We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"In the middle"”
Review of Hotel Imperial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Imperial
Ranked #46 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 April 2017

The hotel has a great position, next to the Flower' Market and 10mns on foot to Dam Square.
The location is clean, confortable, spacious enough. Nice to give the "breakfast bonus" of €5 pp.
The owner and the manager really care about costumers and they help them to enjoy your trip.
A little bit expensive for "italian rate", but not expensive, if you compare with other prices in the same / similar place.

Room Tip: Double room with private bathroom
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MinotsBlogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterMImperial, Manager at Hotel Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Thank you...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2017

We enjoyed our stay here. Our room was very good with a decent shower room, comfortable bed, adequate storage, all in Amsterdam style. We were very pleased that we'd asked for a quiet room as the street outdide was hooching well into the small hours. The only noise was from other residents talking loudly as they came in. Lots of great restaurants around, particularly a little Italian just over the canal and an indonesian in rembrantsplein. We opted to have breakfast locally and the hotel pays 5 euros pppd if you provide receipts. Our favourite was a vietnamese coffee shop called La Purete. Great coffee and friendly service. The stairs up into the rooms in the hotel were pretty steep but usual for Amsterdam. The travel instructions provided by the hotel were spot on making our journey from the airport straightforward by train and tram. We walked everywhere as the hotel is reasonably central. Loved our canal boat ride and the visit to The Van Gogh museum. Didn't manage tickets for Anne Frank as these were sold out online weeks before. Good trip.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Edinburghgrecofile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017

There was a really annoying thicking noise in the room which made sleeping impossible for me and my girlfriend. The morning after I asked the director to give me explanations and he promptly said to me that the noise was coming from the heating system. So, HE KNEW THERE WAS THE PROBLEM BUT HE RENT THE ROOM ALL THE SAME, showing a completely luck of care for customers. Besides, I asked him a reimbursement for the bad service and his answer was: "the service is good because you are getting heated" :O !!! ...I could leave the hotel but there was no more rooms at a reasonable price, so we were forced to stay there and buy hear plugs to sleep.
The target of this hotel is RENT THE ROOM, NO MATTER CUSTOMER SATISFACTION. Unfortunately they are helped in this by the really central position.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Daniele0282Le
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

Very friendly & helpful staff. Fabulous location. Basic hotel (no added luxuries) but very clean. 3 flights of stairs so not suitable for people with mobility issues or elderly as steep. Very busy area but didn't hear any noise. Cheap & great base. Would definitely go back. Thanks for a great trip

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hursty2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterMImperial, Owner at Hotel Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

Absolutely lovely hotel, staff are lovely and friendly! Perfect location, rooms are very comfortable, clean and roomy. Absolutely would recommend to everyone, great that you could have breakfast at any place u like and they reimburse you at the end of your stay

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Bogtrotter12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 338 in Amsterdam
927 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Sharm Hotel
Sharm Hotel
#209 of 338 in Amsterdam
124 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Iron Horse
Hotel Iron Horse
#27 of 338 in Amsterdam
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Bird
Hotel The Bird
#72 of 338 in Amsterdam
178 reviews
Hotel Not Hotel
#31 of 338 in Amsterdam
342 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Allure
Hotel Allure
#73 of 338 in Amsterdam
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imperial

Address: Thorbeckeplein 9, 1017 CS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: RM603 - RM692 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Imperial 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, intimate hotel, located in the centre of Amsterdam on a picturesque traffic-free square, surrounded by restaurants and cafes and a short walk to museums and shopping. The hotel is cosy, comfortable and clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing