We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Service Eventually”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam
Ranked #189 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 22 September 2017

My wife and 2 friends were booked into this Hotel for 2 x double rooms for 4 nights in September 2017. When we went to our allocated rooms they were nothing short of disgustingly small and inadequate. My wife had to climb over me to get out of bed and the bathroom was very tiny. We all complained to management as we had paid $306 AUD per night for each of these rooms. Although Management were sympathetic they told us that the hotel was fully booked as it is every September and they would look at changing us to other rooms the next day. We reluctantly stayed that night hoping for something better the next day.
Well on day 2 all changed for the better as Vera (staff) moved us to Superior Double Rooms at no extra cost. These rooms were what we had expected from the get go and were very nice rooms. Vera also offered us a free drink at the bar for each of us and was very helpful. Over the next 3 days we were very happy with the service given to us with Vera, in particular, accommodating our every need. Our advice to travelers looking at this hotel is to; look at booking a superior room only, be wary of the "dog box" that we encountered, staff are very approachable, continental breakfast is reasonable, location is also very good.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLeidelmeijer, Supervisor Front Office at Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Dear Mr. Lysle,

Thank you for your visit and review posting.
Our standard rooms can be on the small side for some travelers.
I am very happy to hear Vera was able to turn your stay around in a positive way.
Much appreciation for your advice in booking a superior room for future guests.

Kind regards,
Jennifer Leidelmeijer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,047)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 1,047 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2017

We recently spent three nights here and a great experience! Eduard was the front desk attendant and was excellent in all aspects. He took exceptional care of us and to the requests we threw his way. He always greeted us with a big smile when we would return for the evening.
The room was very clean and while it was compact, we had ample space for everything. We had requested a quiet room at the back and were pleased to be away from the noise of the city.
We had a queen bed (not walk around) and it was comfortable.
There is a 24/7 hot beverage machine available and we took advantage of this service.
Breakfast selection of hot and cold food was adequate.
We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaysT1305OC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

I booked this hotel because it had a good deal on for the weekend I went away with my best friend. When we turned up, the check-in process went smooth which is always a good start. I didn't realise that I needed to pay tax while I was there? This was a shock to me, As there was no indication beforehand that it was required. When we got to the room, I didn't expect it to be so small. I laughed so hard as soon as I took a step in. It was clean and nice enough. But when you are sharing a double bed with a best mate of the opposite gender it was a little awkward. Didn't book breakfast as there were other places I wanted to visit for food. Maybe, it was our fault for looking at the cheapest prices. But I wouldn't book here again in a hurry. The location was spot on and the staff were great.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank redmel2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLeidelmeijer, Supervisor Front Office at Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit a and review posting.
All of our guests are required to pay the city tax upon arrival. It will always say in your confirmation that VAT is included, but city tax is to be paid in the hotel.
Our standard rooms are unfortunately not very big, for more comfort we recommend a superior room.
Great to hear the staff were accommodating.

Kind regards,
Jennifer Leidelmeijer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in July 2017. With hotel being on a main road the room was noisy all night even with being on the top floor. The hotel is nicely situated in Amsterdam with trams running to all areas a short walk away. Breakfast was good but if you wanted tea or coffee in your room you had to go down to the restaurant to make it and then struggle back up to your room.

Room Tip: Take good ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank wrightl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLeidelmeijer, Supervisor Front Office at Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and review posting.
We are indeed on a busy road that will even go on in the night. This is the side with a view I'm afraid. We do also have quiet rooms in the back, this will not have a view.
We have coffee/tea machine in the lobby that makes a variety of lovely hot drinks. We provide lids for you cup and if needed you can always ask for a tray in order not to struggle.

Kind regards,
Jennifer Leidelmeijer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Disappointed for the money spent, should have been better. The first small room, well they moved us to a bigger room, food was only ok, no tea or coffee
I wouldn't suggest anyone stay here! Needs major improvement to be competitive with what is currently available

Room Tip: Choose a different accomodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leslee s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#77 of 373 in Amsterdam
914 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#283 of 373 in Amsterdam
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#259 of 373 in Amsterdam
213 reviews
Vondelpark
Jupiter Hotel
Jupiter Hotel
#210 of 373 in Amsterdam
415 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#137 of 373 in Amsterdam
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Address: Nassaukade 387 /390, 1054 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: RM288 - RM976 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam is the ideal place for culture vultures. The hotel is located right in the centre, just behind Leidseplein and close to the city's large theatres: DeLaMar Theater and Stadsschouwburg. Famous music venues Paradiso and Melkweg are also around the corner. Various internationally-renowned museums are just a few minutes walk away, such as Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and Stedelijk Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing