We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it doesn't get better than this!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
Ranked #19 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2015

5-star down to every last detail. our suite was stunning, huge, the bed was devine, the pillows equally devine, the Nespresso machine, Bose system, and heated floors were lovely. no need to enter passwords to connect wi fi. wonderful, efficient customer service. in our room we could not hear one peep from anyone/anything. i hated to have to leave.

Room Tip: we stayed in the new wing (formerly a bank), but it had old-world art deco beauty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dc_bruice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeLeurope, Guest Relations Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2015

Dear guest,
Thank you for your very kind words about your stay at De L' Europe. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your room with al its facilities and amenities very much.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the future,
Kind regards,

Jacqueline Grätz
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

506 - 510 of 1,605 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2015

I stayed at Hotel De L"Europe last April and it was amazing. The Concierge was very helpfull and organized various restaurants, museums and tours. The room was really spacious and clean, with an excellent bathroom. One of the best features for me was the location, I felt it was really central, so I could walk around the whole town easily. One only thing that I believe needed to be improved was the restaurant service, specially for breakfast, which was a bit confusing.
Definetly I would go back to the Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Thais15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeLeurope, Guest Relations Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2015

Dear guest,
It is a pleasure to read that you liked the hotel and the rooms, the service of our concierges and our location. So sorry if the breakfast service came across as confusing and less satisfactory. Your remark has been shared with our Restaurant Manager, thank you for your feedback.

We are happy to know that you would like to return and look forward to serving you again,

Kind regards,
Jacqueline Grätz
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2015

All round amazing hotel, staff and location.
We had a room with a balcony on the canal, which added to the experience.
Highly recommend this property. Use the hotel bikes for touring around the city and surrounding areas.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeLeurope, Guest Relations Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2015

Dear guest,
Thank you for your nice review on Tripadvisor. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the hotel, staff and location and that you would recommend our hotel to others.

Hopefully till next time,
Kind regards,

Jacqueline Grätz
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2015

We were given an upgrade to a fabulous suite on the top floor as we had to move here from another hotel. The suite was incredible and had the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in! It had an amazing view of the canals and the biggest bathroom I have ever seen - the walk in rain shower and massive jacouisie bath make a visit to the spa a waste of time unless you want a specific treatment! The decor in the suite is dramatic with virbrant colours but it is really fun, very comfortable and very well appointed. My kids also had a top floor suite which had no view but they didn't care and it had a tv which emerged from the end of the bed so they were very happy! Fab wifi connection and iPad in the suite with really good fruit and minibar. Only criticism of hotel was dinner. We opted for the brasserie as we had the kids with us. The food was ok but pricey - starters were good but mains were unimpressive and unimaginative. Breakfast I the brasserie was excellent so maybe eating out in the evening is the best bet. As the hotel is so brilliantly located in the canal district and has its own boat, there are loads of options. Overall, an excellent experience

Room Tip: We had excellent suites on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lorna72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeLeurope, Guest Relations Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2015

Dear Lorna,
It was a pleasure to read your review following your stay at De L' Europe. Your comments about the rooms with their facilities and amenities are greatly appreciated. Your remark about the Brasserie dinner has been shared with our F&B Director and Chef; thank you for your feedback.

We are happy to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay and we hope we can welcome you back in the future,
Kind regards,

Jacqueline Grätz
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2015

I just spent two amazing nights at this beautiful hotel and I feel compelled to write this review as I am truly grateful for the experience they provide. First, the service was impeccable. This is the kind of place where service is taken very seriously and is not simply lip service. This is a fine hotel that pursues excellence and gets there. From the waitstaff at the terrific in house restaurants, bars and spa to the first rate concierge staff, I was treated like royalty and simply was wowed by the level of service. Second, the location is absolutely ideal. Dead in the center of old Amsterdam on or near the Amstel River, it is central to every part of the city.
Third, the hotel has first rate amenities. Freddy's Bar is fantastic. Beautiful wood paneling looking out on the river and busy street you can listen to the piano player knock out Gershwin tunes or retire into the cigar bar for a Bolivar. The restaurants are amazing. The Brasserie--which is the second best restaurant on property--is so great I never even got to the 2 star Michelin one. Eating outside on the canal or having a drink is a truly great way to spend a few hours. Fourth, it is a beautiful hotel. Great mix of old and new with beautifully appointed rooms. Thank you to the staff and both amazing concierges. Great stay.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeLeurope, Guest Relations Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2015

Dear Daniel,
We would like to thank you for your very kind review on Tripadvisor. Your comments about our service, the hotel and outlets, location and staff, in particular the concierges, are greatly appreciated and will be shared with everyone.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the future,
Kind regards,

Jacqueline Grätz
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,443 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 376 in Amsterdam
2,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#11 of 376 in Amsterdam
921 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: RM 1,446 - RM 2,931 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Amsterdam, in walking distance of the plush 19th century Museum Quarter, the pinnacle of sophistication and cultural bohemia with the Rijksmuseum, the Stedelijk Museum and Van Gogh Museum and with its prime location on the banks of the Amstel river, De L’Europe is synonymous with Dutch rich history. Since the first official opening in 1896, De L’Europe has been favored by Amsterdam’s elite and the hotel continues to attract the world’s most celebrated names. Experience and explore a unique entrée into the Amsterdam of yesterday and today by arriving at De L’Europe. Admire true replicas from the Dutch Masters like Frans Hals and Rembrandt van Rijn in the Promenade whereas replicas of Dutch Masters like Jan Steen, Johannes Vermeer and Floris van Dijck decorate the walls of the rooms and suites in the historical Rondeel building. Adjacent to the hotel, the suites at the contemporary Dutch Masters Wing offer a selection of modern colors that form the basis for replicas of Dutch Masters like Pieter Codde and Pieter Saenredam. Guests may enjoy culinary highlights at the two Michelin-star rated Bord’Eau Restaurant Gastronomique, the casual chic Hoofdstad Brasserie with an international twist and Hèt Terras, the city’s most popular Summer hotspot overlooking the buzzling city center of Amsterdam, complemented by exclusive wines from the private wine cellar ‘Les Caves De L’Europe’. Kick back and relax at the Amsterdam’s inspired gentlemen’s pub Freddy’s Bar to sample a traditional Heineken beer or sip on one of the signature cocktails. To complete your Amsterdam experience, indulge yourself with one of the bespoke beauty treatments at the Spa & Wellness ‘Skins Institute – De L’Europe’. Feel at home in an iconic 19th century treasure and be surrounded by cultural heritages while exploring a modern vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing