We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay in the heart of Amsterdam”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Ranked #56 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 20 February 2017

We had never been to Amsterdam before, so armed only with a small guide book, I was totally in the dark when trying to find a hotel. The trip was for myself, my husband and our two children, so certain aspects of Amsterdam we were keen to avoid for our trip and I was apprehensive as to whether it would be suitable for all of us. I booked a suite at the Radisson Blu, but was slightly worried by the description of its location on the edge of the Red Light District and this nearly made me cancel and change hotels. However, having read a few reviews on TripAdvisor, I stuck with it and I am so glad I did. The hotel is a gem and is situated in the Centraal Amsterdam area and is not surrounded by anything I would class as red light district at all. In fact, we didn't see anything of this for our whole stay, but the hotel is only a short walk from this area if you want it. Some reviews talk about the area being surrounded by coffee shops with smells wafting from them. This is a feature of the whole of Amsterdam, so it would not matter where you stayed, you will walk past coffee shops with that familiar smell coming out of them. The hotel itself is very modern and you walk into a giant atrium off the street, with reception being split into several small desks. The hotel can get busy at peak check-in and out times, but it moved quickly in our experience and was never an issue. The staff are all very helpful and will do what they can for you if you ask. Our suite was also fantastic - one of the best I have stayed in. It consisted of a sitting room with dual aspect windows (with window seats) looking out over the canals. This sitting room became the kids bedroom with a big pull out sofa bed and they had their own enormous TV. There was a small wet bar area with a coffee machine and a mini bar and a small sink. We then had the master bedroom with a king sized bed, another TV and two more windows. Master bathroom was off here with 2 sinks, separate bath, huge shower and loo. Was perfect for 4 of us and would be luxurious for 2. Decor was modern, fresh and spotlessly clean. We ate in the hotel for dinner and it was lovely (see separate review) and I can also highly recommend the breakfast buffet. There was fresh fruit, cereals, cheeses, fresh side of smoked salmon, cooked breakfast, pastries and fresh juices. You could also order omelettes and waffles from the menu if you wanted to. Breakfast was busy on our second morning, but the food quality did not suffer. The bar is also lovely, being in a preserved old building inside the hotel. White beer on tap was lovely. In terms of room choices, some of the rooms in this hotel have an internal view of the atrium. The best rooms are in the building over the other side of the road. You can access this inside the hotel via lifts and an internal corridor. Some of those rooms have a view of the canals, so in my opinion, it is worth trying to secure one of these if you can, and be aware of the atrium view rooms. We easily walked everywhere we needed to get to, and tram stops are not far away either, which quickly get you to all the musem areas. Do not bother with taxis - the trams are fun! We want to mention Mandy and say a big thankyou to her. Mandy is the Guest Experience Manager at the hotel and whatever we asked of her, she had the answer. The recommendations for a local cafe (De Laaisie Kruimel) and somewhere different for dinner (Restaurant Lt Cornelis) were spot on - thankyou Mandy!
All in all, our choice turned out to be a perfect one and our trip was amazing. We will all be back at some point and the Radisson Blu will be my hotel of choice when we do.

Room Tip: ask for canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank AnnieLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrPGadet, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

I can only say ....Thank you... for this extensive description about you stay with us. Due to it's details in really adds value here on TripAdvisor. We are grateful for all the compliments in this review and I will definitely share this with the team. This lever of satisfaction is what we do it for as we believe that "every moment matters". The location really is perfect isn't it:) Thanks again and we hope you don't wait to long with planning your return visit to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

292 - 296 of 3,442 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in February. The hotel is centrally located and good value. We took the room only option which was good because the hotel breakfast looked average and there are loads of great coffee shops for breakfast nearby. The room was very nice and clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. My only real concern is the size of the bath. We had a lovely double room but the bath was just too small and we are not large people. As you move in the bath the water overflows and we flooded the bathroom! But overall we were happy and I would stay again.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrPGadet, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Thank you for this feedback. Your comments about the bathroom are duly noted and help us to improve our product.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

Good location. Nice clean rooms although a little noise can rise up from the atrium on busy evenings. Didn't try restaurants but bar was pleasant, although with inflated hotel prices. Would I stay again? Maybe. But for the price worth checking if something more characterful could be found.

Stayed: February 2017
1  Thank JWS70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrPGadet, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Thank you for your feedback here. It's very interesting to read about your experience and useful for improvements. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Very well located in the heart of central Amsterdam, perfect for exploring on foot. It's a 15min walk from Centraal station, or a short taxi/uber ride. More characterful than most Radisson's I have stayed in, our Business Class room (Gold member upgrade, so no breakfast included) was a good size with Nespresso machine and large floor to ceiling windows. Underfloor heating in bathroom is a nice touch. Fast free wi-fi, just watch out for the automated Mini-Bar with eye watering pricing. Breakfast was superb though a little pricey, so try and get a rate which includes it. Fresh juices, eggs/omlettes/excellent waffles to order as well as cured salmon and plenty of fruit/cereals. Staff were extremely helpful and can provide city maps, as well as hold on to your luggage after check-out for free. Was granted a late check-out until 1pm.

Room Tip: Business class rooms are probably worth the extra (Good Standby upgrade options available via email)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KilburnGlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrPGadet, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

We love being called a "well run Radisson" and appreciate you have noticed all these things you mentioned. Your constructive feedback about pricing is also taken on board of course. Thank you and come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017

I had a nice, quiet, clean and overall lovely room with a lot of nice modern details in the interior Design, inspired by local tradition. Staff was very helpful and breakfast buffet offered a rich selection of different styles. On top, the hotel is right in the center of Amsterdam and all the museums, shops and attractions are easy to reach.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms that have a window towards the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank henningralff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrPGadet, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

We appreciate you took the time to write this review. We hope to welcome you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#60 of 375 in Amsterdam
755 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#20 of 375 in Amsterdam
4,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam

Address: Rusland 17, 1012 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#44 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: RM801 - RM2,082 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Hotel Complex incorporating 17th & 18th-century merchant houses with newer buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Radisson Amsterdam
Amsterdam Radisson
Radisson Sas Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing