We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
Ranked #53 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2015 via mobile

Fantastically located and friendly attentive staff and servicerecommendedwe had suite overlooking the canal,centrally located for all attractions,there is a Ticket office on opposite side of the canal for excursions and tourist attractions,and a scrummy Magnum ice cream shop opposite that

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (917)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

283 - 287 of 917 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2015

This is a great hotel in a great location. My sister and I had the first floor (due to her knee disability) and the room was massive - especially by European standards. My son and his friend had a usual type European room - on the small side. The bonus of this hotel is that it is in the entertainment section of Amsterdam. Fantastic food court all around - even though the hotel is directly on a canal. Night life for the younger is the happening area! Fantastic clubs. An entire street of clubs - however we didn't hear a thing from our hotel. It was quiet! Free coffee/tea and light breakfast snacks. The Anne Frank house is only a 15 minute walk from the hotel. Love love love this hotel. Clean, welcoming, and as mentioned, a fantastic location.

Room Tip: a computer in the main lobby to use. The room directly above the main lobby is HUGE! A huge surprise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank LYM19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2015

Here's what's great about this hotel - it's 3 things - location, location, location!
Here's what's bad about this hotel: Almost Everything else!
One Exception: the front desk folks were eager and very helpful, but the rooms were really lousy - we made a big mistake by booking via EXPEDIA. My teen-aged daughter and I eeded up w/ one king bed[cramped and hot room] and the hotel refused to rectify that drawback citing that we had booked via Expedia. (I have found that Expedia bookings translate into bottom-rung rooms in whatever property I go to...)

MY SECRET: The cafes across the canal were great for having coffee or wine and the hotel's WiFi worked over there!

Room Tip: check in advance, or you might get screwed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeffrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2015

We just finished a great four-day stay here. The best part about this hotel is its convenience for tourists. It is about halfway between the Mueumplein and the Anne Frank House, making it super convenient on foot to these and all other major Amsterdam sights. It is located 1 block from the Leidesplein with dozens of bars and restaurants within steps. Although some rooms have lovely canal views we chose Room 409 which was way in the back, large, very quiet, windows on three sides and had quaint views of adjacent rooftops. Rooms on the tram side of the hotel are sure to be loud. Warning: our room was up 4 flights of steps, 2 of which cannot be avoided even with luggage! A small price to pay for such a great room.

We never set foot in the restaurant or bar nor did we have breakfast at the hotel. There were more than enough places nearby for dining. (Including Starbucks, McDonalds and Ben and Jerrys for homesick Americans.) There is also a great inexpensive full-service laundry just 2 blocks away (not affiliated with the hotel).

The front desk is 24-hours. Necessary because you must leave your room key with them. Staff all speak flawless English of course, and although they are not necessarily helpful with tourist questions, they were friendly and efficient -- particularly when we arrived jet lagged several hours before we could check in and needed to store and accesss our luggage.

The hotel is about 150 years old and accordingly quirky in layout. It has quite a bit of charm. We were worried that the bathroom might be small, but it was fine. The room had clearly seen a recent renovation and most appliances and fixtures were modern. There were enough outlets in our room for charging several devices. Wifi was just fine.

Trams stop right in front of the hotel, as well, in case you are going to the train station with luggage. From the airport, easier to take a cab.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the tram side of the hotel (noisy). Canal views if desired. Quieter if not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PO_703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2015

We had a great stay at Dikker en Thijs. They are right on the Prinsengracht canal with a tram stop just a block from Leidseplein. Great canal view. The room was large by Amsterdam standards. With the windows closed and air on we didn't hear street noise. The staff were very nice and helpful. Very nice hotel, but without the attitude of most hotels. The internet was great and they have a computer with printer in the lobby you can use for free.

Room Tip: Try to get a higher floor if you are worried about noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank esperantisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel La Boheme
#44 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,123 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#71 of 376 in Amsterdam
290 reviews
American Hotel Amsterdam
#77 of 376 in Amsterdam
3,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#10 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,400 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#20 of 376 in Amsterdam
4,111 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#59 of 376 in Amsterdam
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dikker & Thijs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dikker & Thijs Hotel

Address: Prinsengracht 444, 1017 KE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#70 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: RM 541 - RM 1,603 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dikker & Thijs Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the beautiful Prinsengracht canal, you will find Dikker en Thijs Fenice Hotel. A historical four star hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. Experience a luxurious ambiance and walk to almost all famous sights. Most of the beautiful 42 hotel rooms of Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel have an amazing canal view. French cuisine is offered at Restaurant Thijs which also serves dishes with international influences and uses seasonal, fresh ingredients. A lounge and private dining room on the first floor offers scenic canal views. From Dikker en Thijs Fenice Hotel, you can easily walk to the main museums. Shopping streets and plenty of restaurants are nearby as well. The tram stop is right around the corner. Amsterdam City Centre is a great choice for travellers interested in food, nightlife and walking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dikker & Thijs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dikker And Thijs Fenice Hotel
Dikker Thijs Fenice Hotel
Hotel Dikker Thijs Fenice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing