We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
29 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$153
View deal
Free cancellation until 24/09/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$154
View deal
Free cancellation until 23/09/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$134
View deal
Free cancellation until 23/09/21
Hotels.comUS$153
PricelineUS$151
Trip.comUS$202
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,317)
Filter reviews
2,318 results
Traveller rating
2,038
241
29
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,038
241
29
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews library bar herengracht canal brasserie restaurant perfect location quiet canal wonderful hotel canal view room beautiful room nine streets within walking distance anne frank house major attractions walked everywhere perfect stay dam square visiting amsterdam cobra
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 2,318 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2021

A dream! Pure luxury and indulgence right in the center of Amsterdam. Along the famous Herengracht. Amazing room with canal views, delicious food and the most relaxed Koan Float treatment.

When can we go again?

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelashie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eelco Douma, Other at Ambassade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2021

Ashley, wow: what lovely words, thank you very much.
And indeed, to answer your last line: we too would love to see you again and the sooner the better.... !!!

Best wishes from amsterdam on behalf of all of the staff,
Eelco,
Ambassade Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2021

We stayed at this hotel last summer and had planned to visit again in August, however our flights were rearranged then cancelled due to travel restrictions. Very disappointed as the hotel is outstanding. We had a canal view room and ate in the restaurant for dinner and breakfast. Food was excellent.

Hopefully 2022 will see us able to return.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank GirlsAboutTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eelco Douma, Other at Ambassade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2021

Thank you so much for these nice words, Girls, even more since much to our regret you could not stay this year.
So therefore we even more look forward to the honour of seeing you next year!

Best regards to Edinburgh from Amsterdam,
Eelco,
Ambassade Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2021

I stayed at this beautiful hotel for three days. I took the deluxe canal view room. The decoration of the room is superb. The bathroom, with marble details and Bulgari products, is nice. However, a small sink repair would be required. The cleaning of the room is perfect.
The common spaces of the hotel are beautiful, full of works of art, most of the Cobra artistic movement, and books, signed by authors. The hotel feels like a historic place and an art gallery. In fact, it is possible to have a guided introductory tour of the hotel and the central part of Amsterdam.
The restaurant Brasserie is situated in a very elegant and refined space. The breakfast is particularly good and abundant. The menu for lunch and dinner is not large, but the dishes, mostly of French culinary tradition, are impeccable and delicious.
The hotel staff are friendly, always helpful, and knowledgeable.
This is a beautiful and exceptionally good hotel, with reasonable prices, in one of the nicest areas of Amsterdam. I recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to have an experience of place. Not by chance, many great artists and famous writers have stayed here.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hrvek112
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eelco Douma, Other at Ambassade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2021

Dear Mr Hrvoje,
Your great review made us very happy, we are thankful to notice you had a good stay at the Ambassade Hotel and enjoyed your room, the atmosphere, the books, the art-collection and the restaurant.
Thank you too for mentioning the little issue with the sink in the bathroom of room 74, we shall immediately check and repair!
It was a pleasure having you as our guests and we do hope to see you again next time you travel to Amsterdam, Sir.

with best regards from Amsterdam,
Eelco Douma,
Ambassade Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2021

Breakfast in the art gallery and evening drinks in the library with thousands of books - this is the Ambassade in Amsterdam.
Add faultless service in the heart of the city, walking distance to all points of interest and you will have a perfect time in Amsterdam.
Highly recommended.
xxx

Room tip: View of the canal.
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maciej J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eelco Douma, Other at Ambassade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2021

Thank you so much, Maciej, we feel very flattered by your kind words about the hotel, the art-collection and our collection of books, all signed by the authors during their past visits to the Ambassade Hotel.
We were very happy yopu chose our hotel for your visit to Amsterdam and hope to see you on many more occasions.

with kindest regards from Amsterdam,
eelco,
Ambassade Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2021 via mobile

This is an Excellent hotel in the Center of Amsterdam on the Beautiful canals of The City. De staff is very Friendly and the hotel is very authentiek. The Food is very good dinner and breakfast. And The rooms are very Clean and have All Kinds Of Different interior Which Looks very authentiek but it's very nieuw. You'd like all the technologies in the bathroom.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eelco Douma, Other at Ambassade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2021

Dear Paul,
We are so happy with your wonderful review, thank you very much! it is so good noticing you liked the authenticity of the Ambassade Hotel and also the service of the team. Just great and it would be even more wodnerfull to seeing you back some time!

Best wishes on behalf of everyone at the Ambassade Hotel,
Eelco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews