We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ambassade Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Hoksbergen(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Agora(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hegra Hotel(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,320)
Filter reviews
1,320 results
Traveller rating
1,123
167
22
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,123
167
22
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslibrary barherengracht canalbooks signedperfect locationbeautiful hotelheated floorsquiet canalroom overlooking the canalnine streetsbeautiful roomsitting arealoved this hotelanne frank housetriple roomspent nightsmajor attractionsperfect stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,051 - 1,056 of 1,320 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2015

Stayed at the Ambassade Hotel during a recent trip to Amsterdam. The hotel is located on one of the best, most picturesque canals in all of Amsterdam and is located close to transit, restaurants and museums. The service and staff are top notch. Very high quality bed linens and the heated bathroom floor was fantastic on cold mornings and late night trips to the loo. Street noise was noticeable from our room, but the views of the canal boats offset any objections. A very high quality hotel.

Room Tip: Although there may be some street noise, selecting a canal view room is the best choice.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Darlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2015

10 canal houses each with their own outdoor entrance make up this beautiful hotel! All are connected by the floor level where there are check-in, four different seating area/reading nooks, library and bar. Breakfast is served up the stairs near check-in- it was great! The staff was super friendly and accommodating- even ironing my shirt for me because there are no irons in the rooms and shipping a box for us as well. The room was beautiful offering a very comfortable bed, roomy closet, seating area, desk nook, mini fridge and large bathroom with heated floors. Luxurious with super service provided! Not to mention, fantastic location. We walked absolutely everywhere. Cannot wait to stay here again!

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs be sure to mention it. There was an elevator near check in, but I didn't see one in our building.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eva Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2015 via mobile

Just returned from 3 days at the Ambassade. We were in the house next door and went out for breakfast every morning so apart from check-in, checkout and a couple of drinks one evening, we didn't actually go into the hotel's main building. For that reason it almost felt more like a luxury serviced apartment albeit without the kitchen. The views over the canal from our room were lovely, the bathroom was very spacious with both a shower and a bath and we had a nice lounge area in addition to the bedroom. All our encounters with the staff were very positive. They were extremely helpful and charming. The only negative of our stay - and we fully appreciate there is nothing the hotel can do here - is street noise during the night. Amsterdam is clearly a vibrant city but from the location you would not expect the degree of noise we experienced during the night. The second night was the worst. I was woken 3-4 times during the night by shouting, loud music from stationary cars etc. Plus this was midweek, not even the weekend! Big tip - if you are overlooking the canal and close to street level, take earplugs. I slept perfectly during night 3 with my earplugs firmly wedged in. As I said, it's not the hotel's fault and apparently there was a dance festival on in Amsterdam so more partying people in town but it did unfortunately put a bit of a damper on what was otherwise a lovely stay.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank CarrotCakeMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2015

Hotel ambassade, is a beautiful, quirky hotel in a great location. Although not really geared towards children, I stayed with my 11yr old son and the staff were always very pleasant to him and offered chocolate pancake at breakfast!! I felt the breakfast was a little pricey but to be fair we probably didn't make the most of the buffet style continental breakfast available. The breakfast spread was varied and fresh, the smoked fish was delicious. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. Didn't get a chance to use the. Bar but it looked lovely...like a modern library with some beautiful art work.

Room Tip: Request a room with a canal view. This canal is very quiet so I can't imagine it will be very noisy.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2015

Staff at Ambassade were fantastic...luggage missed our connecting flight out of Munich..we were very concerned since we were embarking on a cruise in two days...staff reassured us and took over for us....calling the baggage handler and making sure we were taken care of...next day after museum a wonderful surprise..bags in our room.Rooms are very nice and well appointed...would stay again anytime!

Room Tip: chose room with canal view...great way to start day watching streets and canal come alive
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank joekat3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews