We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Avenue Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Dam Hotel(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Jimmy(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,650)
Filter reviews
1,650 results
Traveller rating
307
720
376
155
92
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
307
720
376
155
92
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdam squarecentral stationgreat locationsingle roomwet roomquad roomthree starbreakfast was includedred light districtluggage roomfive minute walkshort staytram stopclean hotelstayed here for nightsmain attractionssmall room
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 1,650 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2018 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We usually stay at Westcord City Central but they were fully booked for this trip. We stayed two nights at the Avenue Hotel and would recommend to anyone looking for central based accommodation,clean rooms, staff who practice excellent customer service, close to Central station, red light district, coffee shops, Dam square etc all within walking distance.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank shesh2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvenueHotelAMS, Guest Relations Manager at Avenue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Shesh2018,

Thank you for kind words!
It is very nice to read that you had a fantastic stay with us.

We will be more than happy to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Team Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

We were in room 507 very limited space and dated. I didn't feel it was very clean either. We didn't spend much time in the room thankfully but would put me off returning to this hotel which is a shame as it's in a great location

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank kdoc2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvenueHotelAMS, Guest Relations Manager at Avenue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Kdoc2017,

Thank you for sharing your experience.

It saddens us to hear that we could not make your stay better.
We are in the middle of renovating all the rooms. A part of the rooms is already finished.
When you decide to visit Amsterdam again we will be more than happy to allocate you in one of our renovated rooms.

Kind regards,
Team Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

The location of this hotel is perfect , near to the train station which is only 20 minutes train ride away from airport, its very close to dam square and red light district.

The room was average had everything you needed, towels, kettle, TV, free Wi-Fi, breakfast was good. Our room had problems with the electrics and the lights kept flicking on and off but we didn't spend much time in the hotel was too busy exploring, the air condition was broken and water kept dripping out from it.
The bed was very big and comfortable with memory foam topper on.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 257zoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvenueHotelAMS, Guest Relations Manager at Avenue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 257zoe,

Thank you for writing this review.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the central location of the hotel.
The points you mentioned of the room will be taken very seriously to improve our rooms and service.
We will make sure that the electricity and airconditioners will be checked out.

Kind regards,
Lisanne
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Spend 3 days here at Avenue Hotel. Great location and near all attractions. Room small, but clean and staff are wonderful. Could use some improvements for the price you pay for examples the beds and bathrooms. Breakfast is included and it was pretty good, a great way to start your day. Loved Amsterdam, and we found that 3 days was a good amount of time to see everything.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvenueHotelAMS, Guest Relations Manager at Avenue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Tony M,

Thank you for sharing your experience.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in the Avenue hotel.
We will take your feedback very seriously and will use your points to improve our service.

I will also tell my colleagues about your kind words!

Kind regards,
Team Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Recently stayed here good points good position from central station.Walking distance from attractions breakfast good.Bad points double room very small view from room looked over a flat roof.Cleanliness of room and cleaning of room below standard.Was our first time in amsterdam so was unsure of what hotel to book but will not be staying here again we paid a lot of money for a pokey room which was dated and not clean.Also as some others have mentioned some of the cliental leave a lot to be desired so do not recommend you stay here.
We enjoyed our trip anyway keukenhof gardens amazing as is amsterdam we will return when weather is warmer but not to avenue hotel which needs improvments all round.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvenueHotelAMS, Guest Relations Manager at Avenue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Peter T,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Unfortunately we could not make your stay even more enjoyable. We are renovating the hotel so we hope that if you visit Amsterdam again you will give us a second change in one of our renovated rooms.

Kind regards,
Team Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews