We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“couldn't have picked a better hotel-- great location and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #85 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2017

We are Marriott people so for our first visit to Amsterdam it was going to be a Marriott hotel. We couldn't decide between the Marriott in the city center or the Renaissance. I read all the trip advisor reviews. Finally we chose the Renaissance,and I am so glad we did. The location is just great-- we walked to the Anne Frank house and to the canal boat ride. The management and staff were just top notch. We were celebrating a wedding anniversary and we were upgraded to a wonderful suite, the royal suite, I think it was room 802, ask for it. The club lounge was great, the restaurant for breakfast was great. Can't say enough about how we enjoyed this Marriott property.

Room Tip: 8th floor suite! wow, the size and the quietness up there, ask for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank leafwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf_Vaessen, Director of Sales at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Dear leafwatcher,

Thank you for being such loyal Marriott guests. We are lucky to be able to provide our guests with such a diverse range of brands and properties all over the world. We are so happy to hear that you were able to pick the perfect one for you! Especially as you were celebrating a special occasion. Congratulations once again on your anniversary.

The Royal suite has a wonderful view of our historic Koepelkerk and picturesque Amsterdam roofs from a floor to ceiling corner window. We are delighted that this provided the perfect city base for you to come back to after a day exploring the city.

Our location is indeed unbeatable, walking distance from so many famous sights and well connected by public transport to the rest of the city. We hope to welcome you back again soon for another milestone celebration.

Best Regards,
Ralf Vaessen
(Director of Sales & Marketing)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

210 - 214 of 3,447 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

Very impressive entrance hall, all glamour and marble. Just a short walk from the Central Station.

Very disappointing once you have traversed several dismal corridors to get to your room. Small and dark, poorly appointed. It was like something from a budget chain.

Having said that, we only used the room to sleep, and Amsterdam being the place it is, we didn't do much of that.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank DrakeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf_Vaessen, Director of Sales at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Dear DrakeLondon,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that your arrival was impressive and that you were well located to enjoy the Amsterdam nightlife. However, we are sorry to hear that your stay was not the experience we strive to provide for each and every one of our guests. Due to our old-fashioned Amsterdam building, a few of our rooms are located quite a walk from the elevator and many have their own character and layout. We hope that our comfortable beds provided you with a sounds night's sleep and hope that we are able to welcome you back again in the future for a true Renaissance experience in another of our unique rooms.

Best Regards,
Ralf Vaessen
(Director of Sales & Marketing)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

Stayed here all the time on business in early 2000-2004. Loved the place and had several meetings here. Not sure what happened but the quality has slipped. Our room was average, very noisy hallway at night. The staff seems detached. Got double billed for breakfast charges which were in my room rate....later credited. Location is superb though and concierge were very helpful in directing us the the proper trams, etc. Will give another try but overall disappointing.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf_Vaessen, Director of Sales at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Dear Mark B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, we take our guest's comments very seriously and use them for further training and adjustments to our operating procedures.

We are sorry to hear that your stay did not meet expectations. This is certainly not the experience we hope for our guests to have when staying with us. We are very happy to hear that you will give us another chance to restore your faith in our hotel and give you a true Renaissance Amsterdam experience. Our location is indeed superb and our expert Navigators are great in helping guests to find their way around the city and discover some hidden gems, but we hope we can bring everything else up to the same standard for your next stay. Our apologies for the mistake with the billing of your breakfast, I am glad to hear that this has been resolved.

Best Regards,
Ralf Vaessen
(Director of Sales & Marketing)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

We stayed one night before our cruise. Train from airport to Centraal Station then ten minute walk with our rolling luggage. Super location for walk around sight seeing. Canal boats nearby. Many nice restaurants and coffee houses. Very extensive breakfast buffet plus cooked to order selections. Easy fifteen minutes walk to cruise terminal. The hotel staff is accustomed to cruisers and are available to help get your cruise bag tags securely fastened to your bags. Very comfortable bedding and quiet rooms though right near everything.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BKbeachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 17 July 2017

Dear BKbeachers,

Thank you for taking the time to leave this 5 star review, I have shared it with the team who are all delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are indeed very accustomed to welcoming guests who are stopping over at the beginning or end of a cruise. We are glad to learn that the team were able to make the check-out process quick and convenient with your luggage ready for your onward trip, as well as ensuring a comfortable night's sleep and a filling, delicious breakfast.

Our location is well connected to everything from the train station and cruise terminal, to the sights of Amsterdam. We hope that allowed you to explore a little bit of the city before boarding the cruise. On your next visit, be sure to ask our Navigators for their top tips and recommendations of Amsterdam's hidden gems.

Best Regards,
Ralf Vaessen
(Director of Sales & Marketing)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

The location of the property is pretty good as it is quiet but still located near bars and restaurants. We had an issue with check in. We booked club level rooms and arrived close to 9pm. Upon arrival our rooms were still not ready and we had to sit for 30 mins before having access to our room. By the time we dropped off our luggage and got out for dinner, most of the restaurants were closed. The free breakfast in the club is great, but beware that they are strict on not eating before 6:30 am, even if they have everything sitting out and ready to go. On the weekend, they only offer paid buffet, which is not even close to being worth the money and is not available until even later.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceTeam, Director of Sales at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Dear Amanda M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that our central location made for a convenient time exploring the city. However we are sorry to hear that your arrival experience is not what we strive to provide for each and every one of our guests. Thank you for highlighting this, we are looking into what went wrong in order to prevent it happening in the future.

The Club Lounge is indeed a great benefit for Marriott Rewards members and guests staying in higher room categories. Our Club Lounge is open for breakfast 7 days a week, available from Monday - Friday from 6am-10am and Saturday-Sunday from 6:30am-10:30am. In addition to this we offer a paid buffet breakfast at SCOSSA.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future for an even better stay.

Best Regards,
Ralf Vaessen
(Director of Sales & Marketing)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#68 of 375 in Amsterdam
137 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#12 of 375 in Amsterdam
494 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Hilton Amsterdam
#42 of 375 in Amsterdam
3,085 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: RM727 - RM1,677 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Central Station in the historic city centre of charming Amsterdam, the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel is a top-tier choice of travelers. Regardless of reasoning for travel, guests will find comfort in our warm welcoming lobby, renovated guest accommodations featuring Renaissance Bedding, and a well crafted incentive of dining options within the hotel walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing