We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,127)
Filter reviews
1,127 results
Traveller rating
162
433
326
121
85
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
162
433
326
121
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free coffee and tea leidseplein square rooms are small excellent location van gogh museum top floor minute walk bus stop vending machine cold meats luggage room would stay again hotel is situated pleasant stay boiled eggs yogurt canal
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 1,127 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

My 16 year old daughter and I stayed here for 2 nights. Although the room was compact, it was clean.
The hotel is in a great location, we walked all around Amsterdam from here.
The staff were really friendly and answered all my questions.
I would recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank jackie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

For a 5 day break in the city, it does the job. Near local shops, transport and nice bars and restaurants. Near vondelpark and hotel does offer bike hire which is very convenient and cheap. Only let down rooms were a bit small and elevator was small too. S

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank gylesg2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLeidelmeijer, Supervisor Front Office at Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Dear Gyles,

Thank you for your visit and review posting.
Great to hear we had everything your city break required.
Our rooms are indeed not very big, we like to think of our elevator as cosy!

Kind regards,
Jennifer Leidelmeijer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

The staff were always willing to help whatever your problem. Lucky for us Eduard was on duty when we checked out, he organised a taxi when he found out (by ringing the transfer company) our booked transfer was not coming.
The hotel is conveniently located, has nutritious breakfast each morning and an a day free coffee and tea station.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank johnmarisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLeidelmeijer, Supervisor Front Office at Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Dear John and Marisa,

Thank you for your visit and a great review posting.
I very much appreciatie you mentioning the great effort Edward puts in every day to help our guests.

Kind regards,
Jennifer Leidelmeijer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Location perfect! No need for trams or such, almost all the sights are near. And as we noticed, the best way to get to know the city is to walk around. The hotel was small and quiet and customer service was excellent.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLeidelmeijer, Supervisor Front Office at Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Dear Anna,

Thank you for your visit and review posting.
The hotel is indeed not very large, we try to make up for this with a big smile and great service. Thank you for noticing.

Kind regards,
Jennifer Leidelmeijer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights in the middle of summer.

First the good news:

Location is good - just over the bridge from the Leidersplein and close to the Rijksmuseum, the van Gogh Museum and trams. The pancake place up by the bridge was excellent.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

Now the not so good news:

The room was tiny: 2 people with two cases each meant no free space. It was summer - no a/c and you couldn't leave a window open because you're on a busy street. A small portable fan didn't do it.

And why someone would steal two t-shirts bought from C&A from our room is beyond me.

Bottom line:ok if you're travelling light, only in your room to sleep, and there outside summer heat.

And check out the tiny lift...

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Gregg_B5514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLeidelmeijer, Supervisor Front Office at Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Dear Gregg,

Thank you for your visit and review posting.
Great to hear the staff were friendly and helpful. You are correct, we do not have air-conditioning and in the 2, maybe 3 weeks of summer we haver per year it can get hot.
My apologies about your shirts, we looked into the matter during your stay, but unfortunately were not able to find anything.

Kind regards,
Jennifer Leidelmeijer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews