gave us a map of the Amsterdam area that was very helpful in finding our way around. We did not use the hotel's breakfast service (a little high at about 22 Euros per person), but chose to have granola, fruit and yogurt (from the grocery store) and coffee in our room instead. The grocery store also had some good choices for dinner (Caesar salads, soups, roast chicken, etc.). At the hotel desk, we purchased a three-day tram/metro/bus ticket, and we used the tram to get all around the city during our stay.

Room Tip: If you are a coffee lover, ask for a room with a coffee machine (not just hot water for instant coffee).
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Russ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Dear Mr. Russ,

Your review is a treat to read with all the loving, positive feedback you have given us! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your stay here on TripAdvisor!

I am happy to see that even before you entered the hotel your experiences were positive and we have been able to plan your trip ahead of time. The trains are indeed a very convenient option as they are both faster and cheaper than taxis.

The 'Gelderlandplein' mall you mention is a very good place to do some shopping. If you ever return and like large malls; try Stadshart Amstelveen as well. They even won multiple prices for best mall!

Thank you once again for this amazing review and hopefully we can welcome you back shortly! Warm regards,
Dax - Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Many hotels in Amsterdam City Centre are little overpriced; not a problem here.
Rooms are good size and the bathroom for the regular room is actually quite sizable.
Decor in rooms are cozy; theme is Gershwin based and there a many items in the hotel referring to him.
The beds are simply good and supporting; we had a upgrade from standard level offering an espresso machine; bathrobes and luxury soaps and stuff and it makes the stay a little more pleasant.

In about a 10 minute walk there is a tram stop (the 5) which bring you potentially to the museum quarter (10 minutes), Rembrandt square with a 5 minute walk (15 minutes) or The Dam (20 minutes less) or Central station. This tram actually makes it a true Amsterdam stay; not to worry over being outside the first ring; getting back is easy. Just buy yourself a public transport card and hop on and off; public transport here is just great and easy.

This Amsterdam South area is close to the RAI exhibition centre or the in the financial heart of the city; also residential but there are some pretty new nice restaurants in the neighborhood to explore too; but honestly this part of the city could be anywhere in North Europe because all is new beautiful architecture; but its nothing like the medieval old down town city planning with canals of old Amsterdam. But that is all close enough to not pay the premium.
Breakfast is buffet style with a egg station; staff aplenty and they are nice and pleasant.
Just a good stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johannes H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words about our hotel. It is our pleasure to read that you experienced your stay as outstanding, and our staff as nice and pleasant.

Thank you again for recommending our hotel, we hope to welcome you again soon.

Kindest regards,

Nicole Turnhout-Ammerlaan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Highly recommended hotel. Consistantly good experience from first stays in 2010 through to now (July2017), my first stay in a while, I will definitely be returning when I need an Amsterdam hotel. Worth a new tripadvisor report as new Spire elite recognition in 2017

I have stayed here multiple times over the last 7 years, but recently made first stays in a while and can now enjoy complimentary lounge access as an IHG Spire elite. Hotel does a great job of recognising IHG elites

Stayed again, well looked after, great friendly helpful staff, nice location, nice rooms, excellent IHG Spire Elite recognition.
Definitely a hotel to return to as long as book early enough to avoid last minute high occupancy roomrates. Base room can vary typically 140euro, but 100euro some Sundays to 200plus euro especially if conferences on at RAI one metro stop away.

Recent 3x multinight stays, some nights award/some nights paid, as IHG Spire Elite, a bit different, no early upgrade, and at checkin offered Spire Elite Amenity Choice (Lounge access / Drink / 600points) so lounge access foc for Spire Elites here now.

Previously 2010-2016 whether on paid/award nights, as IHG Platinum Elite (pre 20215 Spire introduction) and Spire Elitepost July2015, always upgraded to a proper 2-room Junior Suite before checkin/arrival, but no associsated club-lounge access, unless purchased with upsell

On award nights initially offered booked room on highest floors 8/9, despite having lounge access choice with lounge on floor=2. Asking politely for a room on a lower floor luckily resulted in getting room on clubfloor=2, ie Exec Club Room

On Paid night, same amenity choice of club acces by me, offered Club Room (floor 2) or Junior Suite on high floor ... I opted for convenience of a Club Floor=2 room.

Rooms......

Junior Suites
o 2 proper separated rooms, some with full width partion , others solid wall the partition.
o Bedroom has Kingbed, TV, long workbench+chair
o Living room, sofa, small table, another TV
o Bathroom has both bath and smaller square shower cubicle

Club Room (Floor 2)
o Comfy KingBed+Pillows, higher. ceiling on floor 2 rooms, 2x pairs of full height windows, work desk+5wheeled-workchair, minibar, wardrobes. Armchair+footrest, wall TV with good channel choice
o Bathroom is large walkin rectangular Rainfall shower (no bath) for Club rooms

Lounge (mostly unmanned, bar breakfast and 1800-1900 drinks time)
o Reasonable size, half tables+chairs, half comfy chairs/TV/computer+printer
o Nice coffe machine
o chilled cabinets with sodas/beers/water/wine .. Open all day 0630-2300 even for alcohol
o 1800-1900hour, Staffed Period, Sparkling Wine and Spirits + cheeseboard
o Supply of many jars of different sweets/candies, apples/bananas, cookies
o Breakfast 0630-1030, fresh bread (loaves+sliced), cheese slices, sliced ham, smoked salmon, yoighurts, fruitsalad, juices, small boxes cereal (various)

Restaurant Breakfast
o Reduced 10euro upsell if lounge access (i think was circa 20euro without lounge)
o fuller choices of cold meats, fruit, etc, cereals
o cook to order chef for eg eggs/omelets
o Hot buffet of eg sausages , potatoes, tomatoes etc


Other
BIGGG PLUSSS Schiphol Airport to/from WTC Zuid Station is only 1stop, 8minutes journey a 4euro ticket, so easy compared to every other hotel. (plus 8min walk station <-> CP )

Room Tip: Club room floor2, good club lounge value
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scuba_in_the_sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear valued guest!

Thank you for taking the time to write this extensive review about our hotel.
We are happy to have you as one of our regular guests!

Moreover, on behalf of all of us at IHG we would like to that you for your continuous loyalty as on of our Spire Elite Members. We are very happy to hear that you enjoy all the benefits of your membership, but also the newly introduced Welcome Amenity for Spire Elite - the Club Lounge access.

Please note that your kind comments have been shared with our team, and we look forward to welcoming you with us again in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Nicole Turnhout-Ammerlaan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews