We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam
Ranked #188 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Disappointed for the money spent, should have been better. The first small room, well they moved us to a bigger room, food was only ok, no tea or coffee
I wouldn't suggest anyone stay here! Needs major improvement to be competitive with what is currently available

Room Tip: Choose a different accomodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leslee s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,047)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 1,047 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

My 16 year old daughter and I stayed here for 2 nights. Although the room was compact, it was clean.
The hotel is in a great location, we walked all around Amsterdam from here.
The staff were really friendly and answered all my questions.
I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank jackie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

For a 5 day break in the city, it does the job. Near local shops, transport and nice bars and restaurants. Near vondelpark and hotel does offer bike hire which is very convenient and cheap. Only let down rooms were a bit small and elevator was small too. S

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Gyles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLeidelmeijer, Supervisor Front Office at Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Dear Gyles,

Thank you for your visit and review posting.
Great to hear we had everything your city break required.
Our rooms are indeed not very big, we like to think of our elevator as cosy!

Kind regards,
Jennifer Leidelmeijer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

The staff were always willing to help whatever your problem. Lucky for us Eduard was on duty when we checked out, he organised a taxi when he found out (by ringing the transfer company) our booked transfer was not coming.
The hotel is conveniently located, has nutritious breakfast each morning and an a day free coffee and tea station.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank johnmarisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLeidelmeijer, Supervisor Front Office at Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Dear John and Marisa,

Thank you for your visit and a great review posting.
I very much appreciatie you mentioning the great effort Edward puts in every day to help our guests.

Kind regards,
Jennifer Leidelmeijer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Location perfect! No need for trams or such, almost all the sights are near. And as we noticed, the best way to get to know the city is to walk around. The hotel was small and quiet and customer service was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLeidelmeijer, Supervisor Front Office at Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Dear Anna,

Thank you for your visit and review posting.
The hotel is indeed not very large, we try to make up for this with a big smile and great service. Thank you for noticing.

Kind regards,
Jennifer Leidelmeijer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#79 of 373 in Amsterdam
915 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#284 of 373 in Amsterdam
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#259 of 373 in Amsterdam
213 reviews
Vondelpark
Jupiter Hotel
Jupiter Hotel
#210 of 373 in Amsterdam
416 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#139 of 373 in Amsterdam
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Address: Nassaukade 387 /390, 1054 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: RM269 - RM972 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam is the ideal place for culture vultures. The hotel is located right in the centre, just behind Leidseplein and close to the city's large theatres: DeLaMar Theater and Stadsschouwburg. Famous music venues Paradiso and Melkweg are also around the corner. Various internationally-renowned museums are just a few minutes walk away, such as Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and Stedelijk Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing